LG opens first East Africa laundry shop in Nairobi-Buruburu

[SIZE=5]LG opens first East Africa laundry shop in Nairobi[/SIZE]

Thursday, September 10, 2020 1:32 https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/5621636/medRes/2653361/-/maxw/960/-/sjykesz/-/lg.jpg
Pristine Linen & Laundry Ltd CEO Brian Gacheru (left), Hotpoint Appliances Ltd MD Shailesh Kanani (centre) and LG Electronics MD for East Africa, Sa Nyoung Kim during the launch of a laundry shop in Buruburu, Nairobi. PHOTO | SALATON NJAU | NMG

Global electric giant LG Electronics has opened its first East Africa’s laundry shop in the country as it eyes the growing demand for washing services among low income and middle income earners.

The new facility, which is in partnership with LG’s products sole-distributor Hotpoint Appliance Limited, will be located at the Point Mall in Buruburu, Nairobi.
It will charge Sh600 for a seven-kilo clothes, including washing and drying, and targets item like sheets and duvets.

In an interview with Business Daily, LG Home Appliances (HA) marketing manager Eden Seo said the project took shape one year ago after a series of feasibility studies.
“We investigated customers’ demands then we realised that many people would like to buy washing machines but it is not easy,” Mr Seo said.

He noted that washing shops will be managed by franchisees with the company providing them with complete LG washer and dryer equipment installations and end-to-end business supports.

Whereas LG will provide the product, technology and functionality of the products, he said Hotpoint Appliance Limited will handle installations and franchise businesses.

“Some of the services that will be offered include washing, ironing and drying,” said Mr Seo.
He added that they (shops) will also offer pick-up and delivery services for customers unwilling to visit stores amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/companies/LG-opens-first-East-Africa-laundry-shop/4003102-5621630-l766be/index.html

some entertainment for the Laundromat

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8VEXJxcZ55Y

You can slash the “importance” of your wife by 50% if you buy a washing machine and dryer. That is if you think wife is for doing laundry and such.

Cheaper to buy a washing machine. There are some really cheap ones out there

what about the electricity cost?
ama there are those which don’t consume much?

yeah.
now, what will people be bringing to the table?

sijui sasa. they have to work hard.

Yes there are machines that consume very little elec. and use about a third of the water you would normally use

this is not for peasants …alafu , mama wa kuosha will never go out of business…

true.
the market is very large they can all share.

but ikiweza fanya other services, mama fua ata kosa job

“Midro crass” ya Buru wamepata a new hang out spot. As we speak i’m sure kuna mtu anachora kufungua jabba base hapo kando.

form ita kuwa unaenda?
I am going to the LM (laundromat)

A dryer consumes ten times more electricty (watts per hour ) than a washing machine.
Those cheap top loaders are also not very water and electricity efficient plus they are not very effective on hard to remove stains . Costs of acquisition and installation of a frontloader washer-dryer ya adabu can easily teach the 150k plus mark…
For watu especially rentals it’s cheaper to use a laundromat than acquire a washer-dryer.

but the washer only can work/is affordable to buy, install, and run?

if the washer alone is still expensive, then the laundromat will be cheaper.

It can if you are not careful. Avoid programs that heat water and using drier, just wash and centrifuge. You can then dry your clothes in a line outside for an hour or two coz they are almost dry. That way I do not think you can use even one unit of electricity washing a whole day. But when it comes to water it is not that efficient since it rinses twice using around 10ltrs of water every cycle for about 4-6kg of clothes. That amount to about 30ltrs for one wash. But i think it differs with every model

That it cheaper

Keeps your clothes stain free and in original condition. Doesnt consume much electricity.

Umetafuta moja lately? Hawalipishi chini ya mia tano,mia tatu labda sides za Pissantville. 600 for 7kg ya nguo is a steal considering ni machine wash. But then again its cheaper to buy that contraption

Kshs 600 is expensive. Some years back I used to utilize the apartment complex laundromart where I was staying. One load of approx. 7kg cost $1.50 to wash and $1.75 for drying. I doubt the prices have increased by much. I can’t imagine paying $6 for one wash!! What a ripoff.

Its not expensive considering mama nguos charge btn 500-1000 na that does not uncle duvets. Duvets lazima ziende laundry and Una chargiwa from 500 to thousands. So am seeing it being a good venture for investors all over Kenya

maybe with time prices will go down.
but as Uwes is saying, mama fua charge almost the same cost so that might be the price for the near future.