mind blowing facts about 2004 earthquake,will it ever happen again?

on 26th/dec/2004, two tectonic plates,(largest in the world) released a 9.1 magnitude earthquake,the world record breaking quake lasted for 9minutes and brought devastation of unimaginable scale.before the dust could settle,the islands surrounding the epi centers were hit by a tsunami that existed only in movies.

the actual number of fatalities[ATTACH=full]13804[/ATTACH] will never be known,the waves killed one person in mombasa and 200 in somali.in one instance the force of the tsunami derailed a passenger train drowning over 1500 lives[ATTACH=full]13804[/ATTACH] [ATTACH=full]13808[/ATTACH]

As if that was a child play,the force moved the axis with 17cm,shortened a normal day and permanently changed the map of the world.

Damn!

The Chile’s (Valdivia earthquake) was recorded in 1960. tops the list for strongest earthquakes, With a whopping 9.5 magnitude. The earthquake also caused a large tsunami that damaged the shores of Hawaii, Japan, Australia and New zealand. hii ya 26th/dec/2004 ilikuwa mtoto.

@wonderful wonder so you can post sense too…Nice.

You sure about shorter days?

am very sure wangari mathaais…it was verified by nasa…

the devastation in 1960 was lower than 2004 due to populations.the ere are 1655 known fatalities from the quake

actually the boxing day quake is no. 3 the in magnitude but tops in economic loss,loss of live…worst to it is that it might occur in future

Kwanza watu wanaishi Philippines, Japan and other areas in the far east hawananga bahati.

:oops:

those places are cursed

We might not see it as a bug issue bt when one of them will come knocking… Nairobi italia mbaya. But God forbit. A tremor is damn scary.

More sensible post. Informative too. lakini wasee si huyu jamaa achengwe na osungu? ama ni oswayo

Not this ‘osungu na mpira’ bullshit again!!

There was a time Kenya had seismic movement. Kuna siku all the people working at anniversary towers walikataa kuenda kazi he he. Interesting times

I rem a time i was at a friend’s place around kahawa west cant rem the year well.sema nyumba kuanza kutetemeka.we chuck outside only to realize its the ground that’s shaking.i dont think i have ever felt that scared

The feeling of an earthquake/tremor is very weird - it shakes someone to the core. I encountered a tremor in the 80’s and it shook me in ways I’ve never known again. I shudder (pun intended) at the thought of how a full-fledged quake would feel like!

It has been said here before [Na sijui mnataka kuambiwa mara ngapi] There is no country in the world called Somali. Just Somalia. Somali ni MTU ama WATU. AAAARRRGGGHHHH!!!

clears throat loudly and spits out some thick yellow phlegm