Kisumu SGR lazima.

Hold on to your nuts you freaking nay sayers. Uhuru wanted half the money to build to be a grant. The Chinese declined. They want the whole amount to be repaid. So, since the rail must be build, we have to pay the whole amount. So don’t get your knickers in a bunch. Deni mtakula.
I don’t know what the aversion to debt is, most of you are opposed just because it’s uhuru doing it. Vision 2030 must be achieved and it will be done on debt.
On the other hand, Thika super highway was build on debt, right now you can’t even try to imagine what it would be like if it was still the two lane Thika road. When they want to close it for rehab for a few months you are already at arms.
Anyway, I guess it’s what happens when everyone thinks that their opinion matters even when it’s a shitty one. We just have to sit back and watch you move your mouth while what has to be done gets done.

Hawajaamka wanakuja

Funny!
The obsession with the Kisumu sgr.
People were all over themselves complaining that uhuru ameenda kutuongezea madeni, sasa that haiji wameenda kununua handkerchiefs! Hypocrisy or what?
We better get to know what we want and what we don’t need! And be consistent with it!

This is not the way. Labda turudi huko nyuma where we took a wrong turn by electing gatheca.

Why not Naivasha-Kisumu-Malaba? Hence why M7 was not happy.

It makes nonsense signing a contract without the final leg of the SGR.

Pale Thika Road Kenya govt. ilitoa $80 million of the $360 million required. Already that tells you that that is a Kenyan project that was planned for and a budget set aside. Africa Development Bank loaned $180 million. Exim China $100 million.

SGR on the other hand, very secretive, one country finances the thing and gets the whole tender to build… what does that tell you? This project was designed in China years ago as part of OBOR.

Uhuru was told to kill the original Lapsset in favour of Northern Corridor SGR. Already several fellows here have shed light concerning the Chinese factory cities to be built along the SGR. It appears China wasn’t interested na huko hinterland, they only need these first km. Just like pale Lamu port China probably won’t build all 32 berths. They only need a few berths to serve their factories. Mkishindwa kulipa they take the port.

And because Thika Super highway was a Kenyan project designed for the Kenyan people the impact economically was IMMEDIATE!!

You felt that $360 million. You’ve just admitted it.

But can you feel the insane $4 billion sunk into the SGR??? Heck no!!

Because it is not a Kenyan project!! Has it changed Emali town for instance or Voi? Are ordinary farmers moving product on the SGR?

True, money has been looted and that must be tackled. But you don’t throw out the baby with the dirty water. We have to future proof our infrastructure and that has to happen. You build stuff coz you will need it. At 50 million people and adding a million every year, you must expand. With rail you are able to tell people that you can invest since we can evacuate your goods faster and safer and more cost effective.
To sustain kisumu and expand its economic viability, rail must be build. For Uganda, it’s not a question of if but who will we use.
So get there faster than the other guy and the business multiplier will be felt.
That said, the corrupt must be dealt with now and in the future.

Skiza hii common sense hapa. Compare Thika Superhighway which was a much needed road whereby MILLIONS of people move daily. Tens of Millions move their fat asses and products daily. 24/7 , 365 days a year.

Hio barabara ilijilipa within months through fuel tax.

And it only cost $360 million. And P.S Kamau still stole from that amount and became a billionaire.

Compare that to SGR which only does two trips a day!! Two!!

And ferries only a thousand people daily who are carrying light goods!! And you can’t ferry a tonne of stones or even sukuma wiki on this white elephant…

And it takes 5 hours per trip!! And it cost $4 billion.

Si afadhali Uhuru angemaliza Thika Rd ama Mombasa road mpya ama super dams kumi na hio pesa. Things which are a real PRIORITY!!

Last time I heard was it was doing 14 trips a day. Was soon going for the max 20

Hizi vitu zote unajuaga aje?.For me i just need to know the project is a moribund one if i read corruption in it.That’s it

Akina Swazuri watakipata

:D:D:D:Dsome people must have something to whine about.

The first priority should be making these people food secure. Here, improve agriculture first then infrastructure will follow.

Calm down people, President Uhuru is just pushing hard on the grant issue and let’s await its outcome by August 1st when Chinese delegation will come here to launch the completion of phase 2A Nairobi-Naivasha-Narok. Its not over by a long short. The negotiations resumes here at Chinese Embassy. What’s on offer is Kshs 380 billion loan that we can sign off now. But we want half as a grant Kshs 190 billion. Then there is further unconfirmed rumours that if the the grant issue isn’t resolved we can then take the 380 billion loan but not up to Kisumu but up to Malaba. Its hard back and forth negotiations. SGR Kenya is a showcase project of Belt and Roads initiative so we are using that to leverage for China to step up further to help us with the debt issue by minimizing it where possible. Either Chinese government steps up or the builder CCCC.

Every comment on this thread makes sense. Whether the sgr should or should not continue. Am confused.

Mind you we’ve ALWAYS had a railway .Always!!

So mwache kuongea ni kama hakukuwa reli. Reli iko hata saa hii with some of the biggest depots on earth. Ni vile Uhunye hataki hii ya zamani. Na si ati ni mbaya. Give it a $1 billion revamp. And it traverses all corners of Kenya. Hata Gakuru alikuwa na vision, akaambiwa unataka kuamsha vitu za zamani za nini funda hii…

Mliona ikitajwa tena?!

I digress. The old railway owns Nairobi. We just built around and along the old railway line.

meaning that inaendea through eldoret not through kisumu

It’s true we have railway, but how reliable is it? How fast is it?
The issue is looking forward and not settling for less. Am all for building new cities rails and airports as well as sea ports.

Funny, RVR was kicked out when SGR was launched. Later, I met Chinese guys surveying the metre gauge at Thika.

The metre gauge rail is an asset of the people. RVR were to invest and make it operational but they didn’t. The next option was to give it to some other entity who can.