MMNN

Teren teren:
Tullow stops water supply for Turkana communities after locals disrupt oil transportation

Following.

Ok it’s official. The curse of oil is firming it’s grip. Someone needs to intervene before it’s late and out of control.
Either dialogue or beat the crap out of these guys but remember they have guns like sticks.

Forrowing

Four low wing for kerang…

The only outcome of having oil in most regions in Africa is chaos. Things are still okey in Turkana and they will get worse!

For one, It is very important that when the government making these oil agreements, that they directly engage the locals themselves and not necessarily representatives. Representatives are just in it to gain. And even if the locals are guaranteed 5%, it should have stated exactly how that 5% will be distributed. Eg to pay tuition for locals anywhere in the country , world, free food, free monthly stipend, etc. All agreements between Tullow and the locals should be sanctioned by the Central Government, not county. That last agreement needs to be revisited.

Do you mean they can outdo the government ??. Its very simple ,the gover will send spys (CID) to pin point the ring leaders. The’ll will start disappear one by one. Wananchini wataogopa nawatulie

I am sure there will still be chaos even when the government directly deposit money into these guys accounts. It will take a single politician to incite people and everything tip over. The only way out is to ensure you do the right thing for Turkana people and ‘work closely’ with their leaders. I don’t know the best way it can be done but am sure good schools, water for irrigation, electricity, houses, healthcare, roads, among others will help those guys!

Upuss. What endgame does Tullow have in case of a standoff? For how long can they hold before they blink? For them time is of essence while the locals have a lifetime to wait.

Exactly. Tullow buys them pick up trucks and hires the same from the locals deducting the repayments lakini bado here we are.

Agreements are with the central govt with county reps, remember this is a natural resource under the central govt. The minister in charge is a local. There is no sure bet here. As long as a leader feels left out of the gravy train he will cause chaos. Remember the current chaos was caused by an MP even when the governor and the minister, a local side with the central govt.

guns don’t matter, bullets do. usiwachoche hawa watu hutandikwa na pokot kama Burukenge. Wakiendelea kusumbua Uhuru anafaa aambie lonyangapuo Fanya clearance kiasi,apate plausible deniability. plus the terrain is unforgiving, remember every Jan we do Kenyans for kenya for them, we should give pause next time. this is not the Niger delta.
on a more serious note, the turkana need to end this dangerous precedent of mixing issues,it just makes it harder to resolve. if it is an issue of security, it should be resolved separately not mixed with others, otherwise the people of Nakuru will stop geothermal projects,Muranga water collector project, marsabit wind project, Mt kenya catchment area walipwe maji, same with cherangani hillsand may escarpments. it would be chaos all over.

A lifetime of poverty in a backwater nobody cares about apart from oil? The Turkana have been given a once in a lifetime opportunity,they are doing their level best to screw it up.Tullow can delay FID as a result of security, the Turkana will be begging for food aid next January, they should not act like they have nothing to lose ,they have skin in the game.

They have lived like that forever they can add another forever. Their timeline is different from that of Tullow.

Ring leaders wanapiga simu wakiwa hapa Nairobi

This oil exploration should just stop for good. I don’t see a rosy future with it. And with guns available in that region, the future of oil looks bleak.

agreed but someone needs to show leadership somewhere. Moi wouldn’t have tolerated this nonsense

i warned this sometime last year. Iv lived with these Turkana . you will wish you better deal with pokots 100 times. these guys don’t reason . violence is the only way to solve issues . wako hivyo and it has always been that way

sasa serikali ni nani? Governor wa Turkana ni serikali, Senator ni serikali, all MPs and MCAs ni serikali, the local administrators their ni serikali pia… and if the Govt sends mediators or negotiators, kwani hao mediators watakutana na every resident of Turkana to hear their views? Let’s be realistic, their grievances can be channelled through the elected representatives they have now… otherwise why do we elect representatives anyway?