Kenyatta University Teaching and Referral Hospital in Ruiru Kiambu County

The former KU VC Olive Mugenda must be very proud to see her vision come to life. The parliamentary committee on health on a visit to the hospital.

[ATTACH=full]182554[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182555[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182556[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182557[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182559[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182560[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182561[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182562[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182563[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182564[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]182565[/ATTACH]
The hospital has a modern linear accelerator machine for cancer treatment. This will help in reducing the line at Kenyatta Hospital, going to private hospital treatment or flying to India. All patients will use NHIF cards to get treatment and medicine.
[ATTACH=full]182572[/ATTACH]

Wueh! Hii ilijengwa lini?

Its been ongoing for the last 5 years. Ingia skyscraper city Kenya uone the transformation across the country. The last two years it slowed kabisa as the VC retired and changeover commenced. Then the last year was interior work. Lastly equipping the hospital is a very expensive excise almost as much as building the infrastructure. However national government has helped through the leased medical equipment program to save KU from sourcing it alone.

nice nice nice. this is great.

This VC was visionary. I remember people would look down upon KU graduates because it was mostly known for teaching. Sahii am sure KU is more prestigious than JKUAT and on the slightly. Just slightly below UON

I cry for this university.First of all been public.Strike zianze.Vitu zichomwe huko ndani.You know what happens in public universities.

Olive Mugenda , One in a Million , went to the KU Mortuary it was so clean and well thought out !

Wueeh! Huyu Mama amefanya kazi kweli. Saw it ikianza and thought she was being too ambitious, kumbe she knew what she was doing. KU med school now almost at per with UoN’s

Magoha once said " I hear there is a college along Thika road that wants to train doctors."
Kazi safi hapa, but lecturers hate her, alikanyagia pesa ya parallel students

Magoha pia yuko sawa, only that he has too much pride. Ni dictator kiplani. He once chased us out of the hostel in KNH using a pistol during a strike

If the patients will use Nhif, it’s a welcome. I hope it will be affordable to the mass.

Weuh! Kweni umekua chini ya mwamba mwai kibaki broke the ground to commence construction back in 2011.

Not 5 years.It was launched in 2011 by Kibaki.

A great, truely visionary leader that woman Olive Mugenda was.
During her tenure KU’s infrasture developed at a rate that only herself could imagine.

Mimi nataka kuskia research projects. infrastructure is important lakini.

Why is it empty?

haiya she cleans in a mortury?? i thought she was a vice chancellor?

When i studied there, never saw any destruction of property within the campus. all strike efforts were taken to Thika highway. And that was the cue to leave campus.

Things may have changed over the years, but during our days people would target areas such as comp centre and the harambee halls. Looking back, I think the strike that took place in 2008/09 shaped KU to what it is today.