Mobile Gas: A New Gas Delivery Service To Your Location

Filling up your car can be a hassle, especially when there are lines at the gas station. It also costs too much because part of it is covering real estate costs.
A startup called Booster thinks it has a solution for this and is partnering with major employers to send its gas trucks to office parking lots. The company says it can save you time by filling your tank while you’re at work and that it will also charge you less, often about ten cents per gallon cheaper.
Booster is “reinventing the concept and habit of getting gas for the 21st century,” CEO Frank Mycroft told TechCrunch. Going to the gas station is the “least fun thing in the week.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPaFsRMrWyg

Now Booster has raised a $20 million Series B, led by Conversion Capital. Existing investors Maveron, Madrona Venture Group, and RRE Ventures were among the other investors participating in the round. The startup has raised $32 million to date.
Mycroft says Booster has secured partnerships with Cisco, Oracle and Facebook to offer gas to its employees. But the companies don’t actually have to pay Booster anything. The startup gets its revenue from the employees directly.
Customers sign up for Booster via its app and schedule a fill-up. They just have to leave the gas cap open and when they return from work, they should be good to go.

USA, not Nairobi.

It actually sounds like something someone should have thought of a looooooooong time ago. Nearly everything is delivered to homes, the same should apply to fuel.

It is a smart idea until they start getting used as fire bombs or one rolls over and drenches an entire office block in highly flammable fluids.

Or adulteration goes a notch higher

A litre of fuel has a margin of 3 to 5 shillings. For this business model to work in Kenya, you would need to have a large number of vehicles parked in one location. We have very few large scale parking spaces.

Lakini if I had a contract with large consumers like akina @Meria Mata I would consider this idea.

To elaborate on my thinking above, my ‘guzzler’ has a 70 litre tank. Supposing I bought 60 litres of petrol, my fuel station gets a profit between 180 and the 300 shillings. Can you justify doing hii Uber ya fuel using margins. How do you even control quality?

Hii tulijaribu na matatus huko 1990s but never picked up.

Doesn’t it have that margin because of all the petrol station expenses? Maybe delivery changes the unit economics

The market size of mobile gasoline is very small. The only people who need diesel or petrol delivered to them are those with stalled vehicles or with heavy immobile machinery (diesel). Anyone else will prefer a gas station because it is cheaper. I have never needed fuel delivered to me in my years of vehicle ownership.

Pale majengo mombasa unapeleka mtungi yako unajaziwa na unarudi nayo home, hapana maneno ya kubadilisha mtungi