KRA bunch of scammers

[ATTACH=full]175478[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]Another big scam in Kenya is asking the youth to register companies without any training on how to handle taxes.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]Unknowingly the youth go ahead & also register for VAT with new companies making below 5M then unknowingly the youth also fail to file VAT monthly attracting 10k fine per month and interest.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]By the time you realize your mistake, it’s a year down the line and you owe KRA 120,000 plus interest. You are still yet to get that yagpo tender (30% for youth). If you were lucky to get a tender from county & supplied, they haven’t paid, So whatever you borrowed for capital is earning interest, you are now in even more debt.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]Then say you’re lucky and on year 2 you get a contract that requires you to provide tax compliant certificates… You’re not compliant you owe 200k to 300K in debt to KRA to be compliant, your profit from this new contract is going to be about 250K, you also owe the bank capital or need capital to deliver the new contract, basically your business ends up dying.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]I honestly don’t understand why Startups & SME’s that are less than 3 years old, or less than 5 staff members or have revenues less than Ksh “5M” do not have Tax abatement. You struggle to build a product, raise capital, get customers & then before you can breath KRA give’s you a karate chop on the neck.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]We kill companies that could be big tax payers in 10 year before they are 3 years old, very counterproductive, but that seems to be a culture in our country. Time to change, hope someone pays attention to the cries of startups & smes.[/FONT][/SIZE]

[SIZE=3][FONT=verdana]My advice, before you register that company, learn as much as you can about taxes and your tax obligations and ask yourself if you are ready for the challenge ahead.[/FONT][/SIZE]

CITATIONS
1. Copy & Paste, 2018
2. Sam Gichuru

• [MEDIA=facebook]10156381086275135[/MEDIA]

I registered for vat unknowingly some years back.I was called by kra this year and they told me i owe them some vat money .I told them i registered by mistake they delete it.They told me i should go to kra offices with a letter.Ni ka waambia siendi wafanya vile wanataka na nikakata simu.After sometime i tried to login on itax ni kapata siwezi login.Kuulizia nikaambiwa imefungwa.Ikabidi nimekunja mkia nikaenda kwa ofisi zao.Nikapata i owe them over 300k vat penalties. To cut long story short Ikabidi nimeongana huko hio vat ikafungwa na pin yangu ika kua activated.Na nika file nil returns.

Initially only the rich paid taxes to finance wars and save up for famine. The poor started complaining that they didn’t have any say on how taxes were used. They were offered a seat at the table. And that’s a short story of how peasants got fakked and keep getting fakked.

I don’t have a company.I registered vat by mistake when applying for a pin.Kwani wewe ni agent wao?

Ehh consequences za kufungua kampuni blindly bila kuget briefs on tax regimes. Mtu akona pin na hawezi taka kuwa informed on the relevant obligations. Utapambana na hali yako.

But yenyewe, kama unao mtandao, how hard can it be to log in and click on ‘Nil returns’? The simplest of them all. Shida zingine ni za kujitaftia ilhali unajua kaisari atakudai mradi tu unayo namba yake ya saitaaaaaaan!!!

Is a business name supposed to file returns?

A registered company should have a KRA pin. Therefore you must file returns

In the eye of the law, there is no difference between you and your business name. It is just another name that YOU use to trade. But a distinction would exist if you incorporated a limited liability company because in the eye of the law, a company or corporation, by itself, is an independent legal entity.

If you file your returns you must include the income which you have earned in the course of trading under the business name.

Suppose I open a company sole proprietor is it independent from my personal pin and liabilities ?

You should have just gone. I was in the same situation, I went and they waived. No bribe needed.

It used to make sense to pay the penalties zikiwa 1k per year. They didn’t have a waiver option for returns. But sasa walipandisha hadi 20k ata wakiwa Kaisari watajipanga tu. Itabidi they waive especially if many Kenyans are caught in that net. 20k si pocket change.

Na biashara za mashinani, kiosks

People out here are seeking ways to avoid paying taxes. It’s that bad.

I suppose you file as an individual since it’s a sole proprietorship/ parnership.

I think am in the same situation. KRA uliona nani na ili cost how much

Am experiencing the same… niende huko kama nimejipanga aje (am come from the village thats why na ask)

Mtu huenda station yake mahali iko. Kama si Nairobi usiende Times Tower so si lazima ufunge safari ndefu.

First apply for waiver on iTax portal. It will automatically know kama ni VAT na ikujazie amount. Utapata email ya interview date uende station yako with an explanation. Yangu ilikuwa I registered by mistake, I was still a student, bla bla…

Usually huwa wanataka barua pia. I hadn’t carried one so huyo interviewer wangu alinipea paper na pen niandikie hapo tu :D:D

Afterwards unangoja they’ll send an email saying they have waived.

last year they overtaxed me alaf naskia hakunanga refund, nilienda kuzua fujo huko lakini walinitoa mbio

My pin too was diactivated juu ya hiyo upuss ya vat na ilikataa kuigia itax fuack…sasa I was told niende my tax centre na hiyo time ndo nimekosa…inakaa ntapata niwekewa ma 0000s kadhaa…