MMNN: BRT is Here

Isuzu launches High-capacity buses for the planned bus rapid transit system (BRT) in Nairobi. The buses will ferry between 62 and 100 passengers at a speed limit of 60kph.
[ATTACH=full]201334[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201335[/ATTACH]

mungu ni mwema

Zinaanza lini to be specific

Andika mimi kwa mmn ama sina content?

tuma msg kwa handle yangu telekram
@MeriaMata
nayua content yako iko juu

Hii ni Isuzu gani? MV123?

Done it

i think UK will launch the service when he comes back from the US, swali ni? why were they allocated the innermost lane on the highway?
naomba jibu please

Saw this in Kigali. Very effective.

Had rumours zitakuwa zinaoperate direct from estates to town lkn saa hio ni rumour ukweli cjui …

ile najua ni from Githurai to KNH,
@Okwonkwo leta ile schedule yako tuone the other routes

I won’t believe it till I see them on the roads.
This Gathecha government is only good at making promises.He was supposed to announce lower electricity rates for domestic consumers I don’t know what he’s waiting for.

Very true, i will also believe after seeing them. On electricity, i gave up. Sasa napambana na hali yangu.

Ngoja, mutaona ujinga wa watu wa matatu, they will mess up this great idea.

schedule hii hapa
Nairobi’s new Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) system will have five interconnected lines and will be named after Kenya’s Big Five animals; [I]Ndovu/I, Simba (Lion), Chui (Leopard), Kifaru (Rhino) and Nyati (Buffalo).

The lines are geared to ease traffic in Nairobi and will be used to ferry commuters to all key city suburbs.

Ndovu line will serve commuters travelling from Kangemi to Imara Daima.

Simba Line will reign commuters from the Bomas Interchange near the Bomas of Kenya to Ruiru town, passing through the city.

Chui Line commuters will ride one swift bus from Njiru area in Embakasi to Jamhuri Showground.

Kifaru Line will ferry commuters from Eastlands. The line will run from Mama Lucy Hospital to T-Mall via the Central Business District.

Nyati Line, the shortest of the five lines, will connect Balozi Estate near GSU headquarters to Imara Daima using Outering Road.

The new system will hopefully provide relief to Nairobi residents, who for years have endured heavy traffic jams.

[ATTACH=full]201348[/ATTACH]
[ATTACH=full]201349[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201350[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]201351[/ATTACH]

BRT will not work in Kenya. Its expensive to implement and police. Imagine giving away one lane each side all over Nairobi for this buses. Will Kenya motorists accept to stay in the jam with a unused BRT lane just next there. Bodas and Matatus will be there 24/7 overwhelming policing. BRT lanes is basically reducing all roads to single carriage for a few buses. If we are to build new BRT lanes across the city the price will be $ billions. However BRT the world over has proven only to be effective at peak times during rush hours. The wise decision is to force matatus to improve capacity by replacing their current matatus and buses for this BRT buses. We can start with Buses entering CBD, stop licensing new matatus to make sure any new unit has to be this BRT buses. Force the matatu sector to reform to BRT format without dedicated lanes unless its the new road with a provision for the same. Another experience with BRT in cape town is that the rest of the day its carrying less than 10% of capacity. Instead of wasting time and money on another road transport network, let’s build the tried, proven and effective commuter train service. Those BRT lanes should be commuter trains. Commuter trains have proved the world over to be the best mass transport system of any city they exist on. Let’s await Nov-Dec for the commuter train service tender award on PPP. JKIA- Rironi, Ngong Road, Outer ring road, Thika road. Already the tender to convert Kenya Railways yard in Town to Nairobi Railway City project is out. Convention of the current station to be a commuter train service HQ terminal station, commercial skyscraper offices, link roads between Mombasa road - industrial area without joining Haile Selassie road, industrial land and refurbishment of Railway museum.
[ATTACH=full]201370[/ATTACH]

I thought chassis za lori tulisema ni never!

nani amesema ni za lori?

Question: who will operate them? Hope not Govt or some parastatal.