Kenya will start teaching Chinese to elementary school students from 2020

Kenya will teach Mandarin in classrooms in a bid to improve job competitiveness and facilitate better trade and connection with China.

The country’s curriculum development institute (KICD) has said the design and scope of the mandarin syllabus have been completed and will be rolled in out in 2020. Primary school pupils from grade four (aged 10) and onwards will be able to take the course, the head of the agency Julius Jwan told Xinhua news agency. Jwan said the language is being introduced given Mandarin’s growing global rise, and the deepening political and economic connections between Kenya and China.

“The place of China in the world economy has also grown to be so strong that Kenya stands to benefit if its citizens can understand Mandarin,” Jwan noted. Kenya follows in the footsteps of South Africa which began teaching the language in schools in 2014 and Uganda which is planning mandatory Mandarin lessons for high school students.

Kenya is currently in the midst of rolling out a new educational curriculum to improve educational quality and focus on skills that would make graduates more employable in the labor market. Just last year, education officials rolled out the roadmap for the first pilot of the new curricula for students in pre-school and standards one and two.

Then education secretary Fred Matiang’i said the syllabus would be tested in order to see what to improve before they are fully implemented across all primary and secondary classes. Mandarin is set to be taught alongside local languages besides other foreign ones including French and Arabic.

As officials in Nairobi deliberated introducing the language in schools, they received support from Beijing over the past few years. A delegation of Chinese scholars helped with developing the courses, while scholarships were doled out to Kenyan graduate students to study in Chinese universities.

The beneficence is strategic for China, which has lent billions of dollars to Kenya, built a railway between its two major cities, held major cultural festivals in the east African state, and whose companies are involved in constructing everything from highways to apartments. Long before their prevalence across Africa, China set up Africa’s first Confucius Institute at the University of Nairobi.

Elementary ni kitu gani?

Shida iko wapi,si ata English hufunzwa

做那样的事可真是蠢。

Sasa hii ndio ukoloni mamboleo. Mark my words, by 2030 we shall have dog eating, bhudhist lee kimani or Chan wafula just like John odhiambo and Mohammed mwangis

The first rule of colonisation. Teach them our language and culture and degrade theirs.

shida iko wapi, we have @wong here

dear murathe, hatukuskia vile ulisema, kuja huku eldoret utuambie vizuri! plali fuckin…

this was bound to happen.
chinkus are everywhere

Hakuna shida thika road tayari ni half chinese thuraku

They are preparing way for more Chinese nationals to come Kenya to take your business while you guys are sleeping on your lazy asses.

Kama kuongea kizungu ni shida hata huku ktalk, unafikiria Chinese itakuwaje?

Ruto Will Never Be President of Kenya

Nefa efa!

People should read up on the shrewd things the chinkus are doing in S. Korea. Those guys are coming to impoverish the struggling locals and take all the money back to China while investing nothing here.

baby crass

Yah. This is what I’m saying:D

ni nini peter kenneth anasema sai kwa citizen tv?ebu tutaftie iyo mshene

how many schools do we have in Kenya, lets say 50000, multiply that by 2 as every school shall get two chinku teachers.
so i can bet that 100k chinkus are headed this way.

Msedes haina teefee, leta samary

村长是非常愚蠢的