Kenyans only pretend to care about healthcare during media Exposé and when prominent people die

A good example is during the past 3 deaths, that is when people have been talking about cancer and the state of our health care. But when Doctors raise these issues we term them as greedy and we even support the government in firing them and arresting them. Just the other month in Kirinyaga several Nurses contacted Hepatitis because of the filthy state of the hospitals there. When the doctors there complained, Waiguru fired them and some stupid Kenyans were happy to be paid by her to sanitise her name on social media.

I have been seeing some people on social media talking of how they spent as much as 30k in private hospitals without admission for Malaria treatment. Last time I had malaria was in 2014 when I was in Nyanza for long holidays, a visit to the local public hospital was charged 20 to see a doctor, 60 for lab test and the drugs were free. 2 months ago, My friend was cycling without a Helmet and had an accident where he hit his head on the tarmac and was bleeding from his ears. We rushed him to some private hospital but they did not have a surgeon who could examine him so they suggested a different private hospital. Went there and they asked for 300k to admit him to HDU before their surgeons could look at him. We took him to Kenyatta and a neurosurgeon and ENT surgeon examined him and discharged him in the morning. All we spent was just 3k(this included the drugs he was prescribed). My point is if we listened to our doctors and made public hospitals better then we would not need to visit private hospitals and pay those huge sums.

On Mchanga, only 7% of the posts are about education, 27% are for medical bills. there are claims that over 60 Mps are being treated for cancer, so why are they not serious about making our health care better? Why are we as Kenyans not pushing them enough?

Just to show you how serious our government is, this is from the Hansard.

[ATTACH=full]250981[/ATTACH]

Our leaders only attend such meeting for per diems

We dont need to go to India or pay Large sums at private hospitals. We need to push our leaders to ensure that our public hospitals work effectively, We need to make NHIF works for everyone. We need to listen to doctors and work with them to make our healthcare better instead of calling them greedy and arresting/firing them for raising such issues. We dont need cuban doctors when we can train our own and pay them better. We need to fight corruption even if it means jailing the sister of the president. If these dont happen then we will continue sharing sad stories on social media and how our healthcare need to change

True?

Mod wa mafeelings Leo umetoa point Kali. Kula like.

Ata mi nmembinjisha like kwanza. Acha sasa nisome hio tamthilia yake

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwUeYw-35AM

@Deorro hapa u have nailed it. Mimi nikiwa mgonjwa I would rather go to government hospital. Nipange line Hadi nitibiwe. Private hospital greediness ndio imejaa huko na uongo mingi. Kazi Yao ni kustua wangonjwa hadi hiyo ugonjwa ni crias ndio utoboke maganji.
Kwanza they like prescribing expensive drugs.

legit

Hii omera iko na point.

What is experience drugs?

I guess ni typo ya expensive. Kuandikiwa Paracetamol za 1000 bob, kufanyiwa unnecessary tests just to drive costs up

I once had an injection for 1k. Ile unadungwa na 20 bob in your local public dispensary.

Autocorrect Kaka brasa. I meant expensive.

Government hospital ama mission hospital anytime.

Ukweli mtupu

Sawa bratha

This thread is true

Wewe turdmean, The media sensitizes people. And humans are mostly concerned with the matters at hand.

its not about how often they mention or associate themselves with the sick, or how ignorant kenyans are, or how thinkless sometimes we may be.
The only reason here is that humans are wired to follow the masses fear every now and then… poa turdmean?? gheeesiiir

@Deorro umeandika kitu swafi. Ni kama ulikula kamongo maduong kabla ya kuandika

This is true but then we are a capitalist society so we esteem private over public everything. And private enterprise is about making money. So if you go to the private hospital, school, transport they must maximize profits. After all it is a business FIRST. Kenyans have just too many problems that frankly they don’t know if they are going or coming or gone. The attention span of a troubled mind is like that of a gnat and it’s critical thinking is even lower. Kenyans have no energy left to push for ANYTHING. They’re on sensory overload, so they just go with the flow. It’s not that they don’t care, it’s that they can’t afford to because it would burn them out. Causes need sustained effort, but where is the energy? For us to push for doctors and nurses to get enough gloves? Living in this country is like being in a merry go round. You are too overwhelmed to care. Long enough for your caring to make a difference. We are numb from all the threats to our survival. We just cannot be bothered.