LET'S DEBATE: J. Cole is BORING A.F. ... + My Top 10 MCs TODAY

I really struggled to get through his new album.

As always, solid, technically acceptable bars BUT…

• “Safe” subject matter. No jarring content.
  • Dull, non-experimental sound. Same stuff as 2009!
  • Bland, sometimes corny lines

It’s time to start questioning the hype. He is not an A-lister any more.

These are my Top 10 emcees TODAY. Not necessarily the GOATs, but the hottest at this moment (in order):

1. Kendrick Lamar
  2. Earl Sweatshirt
  3. Freddie Gibbs
  4. Pusha T
  5. Tyler, the Creator
  6. eLzhi
  7. Mick Jenkins
  8. Big Sean
  9. Saba
  10. Nas

Don’t know some of this guys but the saying Freddie Gibbs or Big Sean are better than j.cole is a joke. Snow on the bluff addresses critics like you.

Fyi…haven’t listened to his new album.

Rap itself is the most basic form of pop music. People just using their normal speaking voices and rhyming every sentence. Bonobos try to complicate this genre to come off as high IQ, but all the alleged top rappers they quote are just hoodlums, spreaders of victim mentality and conspiracy theorists. Haya wacha nijitoe sasa

I endorse No. 06 and 10 only.

@Smith_ which album are you talking about nione kama nina the time and energy to listen to it.

But enyewe…sio uwongo…j.cole is wack as fuck.
I tried the cole world sideline story, forest hill drive and born sinner…and man was i dissointed.
Forest hill drive had some good beats but contents just bland…doesnt arouse imagination…kwanza hile ngoma ya popping his cherry…damn…wack filler track.
Born sinner hata si mix tape quality…and i dont listen to mix tapes.

Halafu hao top 10 emcees wako wote are very over rated kwanza the 1st one…freddie gibbs hata akiwekwa na madlib i just download instrumentals.

Kendrick each and every album sounds like he redoing an old school hiphop great…kina tupac dogg pound era and early wu tang…i saw thru that kung fu kenny nonsense.

Elzhi only ever had one dope verse from him on j dillas welcome to detroit.

Oya @MikeOck kuwa mpole.

I only listen to full albums.
As i was responding my playlist had
Mos Def B.O.B.S & The Ecstatic
Erykah Badu New Amerykah 1 & 2
Michael Jackson Thriller
Gregory Isaacs Night Nurse
Sizzla Royal Son Of Ethiopia
Bob Marley Survival & Exodus
Common Finding Forever
Q Tip Amplified
Phonte Charity Starts At Home

It’s all about packaging and delivery.

Cole might beat them in a battle (though I highly doubt, each of the three can comfortably hold his own) but Gibbs and Sean have more entertaining and memorable content and bars!

Gangsta Gibbs will also step out of his comfort zone and experiment with different sounds. One time, he fux wit Madlib, next it’s Alchemist, alafu he goes to Hit-Boy. He will also stick to one producer for a whole album, which also helps with sonic cohesiveness.

“The Off-season”, out today.

What in the actual fuack? Can’t believe what you’re on about! He’s from Compton. He’s doesn’t have a right to bring that West Coast sound, refreshed for the new millenium and done in his own ORIGINAL and unique way?

You ought to get more familiar with his discography. I suggest in this order:
2020: Seven Times Down Eight Times Up
2008: The Preface
2011: Elmatic (mixtape)
2016: Lead Poison

A few months ago, Timbaland tweeted this gem of a beat and tagged Cole.

Yesterday, Cole released the tracklist and producer list and sure enough, Timbo was right there.

[MEDIA=twitter]1392942926779531266[/MEDIA]

I was so hyped and eager to peep the final product. Instead, I heard nothing close that particular beat today. The great Timbo was tucked in as a co-producer in that WHACK second track “amari.”

I don’t even know why I had such great expectations from Cole!

I rarely listen to Albums but i like
G-Easy This Things Happen Album and When it’s dark out

Sijui why but i dont find kendrick refreshing…i actually struggled sitting through his albums…kwanza DAMN was a flop mbaiya…T.P.A.B was his magnum opus…hatawahi toa ingine kama hio…i still rock it occasionaly. But akitoa ingine tutaskiza tu.
Kina snoop dre dogg pound nate walifika heights hakuna mtu mwingine atawahi fika…hata The Game ni hype tu.

Unakumbuka premo aki drop one of the best yet vile ali hype j.cole on the diamond track!!!..sasa mi ndio nilikuwa dissapointed halafu hata q.tip kwa hio album was not worth a mention.
But back to your original post…as much as all rappers go into the craft to make money…you gotta eat man…problem nowadays is studios ziko kila mahali na putting out content is so much easier that anyone can put out content…and rappers wa sahi hawakuzaliwa ile era wetu wali come up during the cocaine pandemic na outbreak ya a certain virus…which was referenced in very many albums.
Tafuta story ya loud records during the early days vile kina dead prez wu mobb deep kina defjam came up…its too long to put here.
But hao rappers whatever they put on wax they didnt watch on tv…naah…they aint no wannabes…you cant compare them with kina j.cole.
Hio amari track yawa…il check it out wacha nimalize hio play list yangu.
Nime google if kendric is overated…sio mimi pekee who thinks so…tuko wengi.
Wouldnt even compare him to drake…drake ako way ahead and his music has massive replay value as far as im concerned.
By the way nina catalogue ya drake na kendrick…i listen to drake more…sana sana scorpion.

One stops having these debates once they emerge out of puberty. A grown man debating about rappers!? Yall morons. As Jay Z says, use those analytical skills on things that’ll put pennies in your pockets.

Come on its the other way around. Kendrick sings about stuff that matters and he’s pretty creative with how he uses words. Drake ndio yuko overrated and I think his only edge is that he can also sing, listen to swimming pool talking about alcoholism, be humble talking about black women’s fashion choices, bitch don’t kill my vibe telling off the fakeness of the hip-hop industry, poetic justice also has similar themes. I’d say he’s very creative I’d even compare him to Kanye, drake’s music is catchy but very shallow when it comes to message interpretation and delivery

Sausage festival

Oya @Smith_ si tunaropokwa hapa na hio the off season ya cole has allegedly crashed spotify…but on further inspection inasemekana ni panganga no crash but demand iko juu.
@Dyson appreciated but kendricks not deep in my opinion…then drake amepick his lane na ame excell at it…kendrick haja rule his kraal. Kendrick aint no lyricist or poet as they call him.

When drake is not rapping about getting it with a woman, he’s singing about his hood, very shallow content that’s easy to dominate if you stand out like a Jewish Canadian rapper who can sing. Kendrick’s delivery is superior, alafu he doesn’t need to rule anything, that’s actually what he raps against, the fakeness of current Hip Hop and all the dick measuring contests that characterizes it

he has a pullitzer for hell’s sake, prize reserved for writers

N

Naona we ni msee new skool for me old skool all the way likes of Krs one, immortal technique, last emperor, Biggie, rakim, Big L and all the underground shit

He still has a huuuge following, the one that keeps hyping him up as an A-lister.

Cole is also signed to Roc Nation, so he has top dollar marketing and promotion.