Millenial money: Living on $210k in NYC

Bukola Ayodele, 25, earns $210,000 a year as a software engineer in New York City. That income includes her base salary, bonus and equity. She doesn’t touch the equity and lives off of her base salary and bonus. Now, she wants to inspire more women, and especially black women, to join her in tech. To help fill the gap, she started a YouTube channel called The Come Up (@The Come Up) to provide black women and other women of color with the resources and advice she wished existed when she first considered pursuing a career in tech.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQ6u4tCi4cY:320

Which company does she work for?

Kensho Technologies.

Tech pays really well if you are good at what you do. Even better…you can work remotely. Ule newbie alikuwa anauliza kama afanye comp science should look at such examples and learn.

She studied Political Science at Columbia with the hopes of getting into law school, but changed her mind and decided to learn code. She’s now at Google probably making more money.
The fact that she’s an immigrant from Nigeria makes her story inspiring for African immigrants pursuing STEM careers.

I was watching a video some guy wondering why Naijas seem to be very successful in US. even better than the black americans He said most Naijas move to STEM and medical fields as BLM bonobos rush to take arts courses. And when the jobs become too hard to come they want to blame institutional racism like the way mzee @Abba does

Dear purple, thanks for the video but ni ya 2020 and this lady Bukola recently uploaded a video on her channel that she quit software engineering claiming the mental
torture aint worth it. very common these days to find developers throw in the towel. For instance the guy called cs dojo who was working for google then just called it quits to start his youtube channel. Hii kitu hu-require mental discipline and effort ingine wazimu sana :):slight_smile:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epLuoJADWxk

Wtf!!! She did what!

yaani east or west home is bestest!If you have a stable source of income

Software engineers wanakuwanga funny tu sana. Many sleep 3hrs! Aje sasa? Mtu anafanya kazi usiku mzima analala saa nne asubuhi na saa nane afte ameshaamka! Na hajaamshwa na mtu. Anakunywa kahawa kama coffee machine! They are addicted to coding is like a disease.

Yes not healthy at all

pia workload si mchezo. Kuna mahali ilikua deadline zingine strict sana na pressure mob. That time i was an intern at the company. Unaona mtu anaearn poa sana ameiava programming but is always sad

This is how bonobos justify their mediocrity, laziness and lack of self drive.

Crazy lifestyle I say, they sleep, drink eat, shit code, they must be very boring to interact with

but they never complain all day about how broke they are. Nothing good comes easy

Noo, that’s not what she said. She quit because of grief issues surrounding the covid pandemic. She now works for Google as a software development advocate perhaps utilizing her pol Sci degree which in itself, just working for Google is a big deal!! In another video, she wishes she had studied comp sci at a degree level not the 3 month coding boot camp which led to her coding job. She thinks her knowledge base would be much more advanced which I’m sure would also alleviate anxieties about coding.

The point of this video was to inspire others including myself because she inspires me with her positive outlook on life, being an African immigrant professional in America. Bottom line is that software engineering can be a rewarding career.

I would rather sleep 4 hrs a night and my bank be vomiting. Please niggas, stop justifying peasantry.

great… arudi nyumbani tujenge huku

Trust me its never worth it. I have been there, you look at your impressive bank balance while everything else in your life is falling apart especially your health. I learnt that money is never everything. Life is about balance.

Kuna indian programmers who work the same crazy hours for peanuts. Huyo mama aliangukia.