Land cruiser 120 series Vs Land Rover discovery 3

Which of the two would you go for. All locally used and in good condition price range is 2million or thereabouts . I have a leaning towards the Land Rover Discovery 3.Its a 2.7l diesel engine.Am being told it’s not that bad after all

If 120 is petrol 3.2l or 2.7 , better car. Disco, has gadgets, but will not get you to naks from nbo, without opening the bonnet at kinungi.
Trust me, been there …

2.7… Which disco did you have?

Wacha vitisho buda. Kama unakosa kufanya maintenance ya gari, hata NZE itakutoa jasho. Had the 2.7 disco 2005 model for three years without any problems other than the air struts giving in. Solved by changing to coil springs and playing around with the attendant software.
Siri ni kuendesha hiyo gari pekee yako na regular maintenance. Hiyo si gari ya kulend brother ama jirani. You enjoy the distinct Land rover growl, good fuel economy halafu rarely do people shine their eyes on it unlike Toyotas.

Prado 120 series petrol 2700cc. With sunroof if possible.

how much did it cost you to change from air suspension to coils?

How good is the fuel consumption?

Kuna comparison hapo kweli? You go landcruiser of course! No brainer! Feya na gun, gani kali? Discovery ni maembe.

The disco will fuck you up. Especially when it is third hand. Use your head, not your heart in making some of these decisions.

Why not turbo diesel? Or just plain N/A diesel

About 150k parts and labour. As for fuel consumption, give it 10 km/l. Quite impressive for such a heavy and pretty fast car. I think one can get better economy if you are not heavy footed as I am.

Maintenance issues. Diesel engines are a pain in the ass.

The Prado turbo diesel engine is the same in their double cab pickups. It is a tank of an engine and only requires basic maintenance.

Why does everyone say they do 10km per litre …

I guess coz how powerful the car is, one is transformed into a moron wanting to overtake anything in sight hence affecting economy.

The Prado any day! Any turbodiesel is pretty fast. Would go for that myself.

NEVER!!! i say NEVER!!! try to purchase a landrover discovery heri ununue probox…

Back it up? had one?

Najua hata bike hauna. Your swearing is proof that you and your company like punching above their weight. Land rover are slightly expensive to maintain I agree. However, those sharing your sentiments are wankers who buy discos for flossing and want to scrounge on maintenance halafu wanaanza kulia gari ikiwalemea.

I was told the same thing when getting a turbo forester …blablabla Maintenance,bad fuel economy, sijui expensive parts…went ahead and bought a locally used unit.Its been 4 years.All’s been good yet those who’d bring me down have so far used tonnes of cash to service their “economical” and “easy to run and Maintain” vehicles than I have.Just thinking of some upgrade down the year and thought the LC3 could be the best fit.Nimegundua all these guys who talk about how car x is such a pussy in running and maintaining have no experience with anything motorized.