Mazda RX7 Engine swap

A few pictures of work on a 1978 Mazda RX7 Series 1.
This was done in 2007.
The original rotary engine had lost compression and ‘drank’ oil like a fish.
We settled on a Nissan SR20DET (single turbo) out of a Nissan Sylvia.
[ATTACH=full]70229[/ATTACH]

Worked on the mounts.
Had to cut and modify the cross member since there was little plenum space and the I did not want to make changes to the bonnet.
[ATTACH=full]70230[/ATTACH]

Engine sat well in the bay.
We were lucky to get the 5-speed manual gearbox for rear wheel drive.
(In my eyes, automatic = for girls).
We had to shorten the length of the propeller shaft.
[ATTACH=full]70231[/ATTACH]

Initially we fitted a submersible fuel pump in the tank but it failed twice so later we installed a high-pressure Mercedes in-line pump outside the tank.
[ATTACH=full]70232[/ATTACH]

On-the-spot testing.
[ATTACH=full]70233[/ATTACH]

Cleaned up.[ATTACH=full]70234[/ATTACH]
Good to go…
[ATTACH=full]70235[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]70237[/ATTACH]
Had to paint the Smoking Saitan…
[ATTACH=full]70236[/ATTACH]

It has been taken apart again for an upgrade to an in-line 6 single turbo (RB26DET).
I will post pictures of the process starting January 2017.

46 Likes

Please si usaidie someone who was asking a question about putting engine ya VW kwa different kind of car…I can’t remember

Nimecomment hapo kwa thread yake.
1.4 ama 1.5 flat 4 Subaru engine.

Classic!
Well done bruh!

lakini inakaa wewe ni wa kitambo kiasi if you had that expertise in 2007

Hehehe.
Turning 37 in December.
Car is 38 so heshima lazima.

@introver rb26det is a good engine. Really powerful I think you might have to reinforce that chassis ndio iwezane. I guess pia brakes…
:cool::cool:
Where do you get these engines? The vehicles with RBs were not too popular in Kenya.

Na Mazda Carol naweza upgrade na engine gani. Ama nisiisumbue?

Any ideas for a Mazda RX 8 …yes the engines is a constant pain to maintain. Any ideas what I can replace it with.

What do you think? We make them? Mine them? Steal them? Buy them? Pray for them?

Wachanga maswali ya kipumbavu. Its obvious nigga buys them. A sensible qn would have been “where do you buy these engines?”

@kah tony you are the most stupid person ever born

Reinforcing was the first order of business.
Notice the running board in the first pic?
That is a 50mm diameter metal hollow tube sealed on both ends and filled with sand.
Plus a half roll cage which is now being extended to the front (rally spec.). Also the car has zero body issues and is quite solid.
For the brakes we got a full front suspension upgrade and rear diff from an 85 model. That has bigger discs at the front and disc brakes at the rear and the proportions are slightly wider so the car has a wider road stance now.
Sump guard is 6mm sheet metal you can bang against anything. It just throws the whole car up.
You are right, the RB26 lot of engines is probably the best straight 6 after BMW. Nissan lost the plot when they stopped putting it in the Skyline. I was lucky to get this one. At one point there was a waiting list.

Hehehe.
Mazda Carol kuja nikupatie shaving machine uweke hapo kwa engine bay uambie watu hiyo ni Tesla fully electric.

RX8s dawa ni ile ile.
The rotary engines are great when new but end up being quite cumbersome.
Beauty of these cars is the engines are mounted close to the middle of the car for weight symmetry so they made the engine bay quite long. You can drop any engine in there.

…its the opposite…asking about putting a different car’s engine in a beetle

If you see the response from the person I asked, which most certainly wasnt you, you will realize that you have no idea the importance of how i phrased my question.

You must be one of those guys who drive an NA subaru with a Dakar Rally decal to boot, that is if you have a car at all.

usinipe hopes hivyo for real …okay hii story tutaendeleza kwenye wire…

Kweli. In a few years RX8 zitakuwa zinatupwa.

You preaching to the choir yangu imelala for about 1 year plus… and counting

Shait…
Time to dump the rotary.