Maturity that leads to a sense of responsibility and reasoning fast catching up with us!!!

[SIZE=6]We will attend swearing-in, say defiant Nasa legislators[/SIZE]
Posted by People Daily
Date: August 30, 2017
http://www.mediamaxnetwork.co.ke/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/Not-even-injuries-sustained-in-a-road-accident.jpg
Not even injuries sustained in a road accident could keep Othaya MP-elect Gichuki Mugambi from joining his Kieni counterpart Kanini Kega at Parliament Buildings yesterday. Photo/KENNA CLAUDE

Members of Parliament allied to the National Super Alliance (Nasa) yesterday said they will not honour calls by the alliance to boycott the official swearing-in tomorrow.

MPs, who spoke to People Daily at Parliament Buildings, said the directive “was not a party but rather individual position”. Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa said she was ready to take her position as the representative of her people by taking the oath office.

“It has not been circulated to us that the boycott issue is a coalition position, we will just ignore it and move forward,” she said.

Kanduyi MP Wafula Wamunyinyi also echoed the same sentiments saying his party (Ford Kenya) had not discussed anything to that effect.

“We are ready to take office on Thursday; the boycott threat should be treated as such. Opening of Parliament is a constitutional matter which should not be politicised,” he said.

The legislators were among those who turned up for an orientation exercise ahead of tomorrow’s swearing-in ceremony. Reminiscent of secondary school day one, MPs were shown around by the parliamentary orderlies and taken through pre-swearing-in ahead of the official event.

After registration, the lawmakers were also expected to present their Curriculum Vitae and a copy of their National Identification Card at the registration desk.

And after the process they were each given a copy of the Standing Orders that will guide their conduct while in the Chambers and various House committees.

Some Nasa MPs led by Junet Mohamed (Suna East) had last week vowed to stay away from the first sitting of Parliament until the Supreme Court makes a decision on the legality of President Uhuru Kenyatta’s election.

The President has, through a notice in the Kenya gazette, summoned the 12th Parliament for the first sitting on Thursday next week.

Eti sense of responsibility? They too have families and need to get paid. If they do not attend they will not start drawing mshahara until they do.

I thought we were talking about talkers!

@Soprano its high time you start looking for something interesting to do ata kama ni kucheza baseball. You can’t live by politics whereas everybody has moved on.

Mara ngapi tutasema hakuna kitu kama naswa. Then junet thinks he can impose himself as opposition spokesman and dictate to them. Pole hii si odm. That said await a fight over minority positions in Parliament and nominations. As usual odm thinks all those positions are theirs. They also have a lot of losers pushing for rescue from certain retirement.

Simple really; if they don’t get sworn, they don’t get into the payroll. Niggas need the money more than they need Babuon.

Babuon is on his own now. Orengo pia atakua sworn in.

I’m already thinking about joining your blood thirsty mungiki! Will you be my patron? I will front your doctrine in the whole of Kamba Land. That’s true!

Kambas are as useless as their leaders , nobody can accommodate them.

The oath is in prescribed form. The MPs swear allegiance to the president. But which President? What happens if the Courts find that the current President was not properly elected, order fresh Presidential elections and thereafter, the President (to whom the MPs swore allegiance) loses? Do they take the oath a fresh?

OK. Thanks.
Now, just ignore me.

The swear an oath to the President of Kenya. The office supersedes an individual and there is never a vaccum to that office. Besides 95% of MP’s don’t have an issue with President Uhuru, the people have spoke, they picked them and reelected UhuRuto.

Why does the constitution envisage a situation where the Office is vacant? Can there be an office without an office-bearer? NO!

The Presidency has no vaccum, if the current holder can’t fulfill his duty, immediately an acting President is sworn in.