Kenya's Economy

Why is our economy not growing at double digits (8% to 10% yearly despite us having implemented devolution). I was expecting devolution to be the major driver of economic growth in Kenya and lift many out of poverty. Do we have any goverment nominal gdp figures and gdp growth rate for every county so that we can know the counties that are performing better and others that are letting us down.

the only double digit growth following devolution are the governors huge bellies

Though The Star is semi-mharo, this link’s sublinks can give you an idea where the would-be growth disappears to : https://www.the-star.co.ke/sections/latest-news/devolved-corruption_c401482

Ha ha ha! made my day

Thanks for the link. Corruption is a cancer in kenya. It looks like it runs through the veins

We were very close. We did 7% in Kibaki’s last term. After that, it has never been the same.

That was before devolution. Now on devolution era we should be expecting better

Corruption is our biggest undoing

Devolution could be the worst thing that was ever brought. Health and agriculture were the main services that were devolved. So far, total fail esp to health services. I usually pity Kenyans when someone cry everyday that counties should be allocated 40% of the budget yet the much they have been given can not be acccounted for, except payments of salos and allowances to MCAs. Kwanza maMCAs wa kwetu naskianga hupelekwa hadi Israel to learn about farming na ni ujinga tuuu. Nothing on the ground. The faster we do away with this shit the better.

because we’re not focusing on agriculture and light industry. Ile ya 8% ya kibaki was real estate, telecoms.
Hopefully rural electrification and roads will set the ball rolling

Corruption is our greatest undoing

That thread in the star shows clearly we are focused on the wrong issues. Development, Accountability and Devolution. Hii ingine ya elections will not put food on the table. Jubilee and Nasa are both screwing their subjects.

Kisumu,Homa Bay, Kilifi zimetokea pamoja na Embu, Kiambu na Nyeri.

"Sasa munataka nifanye nini? "

U expect growth when the whole of nyanza is ferried to nairobi to attend a rally? Kama wako na ngombe zilikamuliwa kweli? Samaki zilikamuliwa kweli?

the moment we go rwanda style when we see someone in jail then you can post your question

Hatuwezi enda Rwanda style, non central are 70% hungry. Can’t fight for more than two days

Chuki yako na wajaka itakuua

Chuki iko wapi hapo. They were ferried bwna

Devolution is killing businesses. Entrepreneurs and small scale traders are being taxed to oblivion by counties. Governors are spending those taxes to buy their clandes big cars and mansions. Suppliers and contractors doing various contracts for counties are not getting paid. It was recently revealed Counties have a cumulative KES 90b in unpaid monies.

And those figures for county growth rates. I think you can get them at KNBS or CRA.

Usinikumbushe kiambu. Eti 2500/- for fire. You wonder ka kukichomeka ni kulipa wanalipa.
In Nairobi, my nigga used to pay 8k for permit. Immediately after devolution he was made to pay 15k. The town became dirtier, sewer line blocked and hawkers dominated every street. Unashidwa io permit unalipia ya nini. Devolution is pure bullshit!