Miracles Happen....

Villagers, Some few years back i was blessed with a baby girl. It brought joy & tears to my heart; Joy because i was now a dad to a little pretty girl and tears coz my little queen was born with myriad of issues, some physical. After some tests, the doctors confirmed that my girl had a rare girls-only genetical condition. We were heart-broken…our young one required specialized attention right from the word go! Some doctors were very encouraging others were not. Infact they were disgustingly disappointing (@Dr. Luther, why are some doctors cold? is it something that is taught at medical school?). One doctor said that my girl will find difficulty in walking, she will be slow in growing up and she will need special care. This ached my heart and i could at times ask God why this had to happen to me but i heard a voice to shut me up asking me whom i wanted the problem turned to.

My little girl stayed in hospital for a month and some procedures were done on her to sustain her young life before she was discharged. This procedure were financially draining since my insurers could hear none of my pleas asking them to foot the bill (they said that the condition with my daughter were congenital and not covered by them. i was pissed off!). I settled the bill and we went home. Villagers, it’s terrible when all ur savings are exhausted and you have a kid who requires your attention and the mother who requires moral support…I was crushing!

My girl grew, slowly as predicted by Dr Luther’s colleagues. At no one point did i loose hope in her…i believed and still believe that one day she will be someone in the society and she will do things that normal kids would do…after four long years, a procedure was done to her to try correct some physical deformation…it was so successful, i was happy (during one of her many clinics, one doctor was very furious why that operation was done…i didn’t care coz this operation would boost her self-esteem…Anyway, i had heard so many naysayers before)

I enrolled her to some baby school and was slow in learning; unlike her age mates who had grown very fast and were now talking fluently…my girl was struggling but this never discouraged us. She is a very jolly girl by the way.

As of today dear Villagers, my girl walks comfortably, can now strike a conversation though with some little difficulties, can recite the alphabet and spell short words, she can recite some short bible verse…this makes me very proud of this fighter…she might be slow but we r surely getting there!

If there are miracles, then, this is surely a miracle to me…

79 Likes

God bless you for your courage, perseverance, hardwork and having faith in your daughter.

i am happy for you my brother and you resilience encourages me.Trust in the Almighty and you will have a story to tell.He never shames. Say hi to your beautiful girl and congrats for standing tall for her and mama.

All the best

Inspiring story right there. Two things:
[ol]
[li]I think there are special schools for children with such conditions. See if you can enroll her. That will make her feel confident since everyone else will be like her. Hakuna unfair competition.[/li][li]Never compare her to other children, eti she is slow, blah blah blah, etc. She is different, unique and gifted in a different way. Things like she can not run as fast as other children her age should never arise.[/li][li]Never treat her in a 'special" or preferential way especially if you have other “normal” children. The disabled physically challenged deserve opportunities, not sympathy. Just ensure you have proper accommodations for her to undertake her tasks as independently as possible. Kama ni kitanda, instead of carrying her to bed, weka steps for her to climb up on her own. [/li][/ol]
All the best.

18 Likes

Keep on keeping on.
Dont loose hope one day you will look back and smile at how far she has come.
Morale buda boss.

Boss Kudos

You are her world and the reason she is becoming such a fighter. Don’t you ever give up on her.

Be strong brother. We share the same story in many ways… GOD cares for all of us

11 Likes

Wow, wewe sasa ndio mwanaume, wishthere was a way to buy you a cold drink but I suspect your daughters’ smile is enough, bless

Unfortunately there are no special schools for kids with her condition…it’s a really rare condition. We have a battery of doctors wherever we go for the clinics coz i think its a rare experience for them.
I will never compare her with other children coz i know she is special in her own special ways…
At times i used to feel disadvantaged when i see guys posting photos of their lovely kids on social media but outgrew that after realizing that’s their blessing and blessings are never equal!

The biggest worry is how the child will be in future. Thoughts of ever leaving the child with other people is very scaring. Nobody and i mean no one can ever give them the care that the parent does

Your child is also VERY lovely in her own ways. Whereas I wouldn’t advise you post her photos on social media, I hope you are not the kind that will avoid going out with her since watu watawaangalia sana.

Amen. God continue blessing you abundantly and strength to look after your baby girl.

You are a good man. I wish you and yours nothing but the best. She will will turn out great

Hold strong brother. all will be well.

L

Lesson 1: Children are really never ours,we are just guardians.God in his wisdom found you the most suited and aptly qualified being to nurture and be the guardian to that beautiful soul.
Lesson 2:All the power and resources to nurture that little soul has been and will be supplied by the unseen hand.

If you believe something on the contrary let me know.

Now, that’s what I’m talking about. I know a talker who is physically handicapped. With the bravado and exuberance he exudes (even in real life), you’d never know. Strong! You are not alone.

Very inspirational. There are some who give up very easily. Your full reward will come once the girl grows up and reaches adult hood.

Very inspirational never loose hope , a few months before I was born my dad was involved in an accident which left him paralyzed and confined to a wheelchair, the docs said he has about 10 yrs to live but 27 years later he is strong and he was still able to provide for us despite his disability aliendelea tu na kazi yake as a civil servant