Man under Sieke

So talkers, recently my mother-in-law was involved in a life-threatening road accident and I had to ferry her to a private hospital since the nearest county referral hospital had doctors on strike. I had to give 50 thousand cash Kenyatta money before any treatment commences.

That is where problem starts; I have been advising her for centuries to pay medical insurance even if it means only NHIF but seems the advice has been falling on deaf years. For only two days at avenue hospital the bill had reached Ksh. 218,000. It’s my humble self that will pay that Bill eventually. Do you have a better way of handling this situation? Making her register and pay her insurance regularly? She does mama mboga business.

Pole kwenu.May she get well soon.
Alafu akitoka hosi umfungulie kabiashara kazuri, umregister NHIF na ukue ukimkumbusha kulipa.Ukue ukienda personally ama utume wife kumake sure amelipa.
Ni hayo tu kwa sasa.

Unfiltered ukweli: ukioa mtu wa mashida mingi kwa familia, you will have to eventually carry that load. Msiba wa kujitakia hii.

Seeing how vulnerable that person is, your wife/or you through your wife should have paid NHIF for her. ama bibi ni cabbage?

Yani unatusi mtu ako na mgonjwa hospitalini?

Simplest and cheapest thing to do is register and psy for her. I bet you can afford the 500 bob monthly contribution.
For now,changisha pesa ya bill ya Avenue… But why did it have to be avenue? We are still paying a bill that was left by a dearly departed even after two harambees.

It was the nearest that could save her life. Man that accident was terrible. Had we wasted one hour she could have passed way.

Oh okay. May she get well soon.

I find it easier to just pay directly

1. Be very careful with medical bills in private hospitals…esp for your extended family. Utauza shamba ama upigiwe mnanda ukiokoa kijiji. Do not cripple yourself; that woman’s grandchildren (your kids) have grow up?
  2. Why havent you transferred her to st mary’s or some other mission hospital?
  3. She has any sons (your brothers-in-aw)? Keep them in the fold usijifanye mungu kubeba ulimwengu mzima peke yako.

Sadness of life: if you go broke saving your wifes mother there is still a chance that she can leave you when times get tough.

Pole sana msee… Just next time open her account and pay her nhif bills or better yet let your wife pay her nhif bills… Poleni sana. May she be well