Kiganjo's suicide tree

[ATTACH=full]120668[/ATTACH]
Yes, this tree in a grove in Kiganjo, Nyeri County, is a favourite for people who want to end their lives. A local places the number of those who have hanged themselves on its branches at 25. And they come from from far and wide to do their last business there; with most of them unknown to the locals…the most recent was yesterday.
There has been a seven-year lull in the hangings after a group of evangelical preachers held prayers there to cleanse the grove of mapepo ya mauti following a spate of suicides in 2010…
Do you think authorities should give in to the locals’ demand that the tree of death be cut down or mti hauna makosa as the authorities argue?

Photo by Joseph Kanyi stolen from Nation…

wakikata hio mti waweke marafuku pia manufacturing of ropes

14 Likes

Did you know that, the small seat in between driver’s seat and the passenger on the far left is known as “The Death Seat” or “Kiti Cha Mauti”?

99.9% of passengers seated on it do not survive. No matter how slightly or fatal the accident is. This is as per research by Red Cross and accident emergency handlers.

This seat is found in public service vans aka Nissan Matatus.

Now you know!!

Ukiona unaondokewa ukae kwa hicho kiti fikiria mara mbili.

26 Likes

Inaitagwa 1x Kwa shuttle.

I don’t see the forestor appending his signature to that request.

Reminds me of a similar forest in Japan popular with suicides

nini hii

Ni Scrotums. Nimezikaanga sasa hivi. Karibia tule.

17 Likes

Same as the Suicide Forest In Japan

ndakwendie wi kana kanini ka ungenge

Usually when those second hand van are imported there is no seat there.

The co driver seat

As in, how old is she bado anasumbuana na kizungu?

It’s not the co driver’s seat. Cause…

Between the driver and the co driver

Anybody trying to commit suicide kwa huo mti should be sentenced to death…It will deter future attempts!

You have just spread the message ‘far and wide’ for those potential suiciders who were looking for an opportune moment and place to execute themselves.

Hehehe

You are right… its the person that wants to die not the tree