Let's put this myth to rest

The US is a consumer economy. Economists here know what I mean. That means they are vulnerable in a war of economic production. There is no way they are smarter than anybody else on earth! ‘Necessity in the mother of invention’ as is often said. Think of absolving a Kenya from Mombasa to Liberia and all the countries inbetween. You have to be inventive to solve the differences and to feed all those people in the deserts (NEP, Chad, S. Sudan, etc.)

These are figures and if they bore you then you need to think twice before arguing. Trump has accumulated more debt than any other President in history. Why? Fund the rich and fool the fools. And start unnecessary wars.

*The highlighted years are Presidential terms.

[ATTACH=full]244876[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]244877[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]244878[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]244879[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]244880[/ATTACH]

Says the man using the internet which is a product of the US :smiley:

As a matter of fact they are… have you ever asked yourself why when Kenya, Uganda, and Tanzania engage in trade wanatumia USD which is owned by the FRB?

You probably blocked me after I called you out on your narrow-minded arguments last time… but someone else will see the wisdom in my replies and they may be kind enough to educate you

The Web is a creation of the British wacha ujinga

My eyes have seen the blinding wisdom of your ‘replies’. I am going to educate Kassin for you.

you’re right,but not quite technically though,Initial concepts of wide area networking originated in several computer science laboratories in the United States back in the 50’s for the development of the[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)] ARPANET project directed by robert taylor and managed by Lawrence robert with the first message sent in 1969 from computer science Professor Leonard Kleinrock’s laboratory at UCLA to the second network node at Stanford U.K which later Tim Berners-Lee twicked it from the TCP/IP in the 70’s through hypertexts document linking in the 80’s ,WWW was born

Woouu…

The thesis was that despite Trump’s arguements about the economy doing so well, it’s actually in the crapper.

The fluff is what y’all are concentrating on. Look at the numbers.

Yeah, right. What time are the classes?

Look at the numbers between 2010 and 2018. They hold steady until 2017 (lag effect) when Trump took over. If you have been following the news, Trump is bragging about the “best economy in US history.” That’s a lie.

Remember these are trillions of $

I’m not going to put a graphic here. Use your quartet, as we used to say.

The internet was a US military project and was created as such. The web is an application by a briton, Tim Berners Lee that runs on the internet.

I am not @Amused by this thread

First and foremost, Trump was not President in 2016, Obama was.
Obama inherited an economy with a debt of $10.6 trillion, he nearly doubled it to $ 19.573 trillion. Yet Trump is somehow a villain here???

Hold steady???
Obama started his term in 2009 .at $11 trillion. I can see there is one year he actually took on nearly $2 trillion in debt between 2011 and 2012!!

You must have missed this topic:

https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/strong-us-economy-obama-vs-trumponomics.111363/#post-2230087

President Trump claims he’s responsible for the “best economy in our country’s history.”

https://kenyatalk.s3.amazonaws.com/2019/05/303192_fb7972c848c72db5015f3eb0754c4c1a.png

Democratic presidential front-runner Joe Biden argues Trump lucked out by inheriting a strong economy from the “Obama-Biden administration.”

Who’s right? Did President Obama set the stage for the strong Trump economy? Or has Trump juiced the economy in ways Obama never did?

Context matters. A deep recession began 13 months before Obama took office in January 2009. It officially ended in May 2009, but the unemployment rate didn’t peak until five months later. Obama started in a hole, and weak jobs, earnings, and GDP data for his first term clearly reflect that.

Obama’s second term was notably better, as the economic recovery picked up steam. It strengthened further as Trump took office in 2017.

https://kenyatalk.s3.amazonaws.com/2019/05/303189_63377ff37684e5a1e14080ef03480c2a.png

Trump has done two new things that impact the economy: sign a large tax cut into law and cut regulations. That boosted growth in 2018, the first year the tax cuts were in effect, but the long-term impact is unclear.

[I]To be fair to Trump, the Obama economy was touch-and-go at the same point in his first term, with hiring slow to rebound and growth tepid. By the end of 2012, however, voters were comfortable enough with the Obama recovery to reelect him by a wide margin. Voters will render the same verdict on the Trump economy in 18 months.

One thing is easier to clarify: the Trump economy is not the best in history, or even in modern history, as Trump claims. The Yahoo Finance Trumponomics Report Card, which measures the Trump economy against seven prior presidents, gives Trump a B. According to our methodology, based on data from Moody’s Analytics, Trump ranks first of the seven presidents on earnings growth, second on GDP growth, third on employment and fourth on stock-market gains.[/I]

Here are the numbers showing how Obama and Trump compare:

https://kenyatalk.s3.amazonaws.com/2019/05/303188_a3ba1f3e891df97ba39ffc1a26b7e8c7.png

Graphic by David Foster for Yahoo Finance
Anybody looking for a clear winner won’t find one. Monthly job growth during Obama’s second term was higher than it has been under Trump, and the stock market performed better in both of Obama’s terms. But earnings, GDP growth and manufacturing employment have been better under Trump.

Is it a draw? Maybe.

But what the data really show is the economy recovering from a sharp downturn regardless of presidential policies. Job growth went from negative to slightly positive during Obama’s first term, as widespread layoffs abated and companies started hiring again. Since 2011, the pace of job growth has been consistently upward, with little change in the transition from Obama to Trump.
Earnings and GDP growth improved along the way, and Americans, naturally, began to feel better off as job security improved and the unemployed went back to work. Stocks performed well under Obama in large part because a 57% crash in stock values ended two months after he took office. The ensuing bull market, now in its 11th year, transcends both presidencies.

Fiscal and monetary policy under both presidents has mattered. But the spending stimulus and aggressive monetary policy of Obama’s first term probably would have happened under any president faced with the same circumstances. Trump has complained that Obama benefited from Federal Reserve rate-cutting, while he’s had to contend with rate hiking. But that’s because the Fed was trying to repair a wrecked housing market, a massive loss of financial wealth and the worst unemployment since the 1930s. By the time Trump took office, those problems were essentially fixed, clearing the way for a normal path of modest rate hikes.

The problems of each presidency

The right way to compare the Obama and Trump economies is to evaluate each president’s solutions to the unique problems of their presidency. Obama had to prevent depression and get a recovery on track. It took longer than anybody wanted, but he succeeded in that, which the numbers from his second term clearly show.

Trump’s challenge is different. He must safeguard a generally healthy economy while addressing intractable problems such as worsening wealth and income inequality, along with stagnant living standards for much of the middle and working class. His protectionist trade policies are supposed to do that, by moving more manufacturing work back to the United States. But that’s not happening yet, and may never happen. His tax cuts are supposed to trigger more investing and hiring, but so far the main beneficiaries are businesses and the wealthy.

@Amused talk to @Nattydread to signup for the classes

Naona umejibiwa na ukapewa elimu si haba ndio ujinga ipungue… so wacha mimi nicheke hii comment yako :D:D

@Amused can argue all he wants but an average American is satisfied with msito Trump. Towns that had died are springing back to life after his MAGA intervention. We can believe democrats and CNN all we want but the truth on the ground says it all.

I’m not trying to argue. I presented facts. Whether you agree with them or not is your issue.
Mzee/kijana, I’m not saying I’m right. My opinion is that Trump is a dumbass.

If I go into the technicalities, nobody here will understand the underlying factors. Explaining such stuff simply doesn’t work on social media.

He inherited Bush’s war with Iraq. Remember *30% of the world’s oil comes from Texas. They (US) wants to drain the rest of the world (ROW) before they drain their resources. I can’t explain why this is so difficult to understand.

[ATTACH=full]244901[/ATTACH]