Kids

Yesterday I asked a friend of mine why he has taken all his three boys aged between 9 and 14 to boarding school. Here was his response. “You see kids do not belong to your house. Actually, they never belong to your home. At birth, they cry all day, make you lose sleep and peace of mind, at toddler’s age, they destroy everything in the house. At pre-teen they take control of what is left in the house. At teen, they think that they should not be in that house owned by stupid people, at post teen, they ran away from the house. In their 20s or 30s Karma catches up with them just like it did with me when I left my parents’ house.
So that house belongs to you and your wife. You started it and you will be left by your kids in it.
So it doesn’t hurt if all of us started practicing early”
Well well well…
This thinking caught me by surprise, but I think my friend has a point. Especially the fact that the kids that we are bringing up are a bunch of spoilt brats, who may never take good care of us in our old age, then it makes sense that they let us enjoy our house and our lives when we still can.

Upuss

Ngui!

Bless your Heart Buddy.

I took my kids to boarding Secondary schools coz I had to, ningeulizwa I would stay with my kids all their lives, I brought them in this world, they are my responsibility. By the way, God gave me wonderful kids.

The karma part is funny and true

I can see your nut was working overtime. Congratulations

Clearly parenting aint for all of us
Reminds me of my aunt sending her two young kids to our place every school holiday without fail, mind you they were boarders since primary. …we basically raised them…

Upuzi good upbringing in Children initial stages of life is very important. Watu ka hao ndio hupelekwa old peoples home wakizeeka waishi kama prisoners because they lack a personal connection with their children.

I somehow disagree and agree with this. From the day they are born to class 8 you should interact with them daily so that you can know them. From highschool you can send them to boarding school

Mimi wacha tu niseme ukweli. 1777 is NOT going to boarding school until form 3. I need to see him daily.

The reason we’re lacking values in today’s kids is because we’ve no value ourselves. We allow kids to operate smart phones and expect good behaviour? No.

We let them watch TV and see the rubbish in music videos and then expect good behaviour? No.

When they leave the house to go out and come back tomorrow afternoon or the day after, and we expect good behaviour? No.

You are your child’s radar. If you don’t show him the proper way, expect what we have right now on a worse scale.

I had a child whom I last saw when he was 7 months. He’s 11 now. I’ll be damned in hell fire and lava before this one is beyond the reach of my five senses.

Ewe Mwenyezi Mungu nisaidie.

Those are not his children, parents must enjoy parenting and see their children grow and be independent in life

OP your friend is escaping responsibility. He can theorise it whichever way he wants but the bottom line is he wants to pay someone to raise his kids. He better hope they do a good job

And then you call yourself a parent if you subscribe to that school of thought?

My sons and daughters (2) are the reason why I have worked in parts of the country, where a night is not complete without panctuation of the sweet songs from AK 47s. If I could I would be happy doing homework with them and playing with them. Someone claiming otherwise would have better been neutered.

But at least you can work towards spending some quality time with them, finding some balance between your demanding job and bringing up your dear kids. imagine the sacrifices you are making only to come back home to find your son has been expelled from school or your daughter is pregnant and they are only in 2nd form.

True, I try and balance. Luckily their mom is a strict disciplinarian.

I remember when I went to high school my dad was like aaaih ama tutafute shule huku Nairobi… But I wanted to go away from home, so I schooled in ktl… After hapo nikaitwa University of Eldoret na Maasai Mara… My dad refused kabisa, he said I shouldn’t be away from him more that 4years again…:D:D . Sasa daddy’s princess just had to stay and school in Nairobi… No hostel manenos… Sasa when I got a job and wanted to move out waaahh drama… Ata skuwa naongeleshwa… :smiley:

What do parents really want?? :confused::slight_smile:

After campus if you have a job and can pay rent hama. Ujifunze how to take care of a house, budget etc ili ukiolewa you know how to run a house msikuwe na mashida. You can visit them during weekends