Leo Magazetini: Ngugi, Raila in push for vernacular

I think these two old geezers should retire to an old peoples home now. P.S thread will die before long kwa hivyo comments chap chap. #friendsofdevelopment

ama wakufe

imenishangaza, sasa Tana river watatumia ki pokomo au ki somali, nakuru itakuwa kikuyu au kikale, these mofos

at some point Raila went bad…he should just go back home ama atosheke na MP

kweli watu wamekosa kazi ya kufanya… … io si ata issue a mature politician anafaa kuongelelea

Let me leave this here lakini anakaa mwizi wa simu. … [ATTACH=full]13823[/ATTACH]

Some utterances makes people dislike him more, he only does it for cheap media coverqgecoverage . Anataka two hot slaps na sweep. :smiley:

What are you talking about? Pushing for vernacular what, where, when, why, how? Some clarity is needed.

Hizo gazeti @highschooler huweka niza nene?

Za kufunga nyama kwa bushari ya @Wakanyama huko ndonyo.

lakini huwa natumia real newspapers sio virtual ones

Renowned author Ngugi wa Thiong’o and Cord leader Raila Odinga are advocating the use of vernacular as official languages in the counties.

Speaking at Kisii University on Monday where Prof wa Thiong’o gave a public lecture on Language and Devolution, Mr Odinga said there was nothing wrong with using vernacular in local parliaments and gave an example of South Africa, which has adopted this.

Prof wa Thiong’o said middle class Africans were shunning local languages. “They behave as if America or Britain is better.

It is a colonial frame of mind,” said the author of famous books such as The River Between, A Grain of Wheat and Petals of Blood, among others.

“Now we have a breed of highly educated individuals with skills they cannot impart to the rest of the population because they cannot find a mode of communication; there is no connection,” said Prof Wa Thiong’o.

The literary giant told how Kisii freedom fighter Otenyo Nyamaterere was killed by colonial settler North Cott who chopped off his head and shipped it to England but buried the body in Kenya.

“If we are to take devolution seriously, we must connect with the people through language,” he said.

“If you know all languages in the world but you don’t know your mother tongue or the language of your culture, then that’s colonisation, but if you add all the languages of the world to your mother tongue, that’s empowerment,” added Prof wa Thiong’o.

Mr Odinga said use of foreign languages while discriminating against vernacular in official communication was a frame of mind inherited from colonial masters.

“Since independence, there have been forces fighting in two directions — those for the retention of the status quo and the other for development,” he said.

“Those who inherited colonial government structures used them to lord it over our people, dividing them along colonial lines,” he said.

Mr Odinga also joined calls for the return of Nyamaterere’s skull.

He said the freedom fighter played a major role in ensuring that land belonging to the Abagusii people was not grabbed by the colonists.

“He suffered the same fate as Koitalel arap Samoei of the Nandi, who also led resistance against British colonial rule,” said Mr Odinga.sct/dw

did they use luo and kikuyu

Hehe, adĂş a nyĂşba mbona munaingilia Agwabo na Ngugi was also of the same opinion.

hata huyo ngugi hatumutabui

No county belongs to a specific tribe. Even though some counties may have a greater dominance of a certain tribe (eg Murang’a,Nyeri and Kiambu have more Kikuyus, Kisumu, Siaya and Bondo have more Luos, Tana River has more Pokomos…); but it does not mean that there are no other tribes in said counties. Mombasa watafunzwa nini? Kiswahili, one and/or all of the nine Mijikenda sub-tribes ama Kiarabu?!