MPESA Confirmation

How do you feel about this practice where if you pay for goods/ services via Lipa na MPESA, the attendant asks you for your phone to confirm? I think it is a bit archaic. I have noted this especially in big restaurants and clubs. When you pay via MPESA, the only way the attendant knows it is truly a legit message is when they see the time and name of the club on your message.

It is not that there is no just way to confirm, it is just that sometimes the attendants are too lazy or overworked to confirm. I have noted that someone can actually take advantage of this process. Say for Instance, you go to a club and pay for your drinks, you now have the name of the club in your MPESA thread. You can then save another number as MPESA and when buying drinks again, you don’t pay but you send yourself a fake MPESA message from the other number with a fake transaction ID. The waiter will just come and see the message and take down the transaction ID and continue serving other patrons as you leave the club.

https://kenyatalk.s3.amazonaws.com/2017/01/142276_3e43aebbe5c60f0d2122ea773a85c422.jpg

[ATTACH=full]78932[/ATTACH]

Us mbirionares can’t relate to such petty peasant tricks

Billionaires don’t fly with Jambojet

That was a test drive/flight to see if he likes how the plane handles

You’re giving some guys here bright ideas.

Unaweza kataa. Hakuna mahali anaweza kukupeleka. In fact, you shouldn’t even show them.

i know now how to do this.hii ni nairobi

Can’t work hiyo jina ya mpesa huwa haina number chini yake ati 25471010101 kama umesave number ati mpesa.

System ya Naivas ndio nimeona sio lazima message irudi.

What if the Mpesa transaction code does not match with that of the attendant and you are discovered?..

This is what I am saying the waiter only checks much later since you’ve shown him/her the message they assume it is legit but in some hotels like Java, they don’t ask you for your phone, they confirm with their own system.

I once asked certain mpesa lady to refund my cash when she insisted on looking at my phone.

kuliendaje?

If you are using an SMS management app like GO SMS you can set it in such a way that it only displays the name but not the number of the recipient.

kivipi?

Kwani hizo simu zenu huwa na nini. Si unamwonyesha tu message sio ati unampatia phone ajitafutie.
But I guess most of you zile vitu huwa mmesave za kusafisha macho can shame even the devil.

I saw a guy at Tuskys akalipa more than he intended to. Alipodai apate refund yake anambiwa ati itachukua three working days.

How true is this for those Refunds? I’ve never used the services.

Safaricom says you shouldn’t show your phone to the attendant but they still ask for your ID and your phone.

I had a similar case though in a different supermarket, i was told to shop for something else of a similar amount or wait for a week! nilichukua caprice

alianza kusema ni rule kwao.