Kote Cargo and other stories

[B]Let me start with other stories first

South C, Tel Aviv Sacco etc[/B]
I was recently in South C and that estate seems to be really going South. There’s something about it that is starting to look derelict. And there is this thing painted on quite a number of walls ati “Flossin Mauwano”. What is this crap? Is this some new rich kid gang?

Additionally, there is this new Sacco that has taken over their roads called Tel Aviv and these guys are a bunch of A**holes. Unaambiwa 50 then ukiingia ndani imebadilika imekua 70. If you complain you’re told to read that paper with the prices that they have on the walls. The guys are very arrogant and rumor has it that there is some political clout behind them. If you’re coming to or going those sides avoid these guys.

Forex
I wanted to change some foreign currency to shillings so I went to Hilton Arcade hoping to find better rates than the banks. I asked the security guard if there was a Forex Bureau inside and he was like, “There is this guy I can call muende kwa ofisi yake.” He may have been telling the truth for all I know but I don’t like such deals because you’re never sure what you’ll find.
In the end I found a better alternative at the Forex Bureau opposite Hilton on Kimathi Street. Better rates than the banks.

Kote Cargo
These guys were here a few weeks ago spamming our discussion on Kentex cargo. There have been reports of KenTex Cargo overcharging customers so I decided to test out Kote Cargo. The good news is that they work. I picked up my package recently and everything was as claimed. You’re charged based on the actual weight of the shipped goods and you’ll even know what you’ll pay before you buy the item so there are no rude surprises after your item gets here.

You should however try as much as possible to get them to bring the item to CBD or something. These guys are operating in a more or less residential part of Westlands. Before ufike kwao you’ll have to walk through some really funny roads which I can’t imagine being passable after heavy rains. Personally I didn’t mind walking but those of you who are not in shape will :D.

The item took around 3 weeks to get here which is okay with me and I also feel this may have something to do with the delay before Amazon ships but I can’t honestly comment on how fast it was because I wasn’t in a hurry and I also feel like there were some human factors involved. Otherwise, have a nice day.

18 Likes

Do they repack? I like my shoes in boxes and clothes in original packaging too.

My thing came in the original package

I placed some orders with Kote about a week ago. Expecting shipment to land this week. I hope they deliver well.
Kentex should be avoided. I placed an order for some books on 28-October. Im still waiting on my stuff.:frowning:

Kote also have an Amazon Prime account, so if you are buying stuff from amazon and it qualifies, it gets shipped to their premises faster and sometimes with no shipping fee. Which is fantastic. Try make orders early enough to reach their facility before Tuesdays since that is when they fly stuff out

Tel Aviv sacco matatus are given free reign on the road. they’re taking over the southlands and if all goes well, the east too.
ask kidero why…

Asande sana. Naokota hizi shipping agencies. After kusikia story za kentex na kugundua vitumob are also expensive, nilikutana na Peer Cargo. NIliplace order wacha ningoje ifike.

Excellent. Tell us how it goes

Excellent discussion here. Taking notes

Hata mimi nilikutana na hii Peer cargo na nafikiria kuwajaribu on some few Cordless Hand tools. But keep us posted on the progress…

Ikifika lete review. I’m particularly interested in those shipping from the non-traditional (U.S & U.K) markets.

Ati we avoid kentex who deliver anywhere in EA and take one who we who come from intetior Kenya have to travel to Nairobi and walk to a resodential area to pick our goods?

@nairobilay please explain to this gentleman how kentex operates.

So Nairobilay is the S.I unit?

I have used them and they’re close to perfection.

He can explain better.

Put up a thread with details. Everyones experiences are different.

Actually @old monk , the guy said they deliver within the cbd. I’m the one who decided to go for it coz I didn’t want to wait. But to each his own
I also forgot to add that they purchased the item for me and I paid for it here. Though you still have to pay a certain percentage upfront in case you renege.

He supposedly had bad experiences and that way we have to base everything on his word.

They don’t deliver countrywide?

Then being charged on actual weight only is doubtful

the thing i have noticed about Kentex is that they (sometimes) remove packaging your stuff comes in. They do this to either split the order so you pay for 2 shipments instead on 1…or to change the cost of shipping since the original packaging reduces the amount you pay for your item. They arent good people.

It’s not it’s quite straight forward. You look at the price on amazon and decide whether you buy it or they buy it for you. There is a shipping weight on amazon products and this can be used to calculate the amount you’ll pay. In my case I paid less coz when picking the item they used actual weight, they have scales on sight.