Middle Class

300k net per month/10k per day is not middle class in Kenya. But it is middle class in Nairobi.

What are you trying to say?, just because you make more than that does not give you the right to put other people down!

Very few people make that

Boss, I don’t make more than that. I actually make less than that. I don’t know why you are triggered by a mere observation. Look, I am not the type of guy who will come here to brag about being a birrionea, because I’m not. If I was singekuwa kenyatalk to start with, I would be somewhere golfing with the elite not interacting online with the hoi polloi.

I have followed your posts for sometime. you are poor but you are living your perceived self in this village

si inafaa kuwa middle class in kenya but not middle class in nairobi?

Very many people make that, specifically in Nairobi. How many SUVs and Crossovers do you see on the road? How much do you think those people pay in rent, for those who don’t own where they live? How much do you think they pay for their kids’ education? Suddenly $3000 net doesn’t appear to be much, and I am very specific, huku Nairobi. Kule counties, $3000 is a lot of money.

Cost of living in Nairobi is very different na Kenya in general. Kuna time nilisoma statistic fulani 40% ama 60% of Kenya’s GDP is from Nai alone. Vitu kama housing and education hukuwa significantly more expensive Nai.

I have never claimed to be a birrionea. So, you are probably right. I am good with what I have. So should you.

That’s a good money here in Nairobi … it can earn you respect and cater for most of your bills not forgetting saving some while living in a decent suburb

Very true. 300k is a tidy sum but it won’t take you far in Nairobi if you live in say kile where rent is 60k+ , school fees at riara for example is 350k per year, vacations to Dubai for example requires 300k per year, not to mention insurance and savings.

300k will afford that middle class lifestyle in Nairobi. Shida itakuwa savings/investments. If you live the typical Kile middle class lifestyle with 300k, you will have very little savings to afford property in Nairobi. Most people huangalia tu side ya ku-afford the lifestyle, but ignore what they will have left to invest/save. Take a very educated guy who works diligently and earns that 300k net hapa Nai. He cannot run a side hustle juu job yake ni hands-on sana. A plot of land in a middle class area place kama pale Membley costs circa 10 mil. Do the math. It will take the guy over 6 years at 50% savings rate to pay off the plot fully. 6 years!!

Maybe break that down further…where exactly in Nairobi are these people that make 300k/month?

Take a middle class neighborhood, e.g Kile kwa apartments. How much do you think you would have left for investments if you matched that lifestyle on a net of 300k? Assume you have a family. The answer is: not much. You will afford the lifestyle easily, but you wont have any meaningful savings to invest with. The best you will do are peasant investments kama pigsties za mabati ama zile plot za 500k in the middle of nowhere. Have you ever wondered why celebrities go broke and yet they make serious $$?

mimi na 20k a month, wacha nikae >>>>>>>>>>… >>>>>>>>hukooooo

pole sana

wacha jokes msee … ati pole?

Very true boss. The only way and waht I do is i live waaaay below my means in terms of residence, what I drive and the school I take my kid to. Actually the only extravagance is the school fees. Every where else I live frugally. On the outside I don’t look like that income but beneath the surface I’m making moves to enbale me to be financially secure if that income stops coming.

I’m focussing on purchasing as many rental units as possible and saving atleast 6 months income (200k x 6) incase of an emergency. I save 100k pm

True. Guys don’t think like this.

On that 300k you can’t comfortably have two kids. It’s not possible for a minute class person. Too much financial pressure. I can’t afford another kid on my current income which isn’t too far off the figure u have quoted

Certainly. Not when you intend to have a property portfolio for passive income.