Lovers of Legendary African Musicians Gani Kali?

Who do you think got it right with the timeless tune “Fanta Diallo”
Was it Alpha Blondy with his refined European take on it, with refined notes and sophisticated instrumentation
Or was it Magic System with their raw, fun, danceable African interpretation that doesn’t let your waist know peace?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXElYNwmvo4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfL7PNe3UGk

Magic System also gave us this gem

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCXqRDb0EDM

Kenyan Musicians manze, please give us some real music.

For whatever reason, Parisians have great taste in African Music (The Alpha Blondy Perfomance was also done in Paris)
A pity this was also Europeanised. Someone give us an african version of this timeless classic .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejNJrdlzrrY

Franco, madillu, Ali Farka you’re, the legendary Salif keita, toumani, etc.

I asked a personal friend why he exclusively performs in Europe and he said you go where you are appreciated most. It’s hard to argue with that logic.

alpha blondy sings in Dioula
french
english
hebrew

respect to the man Jerusalem still sound fresh since 1986

same with bob Marley…

you see how kenya we treat athletes while kule Europe ni legends

I used to live a walking distance from where Bob Marley first performed redemption song

This is where you get it all wrong. What do you mean by refined? Sophisticated instrumentation? I see two different styles applied to the same music, each refined in its own direction.

una pata venue iko packed listening to somebody sing in a language they dont understand

Magic System wins

the problem with kenya is that we are ‘white washed’ , we think of ourselves as western , so everything feels aped , zero originality …

I salute the guy from a little known country for excelling in reggae music. Alongside the legendary Lucky Dube

Franco Luambo makiadi, madilu system

halafu kusisitiza alpha is worth 1 million dollars pesa fiti bana

Lakini naona 1 million US for a person of his caliber ni kidogo sana bana.

I’m not a fan of computer generated sounds, but this tune was big back then

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IahNmvmFOS4

Let us send some love kenya’s way

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awrbsMeL3F8

This thread can never be complete without throwing some love Madagscar’s way. How can any african not enjoy a song that celebrates African Princesses?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNyq6lA7tC4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6a6KHE2ICqg