Kenyan Media Obsession with All Things USA

Recently, I have been monitoring trends in the media industry in Kenya. Journalists in Kenya have made it their daily staple to paint Kenyans in the USA negatively. While I do agree that there are some Kenyans who are homeless, hooked to drugs or are suffering in US, most of the vumbistans are doing well. The continual growth in diaspora remittances is enough proof (North America accounts for 52% of all monies sent back home as remittances). It doesn’t make sense to attack US-based Kenyans while we have other diaspora in the Middle East, Europe, Australia and Asia. Life is how you make it, regardless of where you live. Today’s stories on USA, some unrelated to this topic, are as follows.

[SIZE=4]1. Why Kenyans get stuck in US even when it harms their well-being ( https://www.nation.co.ke/news/How-things-fall-apart-for-Kenyans-in-US/1056-4969344-148l0xn/index.html )
Unrelated to the story at hand
2. US sanctions on Iran ( https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/markets/marketnews/US-sanctions-on-Iran-hit-Kenyan-tea-cash/3815534-4970020-4m703d/index.html )
3. New US Envoy Should Make a Difference ( https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/analysis/editorials/-New-US-envoy-should-make-a-difference/4259378-4969864-vyg8p5z/index.html ).
4. Kenya Airways Direct Flights ( https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/shipping/Regional-airlines-take-fight-to-KQ-s-door-on-US-flights/4003122-4968318-gcjqhdz/index.html )
5.Diversion of Cruise Ship ( https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Concern-as-2-000-tourists-diverted-over-US-security-alert/539546-4970208-nku2cq/index.html )[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]If you really want an objective view of the situation, Kenyans are furiously “scrubbing bottoms” (no pun intended) :D:D:D:D:D:D to send that cash back home as investments and then hio pesa watu wa mjengo wanapelekea malaya as @Meria Mata 's post has aptly illustrated. That is how economy is being propped up despite “Gatheca’s mismanagement”. Recent statistics indicate Kenyans are the 3rd most productive immigrants in the States.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4] https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/Kenyans-third-most-productive-immigrants/3946234-4723066-j2tlbj/index.html [/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]Now you know![/SIZE]

Majority of Kenyans will get a boner, seeing their fellow countrymen at their lowest point.
God forbids, you get deported, and people will have a wankfest.

I saw on the news how media guys put camera on the face of deported Kenyans kwa jkia airport. One guy had patipati and pyjamas on him. The media guy would zoom in to show the patipati. Why this hatred!!!

There are people who feel better of when others are suffering. Some sick minded beings

Just the truth …no hate

Time people got responsible for their actions

Majority?

They treat those they leave behind in a manner to suggest that they are inferior.They also portray that life out there is fiiine making the locals envy them.That is why a relatives of a person living abroad will squander money sent home to accomplish a project without batting an eyelid.
I have seen 2 guys get weak knees and start sobbing on realizing the plots and the shamba they were told has been bought are nowhere to be shown.
Shiny eye mwache hii tabia bwana

Thanks to Equity and KCB, you can open bank account while in the States, and not deal with relatives

Nakumbukanga there was a guy alirudishwa home but when alikuwa majuu alinunua vitu mingi sana but in silence eg shares ya one of major bank before it got listed. Watu walimcheka Sana jinsi alikuwa ameparara. Years later he employed the ones who were laughing at him. I don’t see excitements Kenyans have when one gets deported . Honestly I don’t .
I once saw guys being deported from mexico, yaani their govt has resettlement office that helps guys resettle. Kenyans on the other hand wanawachekelea with media guys on your face . Shenzi sana

Does this reciprocate with revenge ?

I don’ know why they result to that @Bottoms .Who is that on your avatar…must be an African icon???

She is an old lady that I really had empathy for after I saw someone posting her pic her. She looks someone who has seen it all in life but she still puts a broad smile . She reminds me my grandma who worked kwa quarry to educate my orphaned cousins .

Diasporans wa US hao wanakuanga loudmouth maringo na sumbua tupu. Angalia wa Europe, apart from Ngatia na @Nattydread, the rest are OK and go about their business bila pang’ang’a. Akina wajackoya, Miguna jeneraal, Benji Ndolo, Mainawho was Raila’s advisor, Bosco Gichana, Onyonka, Akombe, Maina Kageni etc kelele tupu

Koolibah, I don’t support loud mouths lakini inaitwa exposure to freedom of expression. All along be it at work ,home ,games guys are taught how to say as it is. Si ni wewe you told us a hekaya of when you went to a college restaurant and your instructor was lined up after you, na wewe na ukarimu wako wa kikenya decided to let him go first . You told us how he corrected you that in that country such acts can be seen as asking for favors ? If this wasnt a wake up call then you are dump :smiley:

Wait, he is dump?

Isn’t that a little too harsh?

[SIZE=1]not to @Koolibah the poosie but English really [/SIZE]

Bingwa umeosha a-hole ukaswali? He he

Totally agree isipokua hapo pa dump. The american culture is based on individual rights and entitlement while Europe has a socialist current. The not just Kenyans but third worlders in diaspora get a chip on their shoulders especially when dealing with their brethren back home. Hio pang’ang’a and freedom of expression fades when dealing with Americans.