Loose Battery Terminal

…please make sure your car battery terminals are tight before starting a trip…today a loose terminal caused engine to shut as the car was in motion kwa highway plus hard steering and hard brakes…a very nasty experience. A small component but it can cause a lot. Be safe village

cc @Kate Kalee

I thought a car with a nice alternator should be able to run without a battery.

The battery may not be the only thing wrong. Check if your alternator if fine. Are you driving a car with CVT transmission?

…i dont think so…its a petrol engine…it needs battery power to run

…it was a bad experience i wouldnt wish on anyone…all the dashboard lights also came on…i was at around 100kmh na pia karibu na kona

…No cvt…nze gear

Is it a Toyota ractis?

No…NZE…but am sure its because of a loose battery terminal…at first i thought computer imekufa at once because of the dashlights…jerking…but luckily the power resumed and all the functuons resumed but it left me shaken

…and alternator provides morevpiwer than what the engine needs. Ama?

…car experts to tell us that…but in my case…the engine shut down and then restarted after the terminal kushika tena…that short period was horrific

No way a loose terminal would make the car go off, probably a dying "relay* or loose fuse.

It has happened to me too. A nasty experience. I almost got crushed by military truck along the eastern bypass.

…what diagnosis did you come up with…because i was damn sure ni loose terminals but am being convinced otherwise

When your battery is dead and you jump start your car, what does it run on till it charges? alternator.
You can even remove the battery kabisa when the engine is running na haita zimika so look elsewhere for the cause

ok…what would be the cause?

Yaani Hakuna mtu anasema kuma makanika atasema ni shida Ya relay zinaungua… .ama fuse box inakojolewa na kunguni…
@Luther12 sii hii gari iko na hiccups

Am not a car expert but the little knowledge I have is if indeed it was the battery hizo lights za dashboard hazingewaka plus alternator kicks in when the moti is in motion…other than charging the battery it also provides little power for some components to run…(likened to a ups system) ,as a talker said it may either be a relay or fuse problem …

:D:D:D:D ka-cheque kalirekebishwa mkubwa?

@Luther12…what is the diagnosis?