KNH "Leads", Others Follow

A female relative once told me that in government hospitals, when women go to deliver, especially teens and young mothers, they’re slapped around and told demeaning things like “PANUA MIGUU VILE ULIPANUA HIYO SIKU” SLAP…“USITUPIGIE NDURU HAPA, UKIPIGA NDURU YA UTAMU HATUKUWA NA WEWE” SLAP, SLAPPP!!.
I just thought this female relative was exaggerating, coz she has a history of embellishing stories, kumbe…

A woman who was physically abused and left to deliver her baby on the floor of a county hospital in Kenya has been awarded $25,000 (£18,000).
In the landmark ruling, a Bungoma high court judge said Josephine Majani’s rights were violated as she gave birth.
Mrs Majani said nurses had slapped and verbally abused her in 2013 and left her to deliver her baby in full view of the public.
Her ordeal was secretly captured on camera by a hospital intern.
High court judge Abida Aroni said the mother’s rights to health and dignity had been infringed at Bungoma county hospital, around 400km (250 miles) north-west of Nairobi.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-43505886

Yeah I heard of this case too. I think she deserves the money, her rights were definitely abused. This opens doors to a whole new plethora of civil lawsuits. It’s time we see instititions like KNH and their employees face the law for abuse and negligence. I’m happy we’re heading there. Next in line should be KPLC and NWSC. What we need in Kenya is a Massive Class Action against these goliath institutions.

Tusemeni ukweli, some of us have a habit of bullying, violence, abuse of power and psychological cruelty, but the bigger problem is that few of us can raise a voice to defend the victim.