Military Ranks Explained....

The kenyan Military structure is traditionally inherited for the British…here

Service Men and Non Commisioned Officers (NCO)

Private
On completion of Phase 1 Training, all new soldiers start as Privates

Lance Corporal (im not sure if this rank is still in the kenyan situation)

Promotion to Lance Corporal may follow after Phase 2 Training or after about 3 years as a private. Lance Corporals are required to supervise a small team of up to four soldiers called a section. They also have opportunities to specialise and undertake specialist military training.

Corporal
After 6-8 years, and depending on ability to lead, promotion to Corporal typically follows. In this rank additional trade and instructor qualifications can be gained. Corporals are given command of more soldiers and equipment such as tanks and guns.

Sergeant
Sergeant is a senior role of responsibility, promotion to which typically takes place after 12 years depending on ability. Sergeants typically are second in command of a troop or platoon of up to 35 soldiers, with the important responsibility for advising and assisting junior officers.

Staff/Colour Sergeant
After a few years as a Sergeant promotion to either Staff or Colour Sergeant may follow. This is a senior role combining man and resource management of around 120 soldiers, or even command of a troop or platoon.

Warrant Officer Class 2
(Company/Squadron Sergeant Major)

This is a senior management role focussing on the training, welfare and discipline of a company, squadron or battery of up to 120 soldiers. WO2s act as senior adviser to the Major in command of the sub-unit and may also be selected for a commission as an Officer.

Warrant Officer Class 1
(Regimental Sergeant Major)

The most senior soldier rank in the Army, typically reached after 18 years of outstanding service. WO1s are the senior advisors of their unit’s Commanding Officer, with leadership, discipline and welfare responsibilities of up to 650 officers and soldiers and equipment.

COMMISIONED OFFICERS

Officer Cadet
This is the rank held during initial officer training Lanet .

Second Lieutenant
The first rank held on commissioning. It is normally held for up to 3 years, during which time they complete special to arms training relevant to their Corps. Afterwards they are responsible for leading up to 30 soldiers in a platoon or troop, both in training and on operations.

Lieutenant
Lieutenant is a rank typically held for up to 3 years. They normally command of a platoon or troop of around 30 soldiers, but with experience comes increased responsibilities. They also have the opportunity to gain specialized skills outside their unit.

Captain
Captains are normally made second-in-command of a sub-unit of up to 120 soldiers. They are key players in the planning and decision-making process, with tactical responsibility for operations on the ground as well as equipment maintenance, logistic support and manpower.

Major
Promotion to Major follows between 8-10 years service. Typically a Major will be given command of a sub-unit of up to 120 officers and soldiers with responsibility for their training, welfare and administration both in camp and on operations, as well as the management of their equipment.

Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonels typically command units of up to 650 soldiers, containing four or five sub-units. They are responsible for the overall operational effectiveness of their unit in terms of military capability, welfare and general discipline. Typically a two-year appointment.

Colonel
Colonels are not usually field commanders - typically they serve as staff officers between field commands at battalion/brigade level. It is the lowest of the staff ranks and they are the principle operational advisors to senior officers.

Brigadier (aka 1 star General)
Brigadier is not considered to be a General Officer rank by the Army but rather a Field officer rank. Brigadiers can command a brigade or be a director of operational capability groups such as a director of staff.

Major General (aka 2 star General)
Major Generals command formations of division size and hold senior staff appointments.

Lieutenant General (aka 3 star)
Lieutenant Generals command formations of Corps size and other commands

General (aka 4 star)

Generals hold the most senior appointments - such as the Chief of Defence Staff, Vice Chief of Defence Staff, Chief of the General Staff,

source :
http://www.army.mod.uk/structure/32321.aspx website ya www.mod.go.ke haina kitu
but i got this magazines which are intresting reads

Remember for the commissioned officers above the rank of Major and above…if you are by passed for promotion for more than 2 years in your current rank…you get retired

interesting!
it also seems so complex.
i always dreamed of being a soldier,the only thing i can do now is play soldier with my son.
the corrupt kenyan system screwed my chances

watu hulia lia when corruption screws them but sijawai ona mtu ame praise corruption when it enabled them get a dl bila kwenda shule or get out of a traffic over speeding fine

12 Likes

informative. now look for the insignia and post here please…[SIZE=3](oliver twist asks for more)[/SIZE]

hehehe…
i should be happy when things are not going my way?
it is the dragon that will slay us all

Explain like am 5 year old on commissioned and non commisioned ranks

By the way are you in the armed forces @msalame grace.

State Secret

No, if you managed to get employment via corrupt means shouldn’t you be praising it while admitting the fact… That’s what @shocks is wondering aloud/in writing. Corruption is always portrayed as a one-sided affair…

dont you think it costs us more than it benefits us?
esp if you are from a poor bacgroung.
if it has benefited you,you should sing it praise from the highest rooftops?

i still do it is only that i am past the age and i dont wish to die and leave my ugly wife to the hyenas

commissioned officers are officers who have been through officer training huko lanet. Ranks for commissioned officers begin at lieutenant upwards. Non-commissioned officers ni wale kurutu who have shown exceptional leadership and have been promoted to the rank of Sergeant (I think). Hii inaweza pata ile battlefield commission and be promoted to lieutenant. I could be wrong though because all this I only know by watching Band of Brothers.

At grace you got roughly 75% of the info right however in our kenyan setting amend to read as follows:
1.lance corporal abbre as l/cpl still exists in the army specifically infantry and they command delta team ie part of a section and not the whole section.
2.staff/colour seargent in our setting he is called a senior seargent abbre as ssgt and his role is what we call admin ie in combat he is tasked with resupply and general rear movement to collect ammo and rations. He together with a commissioned officer called captain have no or little combat command.
3.promotion to next rank is granted after completing certain courses that merit you and also depending on the seniority and do not necessary take the time you have stipulated. Availability of vacancies also play a vital role for instance for a capt to be promoted to maj currently he must have a university degree and other relevant course as opposed to some time ago where it would come automatically after some time.
4. Any soldier who is of a rank of sgt who has served over 3yrs with a clean record and below 39yrs of age can apply to be commissioned subject to availability of vacancies. Such commissioned officers are called special duty officer and perform duties such as paymasters,motor transport officers and quartermasters ie they are not given command. Contrary to your assertion that only warrant officers class 2.
5. The diiference between commissioned officers and non commissioned officers is that commissioned officers draw their mandate from the president himself hence execute their functions as the president himself would while non commissioned officers are commanded and pledge their alligience(sp) to the president the other commissioned officers are provincial commissioner, district commissioner, police commissioner ( i dont know if they still exist) hence it customary to see kdf personnel saluting them however there exist a difference between commissioned officers and gazzetted officers as in the case of kenya police and administration police

Finally @grace i love your enthusiasm in military matters and your indepth analysis keep up

Views expressed here are solely of the author and does not in any way reflect the kdf’s position

Everyone does. Nina combat gear ya Levis which i rarely wear but i love seeing it.
Kuna boy najua ata screen saver yake ya simu ni logo ya KDF.

kwa ufupi commisioned officers the CEO and management…while NCO are supervisors and heads of units

Do all go to war and are the NCO subordinates?

Great work

no I’m not but my family from my great grand papa to my Dad and uncles, some aunties and brothers and cousins have all served or currently serving in the military …its a family tradition

If you see my Ugandan series you will senior ranking commissioned officers taking an active role in the planning and execution of strategies in the Mogadishu fighting…