laptop below 25k

I’m shopping for a budget laptop. Shouldn’t cost more than 25K. For heavy internet browsing and mild video editing and other basic functions. Not interested in video games. Should I go for a new mini laptop with low specs or a refurbished HP with higher specs. Can someone educate me on core i3, i5 and i7… etc
Regards

Don’t buy a mini it’s stupid u can’t even enjoy a movie on a mini laptop. get a refurbished core i5 utapata na hio 25k and please don’t buy Lenovo

I got a refurb HP i5 for about that much a year or so ago. It’s still doing well.

Lenovo iko na shida gani mkubwa?

Naomba kujua pia, almost buying one

Don’t waste your money going for a brand new laptop, an Ex-Uk core I7, or Core I5 will perform the same way as a brand new one. I once bought a brand new Core I5 and another Ex-UK Core I5 for office work and I tell you the performance is the same. The only difference is that the new one’s battery is dead but the EX-UK one is still strong.

And whichever machine you go for, get a 4th gen processor and above…

Okay, a quick one…so you want to tell me an exUK’s machine battery lasts longer than a brand new laptops? I am planning to buy a new laptop soon. @Kinyani

@123tokambio how do I tell that it has a 4th gen processor and above? Any pointers to look out for?

Kujia Taifa laptop

A brand new one will mostly come detailed on the box.
An ex-uk is abit tricky, coz you might find relevant stickers missing. But a good pointer is usually in its model number. You will find that if, say, a HP or a Lenovo, will have amodel number like 4220, or 5130, the 4, or 5, is an indicator that its 4th gen, or 5th gen respectively… and so forth.
Best way, if you have a chance to check it out, just go to settings - system - about and confirm on the model. Using a linux OS usually gives a detailed info, as far as showing the exact gen…

Unaangalia processor name i.e kama imeandikwa i3-4030 the first number after dash ndio generation so itakuwa 4th generation na i5-7200 ni 7th gen…
The higher the better

Mild video editing hata i5 ni tricky. Avoid i3 like a plague. If you can get i7 with a dedicated graphics card it would be better. The thing with video editing is it’s never mild it always gets intense on the machine and it’ll stress you out.

Hata Thinkpad T440s?

Upus advice hapa.
Kama hiyo video editing ni professional nunua kitu ikona dedicated graphics. For 25k maybe zile stolen laptops zinauzangwa tao. If buying new buy from a registered reseller. Most ‘new’ laptops are just refurbs sana sana HP na Dell.
For the processor look at SPEED and nothing else. A 2.4GHz Core 2Duo with hyperthreading is better than a Core i5 with just two cores clocking at less than 2.0ghz. Otherwise wewe ni peasant, ukitaka a good machine anzia na budget ya 70k+

ona saitan inhine, si unaskia amesema "‘mild’’ mbona unataka kumforce afanye proffesional editing unataka atumie 70k for something he will need to replace most probably in 3yrs. 70k unajua hio ni shamba huko erumbagon:D

inferior casing, inachapa very fast,upate zingine with onboard processor something u cant replace just in case ichape.
ive seen ingine unaeka charger inatoa moshi kama kisiagi

That’s your own bias, thinkpads are the best laptops after macs in my opinion

They are crap. I’ve used Dell and Lenovo and I can say without fear of contradiction that Dell is the bomb.

I bought my lenovo T430 in 2012, nikaeka sim card ya Airtel, hadi wa Leo siezi tumia any other brand

ata mzito atheist Stephen Hawking alikua anatumia lenovo kwa wheelchair.