Kikuyus solely fought for freedom

Report From Battlefield
Murang’a Front

June 9, 1953: A combined force of KAR and police sent to Location 2 to fight General Kago’s force. Kago knew they were on the way. He moved his force to the Kîanderendû shopping center and waited for them. The enemy, as it was expected, stopped their vehicles at the shopping center to harass the people. Immediately they came out of their vehicles, Kago ordered his men to open fire. The enemy caught by surprise, could only return the fire as they retreated into their vehicles and took off. On KLFA side, there was no casualties. We collected 9 rifles and one machine-gun. I admire General Kago, he is a great General.

June 27, 1953: General Kago launched an attack on the Mûriranja hûmungati camp. He captured the camp and burned it down. Five Tribal policemen and six hûmungati were cut down with bullets. The rest of the enemy dropped their weapons and fled. The captives, in whom women were the majority, were freed. Some of them joined our force, the rest went home. The following day, the British forces attacked the village of Mûriranja, killing defenseless women and children, burned homes and savagely destroyed crops in the field. We shall never, ever, forget these barbaric atrocities committed by a foreign regime in our own country.
The same day, General Kago sent a guerilla unit of 10 men to eliminate Headman Moses of Location 13. He managed to escape with his life. His home was burned down and his cows confiscated in the name of our struggle.

July 20, 1953: The following report was sent by General Kago: Marshal, I want you to know that we ambushed an enemy force while entering the Nyandarwa forest; killing four African soldiers and wounding a white soldier, Stanley Davidson. The rest of the enemy soldiers scattered and fled. We seized two Bren-guns and three automatic rifles. This attack was reported by the East African Standard; it reads: A Special Police Officer, Stanley Davidson, the 41 year old soldier of fortune, who has sworn to get the Mau Mau leader, Dedan Kimathi, was wounded in an encounter with terrorists on the western [Nyandarwa]. The four African soldiers killed were not mentioned in the paper.

August 20, 1953: The Gacarageinî enemy post was overrun by General Kago’s force after a fierce gun fight battle. Unable to defend the post, the enemy took off, leaving the post defenseless. Several firearms were captured and 10 enemy defenders killed. This was the second time General Kago has attacked and destroyed the post.

October 8, 1953: The following message was sent by General Kago: Marshal, we attacked the Mîriaini enemy post for the second time. The enemy defenders put up a fierce fight, but we managed to storm the post and burned it down. We killed several enemies and captured five of them; I ordered them to be executed. We lost four comrades and two were wounded. We are celebrating our victory.

Kîmathi’s comment: We are not a gang of terrorists, we are freedom fighters; we are fighting a foreign enemy who has occupied our country. Live or die we shall never lay down our guns until we liberate our country.

Dedan Kîmathi Speaks
Maina Kînyattî, 1987

STORIES OF GIANTS

:meffi:

All that sacrifice only to be shafted bila lube by mzee

Mentality of a mungiki kwanza wa ocha interior

[MEDIA=facebook]105983259496/posts/10157796163694497[/MEDIA]

This is true. All others collaborated. Muindi Mbingu only mobilised his Kamba people once mzungu confisticated their cows. The Kalenjins tried but were never resilient. They soon become collaborators. Luos, Lunjes, Kisii’s never even lifted a hand.

This real history cannot be taught because it shows we are not ‘equals’. Fact is, without GEMA Kenya would be poorer than Chad.

They were fetching water and cooking in British camps wearing kaptura

Truer words have never been spoken

Luos by virtue of being collaborators had a headstart in education and could move around much more easily. Ndio maana Jaramogi, Mboya would move around quite freely. Jaramogi kupewa kiti akaikataa.

In essense Luos and Luhyas should be the ones calling the shots in politics and the economy today…

Same for Maasai since many were drafted into KAR.

And despite their headstart Okuyu still surpassed the collaborators economy wise and politics wise…

Kweli kabisa

But truth be told even Kikuyus had collaborators. So called paramount chiefs, home guards, chiefs, church elders etcetera.

Very true, people talk of oppression, there was a time it was a crime to be a Kikuyu,Embu or Meru…
during the mau mau rebellion, no other tribe was bothered unless very very few people who were openly mau mau supporters

But for the GEMA, whole commuties were put in concentration camps… the GEMA were some of the few blacks in the world to attempt a rebellion against the British empire after the initial conquest of the scramble for Africa…

And that makes some people in Kenya very un-comfortable…

True.
The others like the Maasai and the Nandi had just resisted or merely interrupted the progression of caravans through their land at the onset, but offered little or no resistance at all against colonisation itself when it finally happened and during the same. But they were not necessarily collaborators. Kikuyu on the other hand resisted at all stages of colonisation. Perhaps it’s because they were the most aggrieved, they were the ones who lost the most.

But the Kikuyu were also the worst of collaborators! They rivaled the Luo in the business of collaboration.

Some were also learning English while others were falling over to join KAR

So much ignorance, the British were not to leave Kenya. The rebellion to the British would have happened at some point because Kenya was a settler economy, like Zimbabwe.

But the early British administrators had predicted early on in the 1920s , that Ruling the kikuyu would not be easy, they will rise up at some point.

You use Chad as a barometer? Success, wealth, prosperity begins with the mindset. Practice it, live it, work towards it, be around it and it becomes “you”. Guka you have a lot to learn. And stop being such a grumpy old man. Bure kabisa! :smiley:

Weka Paybill nikuokoelee na WhiteKap.

Professor Wangari Maathai even wrote about it in her biography, noting that others worked in Kaburu’s kitchen and in the house in the days of colonial rule. Fight for independence of Kenya was mainly done by Kikuyu with some help from Kalenjin and Maasai.

I hereby will present facts and only facts…
My comment was ignorant thereby let me take another stand state contribution from each side.
In 1959, nationalist leader Tom Mboya began a programme, funded by Americans, of sending talented youth to the United States for higher education. There was no university in Kenya at the time, but colonial officials opposed the programme anyway. The next year Senator John F. Kennedy helped fund the programme, which trained some 70% of the top leaders of the new nation, including the first African woman to win the Nobel Peace Prize, environmentalist Wangari Maathai