lets test our age sets

lets test our age sets but don’t tell us your year of birth. how much was 2kg ugali flour costing when you first got sent to the shops? it costed Ksh. 1.60 in my time, i was in class one. The rule is not to mention year anywhere in this thread, just events

Fossil

A loaf of bread being some sort of a treat then used to cost 5 bob

Your handle should read Krugger1915o_O. .

When i was in Pre-school ,Raila Odinga tried to pull a stunt of overthrowing Moi and i remember my dad bringing home at least 50 packets of the yellow ugali flour to stock up juu everybody expected war. Now you know how young i am.

For those of us in the rural areas, we always milled our own flour at the local diesel-powered posho mill.

first time kutumwa unga it was measured in pounds (ratili), ilifungwa kwa cone ya gazeti written in a language from Den Hag…don’t remember the price but i guess @FieldMarshal CouchP might remember this

we also did, because it was relatively expensive to buy packet ones, but we still knew the price of packed one, ama?

The yellow kathirikali (as we called it then) made an appearance in my village via the local chief during the ‘great’ famine.

I remember the (ratili) thing and i would see my mom akizushia shopkeeper ati “ratiri haija aguka.ogeza!” Hehehehehhhh

I was in exile in my bro’s place after breaking the leg of a neibour’s goat during the april hols while in fourth form…

i know the great famine, Ngaragu ya gathika. but as i said up there, i wont mention year.

Yaani @gashwin ulikuwa umejifanya “thenge”?
On a serious note,you can`t be that old! siriasry? si basi wewe unapokea malipo ya uzeeni at this time?

Hahaah nakumbuka nikitumwa kusiaga I used to go like saa saba na nitatoka 6 juu line ilikuanga mrefu na kama ni unga ya uji that was even worse coz u had to be the last one coz haikua inachanganywa na maize flour

Exactly!

Wewe unajua vile ilikuwa ngumu kufunguliwa ile kakamba ka suruali… retired? No, not yet…they still smile at me although makobosto siku hizi yananifanya half hearted, if you know whar a mean;)

kubuka hii ni general listing, wacha maneno ya makobosto.

You are mid fifties?

Its still common. bado kenya tunaangusha ratili. Sijui huko murang’a mnafanya aje.