Mobius gets Sh500m US loan to build plant.

Kenyan vehicle manufacturer Mobius has received a Sh500 million ($5 million) loan from the US government’s development finance institution Overseas Private Investment Corporation (Opic) to set up a new factory.
Mobius Kenya said the Nairobi factory, to be unveiled mid this year, will be equipped with new technology that enables end-to-end production capabilities that include fabrication of the vehicle frame, anti-corrosion treatment, general assembly, painting and final inspection and quality testing.
It will also include a research and development arm. Mobius plans to churn out an additional 1,900 vehicles by 2019. It has to date manufactured and sold 50 units, all produced at Thika-based motor vehicle assembler Kenya Vehicle Manufacturer.
“We believe that the growth of manufacturing will be a vital part of Kenya’s industrialisation story over the next decade and beyond, and Mobius will play a key role in realising this vision,” said Mobius Motors, chief executive office, Joel Jackson.
READ: Vehicle assemblers get tax reprieve as law takes effect
ALSO READ : Mobius in talks for supply of new car model to State
Production capacity
“With our first generation model, we proved that a car can be designed, developed, and built here. As we prepare to launch our new Mobius II model, the stage in our evolution is to establish our own production capacity,” said Mr Jackson.
The Opic loan is part of a Sh1.1 billion ($11 million) financing the firm received from investors who include New York-based PanAfrican Investment Co.
The firm received its first Mobius II pre-order in August 2016 after the first generation model sold out. The new vehicle is priced at Sh1.58 million.
The new vehicle has advanced features including power steering, sealed side windows and lockable doors.
The original model was stripped of extras such as power steering and internal fixtures and the new version is looking to woo a wider clientele base with the improved features.
“Mobius has developed an innovative solution to the shortage of affordable transportation in Africa, which is one of the biggest hurdles to economic growth,” said Ray Washburne, Opic president and CEO.

https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/corporate/companies/Mobius-gets-Sh500m-US-loan-to-build-plant/4003102-4523874-gqf8sk/index.html

Mobius One sold only 50? And they say it was sold out? @spear ni hivo?

Way to go. I looking at this in the next 20 years or so to come.
I remember the first Hyundai that were produced, those cars were crap.
Years down the line kuna Hyundai Genesis. Kitu ya maana.

[ATTACH=full]167924[/ATTACH]

Yes, that’s true. A debut car for any manufacturer can be very low. Its testing the market, pushing the brand out there and just recovering the investment costs. This second issue is to rectify mistakes of the first issue and give a better product. They may make 100 units only. Hivyo hivyo until version 10 then it will sell itself before its built.

https://www.subaru-global.com/ourstory/heritage.html

[ATTACH=full]167951[/ATTACH]

Subaru them days.

Lol in 1959 you could get self levelling suspension on a Citroen DS.
In 1969 Peugeot had a monocoque chasis.
In 2018 Mobius doesn’t even offer windows (dafuq?)…has a shitty Renault sourced engine & metal tubes for a frame??
Mobius has a very loooong way to go.

Have you seen Mobius 2

[ATTACH=full]167980[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]167981[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]167982[/ATTACH]

Yes i have seen the 2D render images. Leta picha/video ya ACTUAL Mk II MOBIUS !!

Lol anybody with little photoshop/design knowledge can render pics against an “african bush” background then superimpose a “kenyan number plate” :D… Spear you are better than this hahahaha

Sawa, this is not a debate umeshinda kama hiyo tu ndio ulitaka kusikia.

If its Photoshop then funny its from Möbius official site. So I wonder why do they need to do that.

https://mobiusmotors.com/products/mobius-ii
[ATTACH=full]167989[/ATTACH]

Then people are already pre-ordering them.
[ATTACH=full]167991[/ATTACH]

Some have already paid so production has started.
[ATTACH=full]167993[/ATTACH]

Anyway what do they know.

I believe peugeot relaesed their first car in 1889, why are you comparing the first model of mobius to a peugeot model released in 1969, approximately 80 years later please enlighten me

The technology available in 2018 but Mobius is using 1889 technology. Get proper parts from reliable & well established manufacurers (after sales/spares support ni muhimu).
Chinese trucks come with a mish-mash of scania/cummins engines, lipe-Setco clutches, asimco/brembo brakes then they only make a body & slap a few badges.

anyone can put anything on a website. In this digital age, it is cheap to create a sense that you are doing well by putting up a few shiny rendered images on their website. Let them build just one Series II tuone it is possible & support their cause.
Yaani even the Series I did not have power steering ? How difficult is it to fit a power steering pump & do the necessary plumbing ?

Anyway time will tell.