lukla airport...one of the most dangerous airports in the world

At first, a white haze of cloud cover will obscure the surrounding mountains. Then, as the plane descends, a tiny gray strip at an elevation of 9,100 feet will appear in the distance, almost camouflaged by surrounding greenery. This 65 by 1,500-foot patch of asphalt is the runway. At its southern end is a 2,000-foot drop into a valley. At its northern end, a stone wall and a hairpin turn.
[ATTACH=full]136395[/ATTACH]
If all goes well, you’ll hit the tarmac with little more than a few bumps and lurches. That odd sensation of traveling uphill is not an illusion: the runway has a gradient of 12 percent—meaning when a plane takes off, it plunges downhill toward a 2,000-foot abyss.

Accidents are common—between October 2008 and October 2013, four small Lukla-bound aircraft crashed, killing 33 people. The airport does close in fierce winds and poor visibility, but weather in the mountains changes so rapidly that a flight may already be airborne when conditions become dangerous.
http://www.slate.com/blogs/atlas_obscura/2013/11/25/lukla_airport_in_nepal_is_the_world_s_scariest_airport.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKED_3FA7c4

[I]cockpit landing view

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=id=_TwLLkE5bz0;t=20
[/I]
very hard to do a go-around incase of a missed approach on this airport due to the mountainous terrain at the end of the runway

Wapi @Kung’u Rubani aje atuelezee alivyotua kwenye huo uwanja bila kusababisha ajali?

I can see you are obsessed with flying, thats my field bro. very challenging to land in the himalays. Actually the airport is in Nepal and used by small 14 seater planes at most.

no need bro, am ex- fighter pilot so take it from me bro.

fascinated is the right word… not only flying but aviation in general.

That looser lands on thighs only. was he gay by the way? wakiwa na njamba huthu

sawa bro, any Qs on this field feel free am an instrctor pitot with any years experience, ave taught many gringos to be pitots.

at 9,100 ft… …high density altitude and a myriad of all those conditions that can only be a recipe for mayday… mayday… mayday… wacha nibaki pale Wilson…

You are now in a different career

hii ni noma!!:eek::eek:

He he he!

Angusha hekaya!

I can see a reincarnate of @KUNGU THE PILOT.

Yuko wapi huyo pilot atafsiri hii maneno?

yap.

9,100 feet ni height of landing strip kutoka ufo wa bahari kuelekea juu, e.g Nyairofi is roughly 5300 feet kutoka ufuo wa bahari i.e mombasa, eldoret aprox 7200 feet.

nilikua tuu na follow @kungu kwa Klist nimetuliza maji tuu juu ya job, then no comments.

Jeez, what a knowledgeable ex-airman you are! I suppose you’ll handle ‘high density altitude’ in the next lesson.

I don’t know why I figure you as your avator, a guy always high on weed, which completely contradicts the aviator that you are, judging by your post yesterday of the young girl flying, and now this. We share this, and I wish I was young and had the money. Is it an obsession you have?. I can, via google, start, take off, fly and land an MD 500 Hughes chopper, even though I have never been inside of one.

:D:D:D am a rastafari its true,my way of life. but not a crack head as many portray or think of me here…(who cares) but have a passion in aviation,i grew back in embakasi near hkjk and thats where my passion for planes started,i would sit out on our balcony and watch planes take off all morning…it was also my dream in the field of eronautics but my kingman couldn’t afford… will make sure my son fulfills his fathers ambition,who knows maybe one day i will fly in the cockpit as a guest:D.

niaje mama lexicon.