Mediatek vs Snapdragon

[SIZE=6]MediaTek VS Snapdragon Processor Full Comparison[/SIZE]

JUNE 21, 2016 BY AKSHAY DUA 26 COMMENTS

As we are in the 21st century, so there is no limitation of technology and one of the most popular example of emerging technology is our smartphone. Day by day they are getting more and more ripped as well as more powerful. When we talk about the performance of the smartphone, everyone knows that on which factor the performance depends, the hardware offered by the brand and the optimization done by the developers/engineers. And one of the best example of correct optimization and hardware is the iPhone, but as more than 70% market share is in favor of Android so in this article we will be focusing about Android only. When we think about the processors powering android devices, the two most popular names which comes in our minds are Qualcomm and Mediatek. So in this we are comparing the two processor makers MediaTek VS Snapdragon on the basis of 2016.

Firstly we are talking about theMediatek, that what the company is offering and in the comparison we are only considering the power packed SoC’s from the two manufacturers. Mediatek is the inventor of the first Deca-Core processor which means the power of 10 Cores in a Smartphone, Sounds amazing which means more data can be processed at a time and which inherently results in a better parallelism. The top notch series of processors offered by Mediatek are- MT6752, Helio P10(MT6755), Helio X10(MT6795), Helio X20(MT6797), Helio X25(MT6797T) and the upcoming Helio X30. Some popular smartphones powered by these processors are- LeEco Le 1s, Meizu MX5, YU Yunicorn, Meizu Pro 6, LeEco Le 2(China version), etc.

Also see:- Qualcomm Snapdragon 820 Processor All you need to know

The Helio X20/X25 is the most powerful series yet by the Mediatek and they have scored a reputable 80000+ in the Antutu Benchmark, which is a good score with no doubts and in day to day the processors are also stable, they doesn’t exhibit extra heating at all.

And now we like to talk aboutQualcomm Snapdragon, the performance based processor from Qualcomm in 2016 are-Snapdragon 430, Snapdragon 616, Snapdragon 617, Snapdragon 650, Snapdragon 652, Snapdragon 820, etc. Snapdragon 650 and 652 are the two processors powering many smartphones including LeEco Le 2(Indian version), Xiaomi Redmi Note 3, Sony Xperia X series,Samsung A9 Pro, HTC 10 lifestyleand more. Snapdragon 820 is one of the best SoC available at present it just blows the Antutu with the amazing score of 100000+ and it is also the processor which is powering many Flagships of 2016
For ex- HTC 10, LG G5, Xiaomi Mi5,Oneplus 3, Samsung Galaxy S7(Global version), LeEco Le Max 2, etc.

http://www.tekz24.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/Mediatek-VS-Qualcomm.jpg

And now we will compare the processor from each brand which falls in the same category.Qualcomm Snapdragon 650 vs Mediatek Helio X20, And the two devices which can help us to make you understand the difference between the two is the Redmi Note 3 vs LeEco Le 2(China version). If you are the one who believe in the numbers then in the raw performance Mediatek Helio X20 take over the Snapdragon 650 but if we take a closer then there is not a big difference between them. Snapdragon 650 is a Hexa-Core chipset whereas Helio X20 is a Deca-Core chipset, Snapdragon 650 has a combination of 2 x Cortex A72 cores with 4 x Cortex A53 cores whereas Helio X20 has 2 x Cortex A72 cores with 8 x Cortex A53 cores which is the reason behind the slight change in the performance of both. If you are a person who likes to Root, Flashing custom Roms then go for the Snapdragon 650 otherwise that much change in performance of Helio X20 doesn’t make any big difference. The Antutu Scores of the two are as follows- Helio X20- 82000, Snapdragon 650- 73000.

Now the next comparison is ofQualcomm Snapdragon 652 vs Mediatek Helio X25, And for making this comparison easy we are considering the following devices- LeEco Le 2 Pro vs LeEco Le 2(Indian version). Snapdragon 652 is a Octa-Core processor whereas Helio X25 is a Deca-Core processor. If we compare them in the raw performance then Helio X25 have a slight edge over the Snapdragon 652, Helio X25 scores 91000 in Antutu whereas Snapdragon 652 scores around 82000. Snapdragon 652 has a combination of 4 x Cortex A72 cores with 4 x Cortex A53 cores while Helio X25 has 2 x Cortex A72 cores with 8 x Cortex A53 cores. When it comes to real time usage both processors are more then sufficient and can handle heavy multi-tasks easily but as we all know there is a better development for Snapdragon processors so there are more custom things available to flash but in Mediatek chipsets the future development is not that good, but in raw performance Helio X25 has a slight edge which we can’t ignore.

Qualcomm Snapdragon 820, everybody knows that it is the best processor for Android devices available right now, from Mediatek there is no competitor to compete with it because Helio X30 is not yet launched and we will hope that when it will be official, will prove to be a tough rival for Snapdragon 820.

So for now(2016), undoubtedly the clear winner is the Qualcomm Snapdragon series. But we all are aware of the fact that Tech world is highly dynamic and it keeps on changing regularly, So it can be possible that in upcoming future the situation will be different.
So for Tech related updates stay tuned to us

Hii maneno imekusumbua! You deserve a Tecno degree! Asante lakini, nimesoma.

Kweli kapsaa. Imenisumbua sana, msee!

Thanks… nice read…

A summary in a Table please

Good read… I have tried to compare/link the mobile platform with the como platform to avail…
Is mediatek the AMD of the mobile platform and Qualcomm the Intel?

Siwes tumia mediatek. Qualcomm all the way. Hii 801 yangu haijawai hang

Sawa mkubwa! Unajua wewe ni karateka, hodari wa martial arts!

Snapdragon iko yuu, very reliable, efficient and powerful. Especially if built on a 14nm process. The kryo core beats any cortex core any day.

Perceptions. Perceptions! There’s a reason why the majority android phone makers prefer mediatek!

Mediatek hutumika na wale manufacturers wanataka final cost ya phone iwe cheap. Compare HTC 520 na tecno fulani. Hiyo 520 iko na snapdragon 210 (1.1 GHz, 1Gb ram na 8Gb rom) but ni more expensive kuliko tecno with the better specs

In English please. Ama urushwe kwa Bedford

next going by statistics, next nitaona matter core:)

Let me correct this for you.

Perceptions. Perceptions! There’s a reason why the majority of CHEAP android phone makers prefer mediatek while the majority of FLAGSHIP phones are packed with the Snapdragon!

@grandpa! Give up already, @grandpa! It’s perceptions all the way! The quotation below is from way back in 2014. Please read it!

… While smartphone users in North America and Europe are usually reluctant when it comes to buying handsets that feature MediaTek processors, devices using these chipsets are hugely popular in various Asian markets (Japan and South Korea not included).
Based in Taiwan, MediaTek provides SoCs that allow smartphone manufacturers to sell their devices at extremely attractive price points. At the moment, lots of low-end, mid-range, and high end smartphone models are using MediaTek processors - they were first popular in China (the world’s largest mobile market), and are rapidly gaining market share in many other countries.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/10-notable-MediaTek-powered-smartphones_id62389

Android manufacturers are looking for bigger margins, by putting cheap chipsets in phones for bigger margins after sales

The smaller the chip manufacturing process, the more powerful it is compared to a larger one of the same number of cores, clock speed, etc. Pia haikuli stima, battery itakaa bila kunyonya power bank ovyo ovyo

HTC one m9 plus! Isn’t this a mediatek phone and still an expensive one? Again it has been placed on stilts, like the corning gorilla glass protection and some other useless cosmetics, but I believe it’s the brand name that is on sale here! A scrap HTC phone will still be more expensive than a premium Tecno phone!

Galaxy Note 4, Galaxy s5, these won’t keep going for more than 4 hours of constant heavy use!

So what I am reading is that snapdragon operating on a 2000mah battery will outlast Mediatek operating on a 4000mah battery?