Linux Zero Day Exploit

If you run a mainstream distribution of Linux on a desktop computer, there’s a good chance security researcher Chris Evans can hijack it when you do nothing more than open or even browse a specially crafted music file. And in the event you’re running Chrome on the just-released Fedora 25, his code-execution attack works as a classic drive-by.

The zero-day exploits, which Evans published on Tuesday, are the latest to challenge the popular conceit that Linux, at least in its desktop form, is more immune to the types of attacks that have felled Windows computers for more than a decade and have increasingly snared Macs in recent years…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKwRijjqdzY

http://arstechnica.com/security/2016/11/elegant-0day-unicorn-underscores-serious-concerns-about-linux-security/
http://arstechnica.com/security/2016/12/fedora-and-ubuntu-0days-show-that-hacking-desktop-linux-is-now-a-thing/

Linux Desktop, meet world.

The only linux kernel related OS I use is my Android phone. The kernel I run on if is updated twice a month with patches and updates from the main Linux kernel so ain’t worried mimi

Isn’t Android the OS that had an SMS exploit? An attacker takes complete control of phone by sending text message…?

That was iPhone

Android had the Stage fright vulnerability which could be executed by sending an MMS

Oh…ok. Only a matter of time before you hear of another exploit or in-the-wild attacks. People getting smart as hell out there.

The beauty of linux and most GNU apps is the fact that this will be quickly patched unlike the proprietary Softwares where it will take ages to admit the exploit exist and another age to release the fix which on top of it will come with an associated cost.

Unless you compile the software yourself it is not as easy or as quick as you put it. MS has been releasing patches quick fast lately.

True, you have to test it severally before releasing to users

TeamLinux tuko imara,hii patch itarushwa kwa next update

Main kernel maybe ishakuwa updated, distros ndio inadepend na schedules zao

Hii ata si kernel bug,ni app specific(gstreamer + Gnome) lakini itapatchiwa tu

linux mambo yote … timely patches will be available, thank to the community.

this guy publish this exploit on the onset. He should have cashed in on it.