Middle Class

What are your independent thoughts? What does a general practitioner doctor earn net income? I am assuming a doctor is pretty much in the middle class category.

Ati independent thoughts? You mean umeffi opinion? Such classifications are backed up by statistical evidence and never opinions.

Your umeffi opinion is also welcome

Middle class unfortunately is a huge bracket…

Peasants tukae wapi…

It all depends on the specialty. General practitioners are paid the least but they are still middle class. On the other hand, surgical specialties are in the crème de la crème bracket.

You have to know definition ya middle class is not about earning, it’s about spending. You can earn good money but save 95% kama mtu hapa sitataja, and you would not be middle class

ati daktari ni middle class?
mtu mwenye anashika shika maini anapewa 200k in 20 minutes?
hata wakanyaks mwenyewe anakuanga shoulder deep in maini na hananga pesa kama hio.

kwani middle class ndio akina nani?

Interesting perspective. Okay. What do you think a middle class adult spends per month?

General practitioner, kubaff!! Wewe unaongea juu ya surgeon.

‘Consumption index’ is another way of defining who’s middle class; but income is what comes to mind first.

Payslip ya gava ya general practitioner…

[ATTACH=full]224369[/ATTACH]

Though this one has arrears. Drs in JG P, Q, R and S earn more.

Hizo arrears ni almost half a million. So net ni 200k-300k most likely.

In layman’s terms if your daily expendture is between kes 1500 to 3600. Do not ask me how I got the figures because I read somewhere just the way they defined a poor person as an individual who survives on less than two dollars a day.

Some GPs (MOs) who locum earn much more than specialists. GoK salary + locums (moon lighting). But, I still believe, doctors are still seriously underpaid.

How can a magistrate earn more than a doctor with 2 degrees + more than 10 years of work experience? They get official cars, official residences, security, etc. which doctors do not get, yet, their impact on society is presumably greater.

It’s a pity. My calculations have a tally of kshs 212,328 per month for a doctor working full time + emergency call.

That’s nett bila tax deductions PAYE, nssf, nhif, sacco, helb,loans etc. Gross might clock 125 - 200k.
IMO middle class is anyone who is overtaxed. People who are taxed at a higher rate *(in proportion to their income) than the super-rich.

Correct. That’s an MO’s GoK pay (It’s a shame that a doctor can work 4 months without pay). It’s slightly better in private hospitals by about 15k to 50k i.e. Mater, Mp Shah, Nairobi, AKUH and the like. MO’s in private man the outpatient departments. In GoK they do everything including very complex surgeries (craniotomies, laparatomies, hysterectomies etc.). In GoK, a serious doctor can gain skills which are better than a board certified surgeon in US or UK. Problem is equipment, supplies and supporting services (labs, nursing care, pharma, physio etc.).

Interesting…Swali, say you’re a GI doc or intensivist, how easy is it to cross-train in another specialty? Can a ENT who does T&A’s receive training for lap chole’s too? Or they will need to do a separate residency?

MOs can do anything they want. Today surgery, tomorrow internal medicine. The next day obstetrics. Once you specialise, you stick to your specialty. But in times of staff shortages, tasks are shared. Or if there’s an emergency. A general surgeon will do a cesarean section. A paediatrician will see adults in the wards. Very rarely though.

But it’s unlikely for an ENT to be doing GI surgery. Those will get referred. As far as possible, people stick to their domains. Medico-legal reasons.

You need to do 2 MMEDs to be a General Surgeon and a Diagnostic Radiologist, or ENT or Ophthalmologist. The Board will also need to license you to practice in these specialties.