KENYAN-BORN AUSTRALIAN SENATOR ACCUSED OF CORRUPTION

https://nairobinews.nation.co.ke/news/kenyan-born-australian-senator-accused-corruption/
Kenyan-born Australian Senator Lucy Gichuhi, who was sworn in Australian parliament last year to become the first black African member of the federal parliament, has been accused of treating tax payer’s money as her ATM.

According to an article published by the Herald Sun on Saturday, the Liberal senator will pay back thousands of Australian dollars after she billed taxpayers to fly two family members to Adelaide for her 50th birthday party.

The senator now will face parliament to explain why she thought the public should pay for her to fly her relatives in for a party.

In her maiden speech in parliament last year, Mrs Gichuhi spoke of how she was scared after finding welfare money in her account just after moving to Australia from Kenya.

“I remember the first time we found welfare money in our bank account shortly after our arrival in Australia. We were terrified because we were not used to receiving money for nothing from strangers. All I knew was that the only time you get money is when you work for it. I said to my husband, ‘We will have to return it.”

She continued to say that she had learnt that spending money you have not worked for fundamentally changes who you are and inhibits your capacity and ability to become all you could be.

After she was elected in parliament Ms Gichuhi had to fight for her seat after a push by lawyers for Labor’s Anne McEwen, who wanted to challenge her eligibility based on whether she still retained her Kenyan citizenship.

The High Court rejected Labor’s push to challenge the eligibility based on concerns about her citizenship.

The Kenyan-born lawyer migrated to Australia in 1999 and said she became an Australian citizen in 2001 and never held dual citizenship.

It is unclear if Ms Gichuhi had to provide formal proof of having renounced her Kenyan citizenship before running for parliament.

She maintained there was no issue with her eligibility.

“I am an Australian citizen and am eligible to serve — I will continue to take advice on all of these matters as we move forward,” Ms Gichuhi said in a statement.

Corruption is in our blood. It’s like Kenyans are born with it.

[SIZE=1]shinyEYE[/SIZE]

Reputation… kwenda huko

Didnt take long did it? 1 year max. [ATTACH=full]176946[/ATTACH]

Yaani anachoma picha juu ya ksh 116,000. Bure kabisa

Why does a 50 year old have a birthday party. Flying people is just a show of pride

Let’s not judge her. She will explain to the parliamentary committee and if she is found culpable definitely she will face the consequences including immediate resignation.
If it were in Kenya, this would have elevated her political career as the word resignation does not exist in our lexicon. Angekua gavana twenditwendi tu.

ahh kenyans cant disappoint.
let’s legalize corruption that what we do best.

Here bro am not with you.
I have it. The only person that can say NO to this vice is you and me

OUR COUNTRY IS BEING TARGETED!!! TUKATAE HIII PRIISS

m_i k_y_ ataiba tu…country doesn’t marra

Kenyans including your mother and fadah are corrupt!! tsk…speak for your own selves

you must be real proud of yourself

Well, this doesn’t come as a surprise.
If you’re Kenyan, you’re predisposed to be corrupt. It’s in the genetic makeup.

[SIZE=1]*on a veeeery light note wasomi wazalendo[/SIZE]

I say again… FUCK KENYA… can’t wait to be emancipated

You can start by emancipating yourself from ktalk. Sande sana.

Hol up how’s this corruption? When other Australians officials do it? She’ll pay back the money

The garbage article doesn’t even give us the cost of an average flight within Australia? How would that amount to thousands of dollars?

It’s clear this is meant to discredit her cause she has a kyuk name.

really son?

every cent of the taxpayer money needs to accounted for,sio ya mama ya mutu kucelebrate birthday nayo.fare is around 100 aussie dollars economy,i guess she opted for first class. Huko apana vumbistan where the government builds a 40 million US dollar VP home and everyone is cool with it,you fcuk up,you leave and pay it all back.What am i saying…tuibe pesa ama namna gani?