Mizani ya Mkeka

I was lazing away a hot afternoon supervising duruma locals fencing the mu shaina’s plot when a call came through my phone.

It was a construction materials broker from Mombasani, alerting me to a juicy deal he had.

“Kuna jamaa mswahili yuataka tipper tatu za mchanga wa mjanaheri na analipa 48k cash kwa kila tipper, kama hizo FAW ama Beiben ambazo mwafanya nazo” said the broker.

“Ah hao achana na wao. Ni waswahili. Watasumbua kulipa” I answered.

“Huyu hasumbui. Namjua…” Insisted the broker. “Ama, acha nimpe number yako muongee, uone kama mtakubaliana. Na uniekee elfu mbili kwa kila tipper, poa? Usinibwage mazee, hii dili iko chonjo…”

“Haina nduru. Mpe anipigie, tukiongea ntakujulisha” i answered.

Three minutes later, call comes through. A soft spoken swahili guy blathering on about how he wants the finest quality Mjanaheri riversand for his building project, blah blah blah. I decide to test him.

“Kama wataka tukuletee mchanga, haina shida. Tutaleta. Lakini itabidi utoe deposit. Wengi tushawaletea, baada ya kufika na mchanga Mombasa hata simu hashiki. Nitumie 25k ya diesel na kununua mchanga, alafu Cess nitalipa mimi.” I challenge him, knowing all too well he can’t send me money since he doesn’t know me that well.

“Na nikikutumia pesa leo, huo mchanga utafika lini?” He asks.
“Ata leo leo usiku. Malindi ni hapa tu.” I answer.
“Sawa nitakupigia” muswahili says.
“Poa” I answer.

In my head, I know i have dismissed a joker pretending to be a client.
One minute later, a text comes to my phone.
The type text that makes all Kenyans happy.

LXYGHUB Confirmed. You have received Kshs 25,250 from Ismail Abdalla 072*******…New MPESA balance is 25,253.80.

Haiya! Mu swahili was serious!

Now, from my previous narration, you all know that my mu shaina boss had left that camp in my hands, having run off to “safe zones” . That means all truck keys/ equipment were in my command.

In that compound being fenced, was a materials storage yard, in which had abundant amounts of Malindi riversand. I toyed with the idea of purloining that riversand, but elected against it since it would have raised alot of eyebrows. And in particular, a dim eyed guard who was over zealous in protecting chinese’s property to make a name for hisself.

The only solution was to assign a tipper to do that job. I decided on a shiny eye Amerucan who drove a FAW J5-380.

"Vaite, kuna order, ya kupeleka mchanga Mombasa na 30k. Si tuchangamke? I lied to him. “Na Inabakisha hesabu nzuri. Mafuta nitakujazia hapa. Tutaenda na iyo FAW yako. Na mchina hata jua, waona hayuko area. Hii ni yangu na wewe”

Vaite, always eager to make a crooked coin, eagerly agreed. Wah! A clean 16k per trip! (2k za yule broker Mombassa, 30k vaite, total 48k.)I filled the tipper’s diesel tank full with the chinaman’s diesel and lied to the dim eyed guard that we were going to fetch some waste pipes that had been left unguarded in Mariakani, and it would take time, so awachilie FAW ya vaite itoke. Guard did so, and off we went. It was around 3pm.
[ATTACH=full]134364[/ATTACH]

Taru-Mazeras-Kaloleni-Mavueni-Kilifi-Malindi journey was un eventful. We got to Malindi, picked the sand shamba owner at Sabaki Bridge, went with him to his sand shamba and his boys started loading the Mjanaheri sand onto the tipper.
[ATTACH=full]134368[/ATTACH]

By the time they were finishing loading, it was 10pm. Got back on the B8 heading for Mombasa.

Just past Gede, i started feeling sleepy. I adjusted the seat and started snoozing, as I was weary from being undecided on whether to use this (16k) x3 on upgrading my jalopy’s tyres to 14 with broad rims from the ugly 13 steel rims, or to complete the lintel beams on my pigsty pale 001.

I decided to sleep a bit, before getting to Mombasa.

I called the mu swahili client Ismail, and told him to expect his sand in the next 2 hours. He said ok, as soon as we get to Msa, I call him he gives us directions on where to find him.

Now, us muguu kumi operators, when hauling materials to Mombasa from the North Coast…usually don’t pass through Mtwapa. Weighbridge issues. You can’t pass the Mtwapa weighbridge with a mguu kumi tipper weighing more than 28 tonnes.
We overload and we love it.

Past Kilifi, there’s a junction called Mavueni. This is the route we follow…leads to a newly-done road to Kaloleni, then after that ARM cement factory, we go up that Mwakirunge rough road to Nguu tatu- Mshomoroni and enter Mombasa. This route is preferred because it has no cess, no weighbridge, and no likes of @pamba

Now, The Kilifi County Cess weigh-bridge had indicated that we were laden 40 tonnes gross, thats 14 tonnes overload. Allowed tonnage for all muguu kumi’s on Kenyan roads is usually 26 tonnes gross. We had also heard that “watu wa mkeka wako area” in Malindi, but this deal being quite good, we didn’t pay attention to that.

Just past Mnarani, after crossing Kilifi Bridge, kausingizi kangu kameshika proper, I heard the vaite driver exclaim loudly “kaaaang’uura!!”

I woke up, startled.

“Aye, murume, What is?” I asked.

" Mugeka acio!! Pikafu iria KBN!! Kang’ura!! Aria haria thuutha maragaruruka mattu fuate!!" He said, indicating at the side mirror.

Now, KeNHA contracts SGS to check HCVs using the roads that aren’t manned by a stationary weighbridge like Mariakani & Mtwapa.
For this, SGS uses mobile weighbridge check units that patrols the major roads all around Kenya, commonly known as mizani ya mkeka.
Those mobile weighbridges look like those swahili papyrus mat popular in Coast, hence the nickname mkeka. In Mombasa, those buggers roam around in two pickups:- KBU and KBN hilux. They are second in line in list of mguu kumi operators’ enemies, after NTSA.

I peered out through my window, and true t to his words, a white Hilux pick up ( double cabin) was hot on our heels, flashing headlights in a manner indicating for us to stop.

“Turugame, kana atia?” Asks vaite.

“Kai wiina goma!?” I retort. “Gari ya mu shaina twanyitwo nayo tukuga tuku giriite kii guku todu uyu wiira ti wa mu shaina? Raga gari murume, nikii wee!!” I instruct.

Wacha vaite akanyage FAW. That truck was driven. Mavueni junction leaving the Msa-Mld highway i can swear i saw that truck drift. Its a 90 degree turn…and all this in high gears, kinembe haikupewa low ata one single time.

The chase went on…KBN Hilux hot behind us. Anytime they would try to overtake us, vaite would swerve the tipper to their side , scaring them well off the road. We had to pull a decider move to lose them once and for all.
We had already stroked their wrath by threatening to ram into their Hilux with this tipper in those swerving blockade maneuvers, so in event they caught us, dialogue and civility would take a backseat.
These buggers were pissed. They would have given us a beating of a lifetime. Or worse.
Mark you, these are SGS staff and two Kenya policemen. Utumishi kwa wote.

Part 2 coming up…

Swafi sana.ikwom very fast.

Safi. Lakini hii maneno ya episodes ikome. Alafu tuseme ulikuwa na 3.80 pekee kwa simu ?

Hehe, nice hekaya. Once you decided to rave ahead instead of stopping, you had crossed the point of no return. Lete part 2 haraka

Si you just translate what you’re writing you jackass? Kwani we’re all Meru’s?

Good story but lack of communication there.

Kanguraa!!
Hehehe.
Roho yangu ya dunda at 180kms/h
Ferk ntsa, ferk mkeka.
Sifungui chupa ingine mpaka nisome Pt 2

Jifundishe lugha ya barabara

Nangoja part 2 man

Maliza buana

malisia wananchi hekaya puanaa vile lorry ili outpace double cab with armed policemen

Maliza hekaya mzae

Kang’ura tipper itahepa hilux murume?

@Vin Diesel98 , waiting for part two eargerly.

@amun come read this ASAP. :slight_smile:

Kuna siku nimeamua niuze mchanga nairobi na tipper, nikafumaniwa pale Mbagathi na mkeka.
kaaang’uraaa!!!
Ati bribe wanaitisha 100k. Uzuri nikajuana na mmoja wao akakata to 20k.
Nilitoa jasho jembamba, nikahamisha biashara mashinani nax Vegas. But wametufuata huku tena.
Ukiskia ni mkeka weka gari kando, tafuta hoteli, kunywa chai, Anza masimu hadi Waende! Not a joke

hii ni kama movie… nice hekaya na hata sketch umeweka. part 2 angusha fasta bana

Vaite continued to blockade them, looking for a good spot to abandon the truck.
Now when these mkeka fuckers are hot on your heels on the highway, you have 3 options.

1. Stop as they want and let them weigh your truck, then when found with excess tonnage, mkubaliane their mlungula or they haul your ass to court. This is for sissies, vaite pan tambua. Siezi bembeleza ndume.

2. Ram the truck into a ditch and make it spill the load. Angusha gari…This is technically manufacturing an accident to obliterate evidence, as they (mkeka); once a vehicle they were chasing is involved in an accident resulting from the chase, don’t stick around to be noticed.
    Even that media headline would be a nightmare…“Police and Weighbridge Officials Chase an Overloaded truck, Causes Accident, Kills 2”
    Bad media publicity.

3. This is the noblest of driver traditions. You claw away the insurance sticker, kusanya all evidence that can point to you or the truck owner, including number plates (now you know why many tipper trucks in 254 usually have the number plates displayed in the dashboard) , find a nice spot that you can melt away into, (someplace with dense thickets or dense populations) put the truck in a high gear, slow it down s.t its safe for you to jump, and run like hell. Those mkeka fuckers give chase on foot, but give up easy. Without number plates/insurance sticker/ inspection sticker to confiscate, they just leave the tipper there. So you change shirts and double back to where you left the truck, and after they leave, you drive off with your overloaded truck.

Vaite , as per my instructions, opted for option 3.

We got to Dzitsoni junction, a small junction town with a dirt road leading to Jaribuni quarries. This road; we knew it really well, as Vaite and I had previously worked for another chinese that had a quarry in this area.
Vaite steered the tipper truck into the dirt road, as did the Hilux, still pursuing. This continued for about 5 minutes, covering about 4 kilometres.
As Vaite was maneuvering the tipper, I was playing clean up. I took the front number plates from the dashboard display and the rear plates from the fusebox console, and tucked them inside my shirt. The insurance and inspection stickers, i peeled them from the windshield nikazisunda mfukoni.

We knew that we were soon to run out of road. This dirt road ended up at a small settlement called Beria, where there was a Kilifi county cess weighbridge. There were some monster bumps on this road that we rode on effortlessly with this FAW, we thought would deter the hilux to give us ample time to effect a getaway. Wapi. Mkeka were on overdrive, disregarding their hilux pickup’s health and hitting the bumps flying as we were. Guys were determined.

As we approached Beria ka town, Vaite approached the last bump unusually slow.
“Haya, ura!!” (Haya, run!!) He said, halfway out of the truck’s driver’s seat.

Shyeet. Abandon truck.

I yanked the door open lever and pushed on the door with my shoulder and jumped from the moving truck. Upon landing, i saw vaite had already jumped from his seating position, crossed the road in front of the truck and made way into the thickets adjacent to the road. I broke into a sprint into the same thickets, just as I saw the hilux screech stopping right behind us, doors flinging wide open.

" shika hao!!" Rang a voice from the hilux.

That must be @pamba , I imagined.

I heard heavy footsteps running behind me.
I ran like i had never run before. Mark you I weigh 100kgs, and 20 seconds into my sprint, i spotted vaite, hehe , running in a zigzag pattern, using the huge thickets for cover. " Kwani this guy has commando training? "I thought as I caught up with him and overtook him.
I ran for like 20 more seconds, then I tripped on a tree stump and fell face first in a thud. While on the ground, I rolled and hid in a dense thicket and kept dead still. Vaite caught up with me and jumped into an adjacent dense thicket and kept dead still, waiting for the mkeka fuckers giving chase.

10 minutes, No footsteps approaching. 20 minutes, nothing. At this point, i realized there’s nothing as difficult as suppressing a pant, or panting silently.

"Ni urona ta mathie?( do you think they have left?) " I whispered to vaite.

“Shhh kira! Dukarie. Noo makorwo mee hakuhi.” (Shh!! Keep quiet! Don’t talk. They might be nearby.) He answered.

Kept still. 20 more minutes. 30 minutes…still in the bush.

“Ah, nie nidathie ku rora kana mari oo hoo” (ah, I’m going to check if they’re still there) told vaite. Gugukia tuikariite oo haha? (Kwani day will break as we’re still hiding here?)

“Wee thie, wakora matire ho, hurira thimu.” (You go, when you find them gone, call me I come) vaite answered, with a tinge of cowardice.

I crept silently, slowly towards the road. As I neared the road, i heard voices. I made out the silhouette of the tipper truck, and some human figures around it. As I approached, i could make out what they were saying. They were speaking in the local Kauma dialect. (Dzitsoni-Jaribuni is mostly occupied by Mijikenda, specifically Kauma).

I could also hear a continuos hissing sound, I couldn’t quite place…i thought it was the pressure lines on the tipper.

Still crouched in the thicket, I listened in on their conversation…i managed to gather that they were not the mkeka guys, (They chattered in their language very informally, with an occasional burst of stupid laughs. That wasn’t consistent with pissed, pot bellied cops and murderous SGS officials who hadn’t caught their quarry)

They also seemed to be waiting for somebody, going by one who was constantly making a phone call.

“Dzingonzera tsana bee. Gwira mitsungi tsita ya mafuha udze nadzo na bodaboda baaye” he hollered on the phone.

Having stayed here a while, i can loosely translate what he said to (hatutangoja sana bro. Chukua mitungi sita ya mafuta uje nayo kwa bodaboda nawe)

I was weighing options whether to show myself to them or not when i heard the motorbike approach. One of the Kauma locals, the most vocal of them all, spoke to the motorbike guy in swahili. The boda had a passenger who spoke with a heavy Meru accent, and they had those 20 liter jerricans strapped on the motorbike.

From their ensuing discourse, i gathered that the locals, upon learning of the abandoned tipper, made the best of the situation- stealing the diesel in the tank. That’s what the boda guy had come for, he must have been those highway diesel thieves. @Meria Mata knows.

It was at this moment that Vaite, the tipper driver, overcame his cowardice and decided come nearer and know whats happening. He crept up behind me. I explained to him the development, in whispers. The Kauma locals had already offloaded the jerricans from the motorbike and were busy siphoning the fuel from the FAW tank.

After filling up six jerricans, they loaded them onto the motorbike and the bike sped off, leaving them there. I could hear Vaite(driver) gnashing his teeth, cursing them to the last bone. How can they steal our diesel na vile tumehangaishwa.
At the same time, we didn’t want to crash their diesel-pilfering party since there was about seven of them with homeground advantage and only two of us. The odds were grossly stacked against us. It was approaching morning.

Suddenly, Vaite’s phone rang. This mumeru had one of those those chingly chingly chinese phone that when ringing, made noise from here to Timbuktu. The Kaumas heard the racket in the bushes and thought to investigate. It was then that we presented ourselves, there was no point in hiding. These weren’t frendlies, but atleast weren’t as hostile as the mkeka guys.

“Oya, vipi mabraza…inakuwaje. Hiyo pickup ya mkeka ishasepa? Wametuhangaisha kweli wallahi” I started.

They all kept silent. “Hawa jamaa wa mkeka, dah si wazuri. Wantutoa mbio kutoka Mnarani mpaka hapa, si ndo tuko na hii lori…” I continued, as I removed the number plates from under my t-shirt.

“Kwa hivo nyi ndo mko na hii tipper?” Asked the most vocal Kauma, looking at the number plates. " si tulikuwa na matanga mji wa pili, twashangaa twaskia kelele kelele, tukaja tukawapata hao jamaa wa hiyo pick up ya white wakilipiga hili lori pekshen. Wakatuuliza kaa twalijuwa, tukasema hatulijuwi. Walkuwa wankasirika kweli. Wanasema mlikuwa mwataka kuwaua eti haha…" He continued.

“Walipomaliza kupiga pekshen, ilikaa kama hawakupata walilokuwa wakitafuta. Mmoja wao akawa ankasirika kweli. Wakaamua waondoke. Basi wakaregea kwa hilo gari lao, iyo pickup. Kabla halijaondoka, mmoja wa hao ma mwera akatoka na zile spikes za roadblock akadunga miguu ya mbele na nyuma…” He told us.

Part 3 coming up.

Atì ka-what?
Vitu za wizi sio poa lakini

Hii ni movie, complete with subtitles.
Pole sana bro.
Episode 3 ije,
@muria.mboco pitia hapa

Mombasa-Malindi highway is a very narrow road. Pickup was behind, sisi mbele. Wakijaribu ku overtake tipper, the driver swerves and blocks them.
Tuliwatushia pia kidogo,
Vaite akawaachia barabara kidogo…as the pickup was accelerating to overtake the tipper, ilpofika halfway kwa tipper around tank ya mafuta, Vaite swerved sharply to the right. The pickup driver swerved too to the right and offroaded into a ditch…i think we even scratched the pickup with the tipper’s rear tyres.
I was following this melee from the driver’s side-mirror…i think this is what pissed them off big time. They got back on the road in no time, now really pissed.

Will give a hekaya of how I once outran the SGR Miritini Sec 1 LandCruiser pickup with a Shacman truck.
GKB 959H I think…haha. Hekaya for another day

Pole muthee.