le grand master mzee mzima Franco Luambo Lwanzo Makiadi

Is it me growing old or is that his music trascends generations? I have just listened to my old man’s collections and i must admit that this dude together with tpok jazz band were musical geniuses. My mzee tells me that there was a time he did a kenyan tour and while just testing his guitar the revellers that were outside could not wait longer and they brought down the stadium walls. I have liked this songs

1. makambo ezali
  2. ekabba kaba
  3. ndaya( i think with mpongo love)
  4. mario
    forgive my french

Hii inahitaji mbisha ka hii… Bina na ngai na Respect

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8odLQAYsEqQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8CJRZvREpY

Also google some literature about the song, the track is called “Testament Ya Bowule”

Kuna ile aliimbia mobutu. I love it though it was a propaganda song for Kuku wa Nzambanga.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T33rO0ZgUUo

Love that makambo ezali libala and mobutu trax!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ss14L8vDOdI

12600 Letters

There’s one song done by him. It’s title is called ‘kisangamani(sp)’.

A good one too!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gqvi0zdN-tM

Not a single beat missing!

This dude and madilu were legends

There are at least two popular songs called Ndaya. One was sung by Mpongo Love but was composed by Mayaula Mayoni
The second one was composed by TPOK Jazz bassist Decca Mpudi. The first half of this song is in Lingala. The second half is in Kikongo folklore.

Kimpa Kisangameni also is sung in Kikongo not Lingala. The song literally means “Meeting of witches”
That is Franco chanting sorcery incantations.