MOMBASANI

WE WILL CHALLENGE THIS IN COURT - YOU WON’T BE DOING 2017 CAMPAIGN IN FORM OF USELESS LAWS - CONSTITUTION HAS TO BE RESPECTED. UPUZI PELEKENI MUKIWA KWA NYUMBA ZENU…
Joho’s portrait to be displayed in business premises in Mombasa
The Mombasa county assembly on Wednesday passed a motion to have all business premises and county offices display Governor Hassan Joho’s portrait just like President Uhuru Kenyatta.
The motion was sponsored by Mjambere ward MCA Khamis Mwabashiri and seconded by Mtongwe’s Hamis Mwidani. Deputy speaker Rashid Mswabaha chaired the session. Out of the about 14 MCAs present, only Kongowea’s Jabess Oduor and Port Reitz’ Fadhili Makarani opposed it. Leader of Majority Abdallah Kasagamba said the motion is meant to bring unity and patriotism to the Mombasa people.
“We had it thought out as a symbol of unity and patriotism to the county government,” Kasagamba told the Star on the phone on Thursday. Kasagamba said they do not anticipate any legal issues or friction with the national government. Lawyer Yusuf Abubakar said such legislation has no foundation on the constitution. “It is unnecessary, a burden to the business people and will only cause friction with the national government,” Abubakar said.
Kasagamba said the rule is meant to help residents respect the office of the governor as an institution and not as an individual. Speaker Thadius Rajwayi said he was away when the motion was passed but a bill should be prepared if the motion is to become law. He however said such motions or bills should be anchored on institutions and not individuals. “I am yet to read the content of the motion but from what I get the guy was trying to say that the office of the governor and not the governor should be represented,” said Rajwayi on phone.

What does the constitution say about this?

afadhali nyinyi, in north Korea you bow before the President’s billboard

Hahahaha

katiba tulisomewa na tukakubali, i remember your pic of your little finger in klost after kula ya maoni

Nothing… imagine even hanging of presidential portrait is not anchored on any law!

A backlash of the colonial Mentality that is embeded on the “Mwafrika” in the name of replacing the Mzungu as a centre stage for all that power and priviledge represented.
And while talking about this;what are those Askaris still doing standing idle behind African Presidents sometimes for hours on end doing nothing apart from wearing a sura ya kazi look and all dressed up?
If only the same resources would be channelled towards making a City Council seal of approval that showed that the business premises had complied with all matters of Health and Safety as stipulated by the County government.Ama something to do with maintaining good drainage infrastructure…#We are our own worst enemies.

sasa ata ya president will need to go with this. I remember in primary school someone broke moi’s picture frame, akachapwa kama mwizi na mwalimu

ya baba tunaweka pia western na nyanza

Upuzi. As @Ka-Buda says, ni colonial mentality tu. Those pictures do not add value to any person’s business.