Mechanical keyboard - Nyamgondho woud Ombare

I wonder how many of you are into mechanical keyboards. I had the Ducky-One-Two mini which I gave to a friend coz he was starting up with keyboards and he didn’t understand much. I didn’t like it though coz it wasn’t hotswappable. I also have a couple of non-mechanical keyboards - mostly Logitech. I think I have posted a few in previous pictures.

So on this Amazon Prime Day I got myself a Royal Kludge RK84 with cherry mx brown switches. for approximately 7K (Huge bargain btw) and some keycaps. I love the RK84, it comes with a variety of switches which are hotswapable and a very nice layout.

It’s funny that the keycaps cost more than the keyboard. About 20K for the keycaps but they were not on offer. I wanted side-printed keycaps so these were hard to find. These appear blank on top but if you want, you can peek on the sides to see the letters. I type really fast and I don’t have time to look at keys anyway. @administrator for some reason refused to host a typing competition. I hope that he will someday.

So for the RK84 I intend to do the following changes

1. Change the keycaps to the new-ones I got. I will still buy some pudding keycaps later one maybe on black friday.

2. Change the switches to some custom ones, I have joined a few international forums where you crowd-source funds and once you have the money you manufacture custom keycaps and switches but at an expensive price like 500 USD for a set. I have not yet settled for a group.

3. Dampen sound by installing some Keyboard O-rings and sound proofing (Foam) - in the keyboard case so that they are more silent.

I like these cherry browns, but before I get some custom switches I might buy some Gatereons - browns. Anyway I prefer tactile switches.

BTW the wooden palm-rest you see on the pics cost me like 3000 it’s from Keychron - really feels nice on my palms. I will do a tutorial on how to mod this keyboard later on when I change the switches and also when I get the pudding keycaps.

What your preference on keyboards?

[ATTACH=full]375012[/ATTACH]

[ATTACH=full]375013[/ATTACH]

Nice article

Beautiful coincidence, I was watching a video on that

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ijQ0HgjmyZY

I prefer piano keyboard
[ATTACH=full]375053[/ATTACH]

I’m subscribed to the mechanical keyboards subreddit and want to buy one. But every time life gets in the way and I end up doing buying encase

G.skill ripjaws KM780R rgb…cherry mx red imeishi kwa wishlist yangu for close to a year …Naona hupendi numpad ile ya kando
[ATTACH=full]375138[/ATTACH]

I like G.Skill ram, I don’t think they sell a 80% keyboard. Is this hotswappable? the reason I don’t like numpad is because I feel the mouse is usually very far away and my hands are not centred on the keyboard. I would rather have a 60% keyboard with its limitations than a full keyboard.

I think the cherry reds have a low actuation force which means that just placing your fingers on the keyboard could register a click. - though I am not sure. But I guess they are more clicky - as in more noise.

You can start small buy buying items when they are on offer until you have a full mech keyboard. It’s relatively cheap if you want to start small but can run to $1000 if you go overkill.

ion kuna vijana huku nje wamejenga nice rigs check this out!
[MEDIA=twitter]1415601494171299843[/MEDIA]

Hii ni pesa ngapi?

not sure sahi check amazon

fiti

Baas, mimi hupenda kitu iko na wrist rest

Halafu upate jamaa anatumia kuwatch movie bana.

I think ni web dev

I wish there was a place where I could test various switches. I’ve only tested a mechanical keyboard in one local anime convention… As for starting slow the cheap ones don’t look good, I want those 10 keyless ones from kina ducky

I thought all USB keyboards are hot swappable unless am missing something.

Heneway, kumbe the mechanical keyboard market has variety. Sometime back there was only das keyboard and it has been forever on my wishlist. They started out with blank keyboards but checking their site now, it seems watu hawapendi blank keyboards.

https://shop.daskeyboard.com/collections/all-mechanical-keyboards?gclid=CjwKCAjwi9-HBhACEiwAPzUhHIz4bPK3EM5SWBwPwJzRA8C4TyxkQxnO5WGEf-RjIxKAeoBU1U-BCxoCA2YQAvD_BwE&sort_by=best-selling

Their blank one is not best selling. How things change.

You could buy a key tester kit. It comes with like all types of switches like cherry Mx or Gatereons and you can decide which one you want.

Starting slow doesn’t mean you go for a cheap look. You could start by buying the Keyboard case and the PCB. Then later on get some switches. then a plate, keycaps, o-rings etc etc. Your keyboard will cost more than $200 in the end but you may end up assembling it at $150. And it will feel better than even akina Drop, Ducky na GMMK

Like today there is an offer on this Glorious RGB PCB with Case.

[MEDIA=amazon]B01MSVHZTT[/MEDIA]

Ungekuwa na pesa, unanua unaweka kando, then you look for other items. You can customize it to look extremely professional and fantastic.

Hotswappable means you can pull the switches from the printed circuit board (PCB) without desoldering. U just pick a switch puller and pull out the damn thing. Even if the keyboard is powered. If the keyboard is not hotswappable you will need to desolder before pulling out the keyboard switches. It’s not difficult, I have done it before - it’s just that it’s less convenient.

I always felt DIY keyboards are the deep end… Also 200 USD for a keyboard is a lot when I have higher priorities like a new graphics card. Nvidia 960 is showing its age