Matiang'i, Matiang'i, Matiang'i

Matiang’i is a good minister.
But he needs to learn one thing.
He needs to understand why things are done the way they are done, before attempting to change them.
Like for instance, he should have tried to understand why it is that schools are opened in the second week of January, and not the first. If he did, we wouldn’t have had the situation we ended up with, where schools were opened, and there were no kids!
Or if, for instance, he tried to understand why it is that form one students report in February, and not in January. If he did, we wouldn’t have had a situation where more than 70% of the kids haven’t reported, yet the deadline he had set is gone.
Or, again, if he tried to understand why it is that high school principals have traditionally been from the community around the school. If he did, we wouldn’t be having the riots we are seeing about the new heads (and we are yet to hear the last of this matter). People are just bidding their time.
Here is the thing: There is a reason why things are done the way they are. And often, it is a good reason. It is very easy to mess up with a stable system, while thinking you are improving things.
Of course, small-minded people will be impressed with Matiang’is antics, just as small-minded folks are impressed by Magufuli’s antics. Matiangi’s approach seems to be that of pursuing change for the sake of change. You would expect better from a fellow who is said to have a PhD is something.
On my part, I prefer a systematic approach to change. Like what Michuki did with the Matatus. You realize that even if there have been lapses, things have never (and will probably never) go how they were in the pre-Michuki days. He changed the standards. But with Matiang’i, the folks he is dealing with only seem to be tolerating him. They (including possibly the very top man) fear him because he has American support. So they just let him do whatever he is doing, even if he is messing up.

and that ladies and gentlemen is the reason why we will always remain behind because we fear the unknown. change is the only thing that is constant, you either drive it or get dragged by it!

There is a reason why he did what he did.
He must have looked at all options and then consulted b4 giving that as the opening date.

rudi shule burary chieth…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izasusoTlxE

Mimi nimesoma hii post mdomo wazi my fren. “if you think education is expensive try ignorance”

We mwalimu kafunze…

Schools closed in October and the opening date was announced then, the only reason for delay would be because of the night travel ban, parents had 2 solid months to prepare for the school opening, it’s not like they were told on the last day of december

You cannot hang on to old ways when they no longer serve the purpose. Everybody knew that school results would be out earlier than in past years. There is no reason to keep the children at home till February. Schools opened in Feb as the results release was always delayed, to enable cheating or polishing up of results. Matiangi has dealt a blow to that corruption.

School Heads need to be changed around so that schools can benefit from experienced Heads and to help expand the experience of good Head, also to avoid complacency.

BS

Besides, every social norm is learned behavior. If you find out that your child will be behind other students if (s)he reports late, you’ll chase them out of the house on Boxing Day.

I agree with you. Change is necessary and it is a must but it has to be done in a way that it is easier for people to accept and cooperate. This as you said can only be understood by investigating why things work the way they do and making sure the affected stakeholders are part of the decision making process to make them own the change and work towards ensuring the change actually is successful. But both Matiangi and Maghufuli have good intentions but the execution might not be very agreeable but with time they will learn and they will continue improving as leaders.

Just because 50m people do a stupid thing it doesn’t make it right. Epukana na herd mentality. Let the man do his job.

what am fearing is that the person who is going to be the next CS for Education may revert back to the old ways of doing things

Not only do the 2 boys lack brains but they seem to frequently check if their balls are there ,most probably that’s the only thing they have in this world.

…But, you cannot seek consensus on, if it is Ok to continue delaying exam results, to give others the opportunity to cheat. You cannot investigate what is already known.

The cheats cannot cooperate and will frustrate any such efforts, in order to continue having an unfair advantage, which disadvantages other schools across the country. The only way is to wield the axe without consultation and decisively deal with that form corruption. The first year will be tough but in future people will be more prepared.

Alas, I thought it was the small-minded people that think they are thriving in the stable environment. Stability encourages mediocrity (if it is the current way of doing things).
No human development happened without a “disruptor” - a hitherto unknown stimulus- such as technology or the guiding philosophy. of course change is always met by often loud naysayers (like yourself perhaps) who are often guided by selfish considerations of personal loss…
Perhaps what you should be critical of is how the change is being managed…

P/S- Michuki’s change was anything but systematic/gradual as you suggest…

So parents had no option other than drink every penny over Christmas and floss in car hire vehicles then wait for January and start whining? Sawa

Not really, the bar that’s set is extremely too high