moringa and pumpkin seeds

the internet is all praise to these. are there any real documented benefits of taking these moringa and pumpkin seeds?

Theyre touted as super foods, lakini ni watu wa quail eggs business ndio wame evolve. There is a DW documentary called Super Foods, quite informative.

Pumpkin seeds have zinc, moringa leaves have several minerals but it hurts the stomach when eaten raw.

i guess thats why the food and health industry is making a killing from un suspecting uninformed public.

Ni marketing gimmick, huyo anasema pumpkin ina zinc ni kiasi gani? Hizi ni zile lazima ukule shamba mzima ndio upate nutrients za maana

Pumpkin seeds

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DBs9AC7k8Q

Morninga

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cY02mOoie0

Oregano

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muLmN9QE6hw

Finally Tumeric

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RCB3RCEDC6Q

This super food hype is sadly pushed by people in the health sector like this Amerix guy on Twitter who is always babbling tired cliches on dieting and nutrition. What is so wrong about eating local and seasonal foods as a source of starch an protein? Juzi he was telling people to consume potatoes instead of maize and wheat derivatives.

Africans don’t understand how blessed we are in terms of healthy food and fresh fruits and all manners of green vegetables. You really don’t need supplements and herbal stuff!! everything is available.

An Australian guy who lives in Kenya was saying how shocked he was on hearing government officials and governors telling people in central to plant avocados for export. He could not understand why we would want to turn such a nutritious plant into a cash crop. I mean we should be promoting Kenyans to eat avocados before we think of exporting such a fruit. The domestic market is large and profitable enough to give farmers a decent wage.

Brazil made a huge mistake with the Acai berries which was a huge source of vitamin C for the native populations, but once it became a super food, these people can now barely afford that fruit despite the fact it was freely available in the forest for their forefathers. It is actually sad how the super food phenomenon can undermine resilient nutrition programs.

Thing is…the world is now turning to our good tubers, grains, fruits coz they have realised their food is not working. And I believe that our diet has contributed immensely to resistance to the new pandemic. And the weather too.
Now… anywhere I turn I see plantain bananas, sweet potatos, cassava, yams, pawpaw, Jamaican Callaloo and lots of sea food options. All vv healthy stuff.
Kenya also exports a lot of melons, green beans, chilli peppers, corgettes…etc and if you dig deeper the farmers’ kids do not enjoy this food. We as Kenyans should help turn this mindset around. That as we export, we should also consume most of it. We will get there just like how we are there in terms of domestic tourism. Young Kenyans are travelling more and more in our country.

COVID should awaken our people to the joys of farming. Hard work but above all healthy food for all.

I was interested in pumpkin seeds some time back due to their relatively high magnesium content… Opted for magnesium supplements though

I hope so too. I believe a paradigm shift will be necessary to make people shift their attitudes towards locally produced food.

The case against grains
https://www.frontiersin.org/articles/10.3389/fnhum.2016.00130/full

The leaves are the most widely used part of the plant either fresh or dried powder. I have used the leaf powder for myself and others and either completely eliminated or drastically reduced various conditions including allergies, lower back pain, arthritis, diabetes type 2, ulcers, IBS, bloating,skin, alcohol detox et al…

I have also used the moringa root powder for oedema successfully.

The seeds are great and are popularly used to clean and purify water. You crush them and make a paste which you add to river water and stir for a while then leave for about an hour and siphon off the clear water.

They also contain alot of the other benefits in the leaves like antioxidants, fibre, source of iron,skin enhancer.

The seeds make moringa oil through cold pressing.

Pumpkin seeds are widely used for their rich magnesium content.

I agree . I have been thinking about how in kenya or africa at large we are blessed with all these natural foods and i believe they are the only source of nutrition we need, without supplementing. Some characters think eating junk is a sign of kufika and they are actually very proud of it. In the west its the opposite, guys are so used to processed foods that aren’t as nutritious as our foods, so there has been a recent hyping of organic foods, which i understand are quite expensive there, while they are all over our market places and quite cheap. In kenya you’ll find middle class guys on ig flossing with processed and junk foods like kina pizza, burgers etc while in the west its opposite, junk foods are looked down upon while those eating organic get a sense of pride. It is high time africans learn to enjoy our ndumas, ngwacis, veggies, fruits etc

Was also wondering how the pumkin seeds are consumed. Do you eat them kama njugu,boil ,fry ama nini

You are simply being programmed. Learn to eat your own. Kula venye yule babu na shosho wako mwenye alikufa at 105 years alikua anakula. Mzungu guy is programming you to believe what they want you to believe. Jiamini Mkenya, pale kwa soko all these gold food is available at cheap prize. Buy them eat them and forget being programmed that this is now good and that is bad. You know what is bad and good why should somebody force you to think in one direction. Fungua akili and promote local foods by purchasing from mama mbogas and farmers around you. Be blessed Mwafrika