MPs Pass BBI

The National Assembly on Thursday, May 6, passed the BBI Constitutional Amendment Bill 2020 after MPs extensively debated on the document the better part of the day. The motion passed by a simple majority as required for a constitutional amendment bill introduced by a popular initiative.
National Assembly speaker Justin Muturi announced that 235 MPs voted yes while 83 voted no and two abstained. The total number of votes cast was 320. A surprising vote was that of Bahati MP Kimani Ngunjiri who voted for the approval of the amendment.

https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/An%20ongoing%20session%20in%20parliament.jpeg?itok=2oMTmE5N
An ongoing session in parliament

[ATTACH=full]363115[/ATTACH]

The vote by Ngunjiri, a close ally of Deputy President William Ruto, could signal a fallout by some members of the Tangatanga wing of the ruling Jubilee Party.
“I Onesmus Kimani Ngunjiri, MP Bahati, I vote YES,” the MP stated amid cheers and jeers.
Kiharu MP Ndindi Nyoro, also an ally of the DP, stated voted ‘No’, adding that he was doing so to defeat alleged deception and conmanship.
His sentiments seemed to be directed to Ngunjiri for making the surprising twist of events.
The law requires that the bill is passed by both houses of parliament, which mean the Senate will be the new battleground.
If the bill passes in the Senate too, it will be submitted to the IEBC which will craft question and organise the referendum.

[ATTACH=full]363117[/ATTACH]
Kenyans will then go to a plebiscite to either vote yes or no. If they vote yes, then the constitution will have been amended.
Earlier, a section of senators pushed for an amendment of the document to realign it with the constitution.
The debate on the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill, 2020 will take place on May 11 2021 at 10 am when the Senate officially breaks from their recess.

[MEDIA=facebook]id=296762225225118;type=video;user=105983259496[/MEDIA]

Senate itapita pia.

Ishapitishwa hii

Ogopa siasa naniiiii.

[ATTACH=full]363118[/ATTACH]

It goes without saying that Uhuru tolerating Tangatanga

i thought Ruto alisema tyranny yake iko National assembly infact i remember alisema out of 400 MPs 290 huwa wake :D:D:D:D:D. Sugoi thief ni takataka @kalenjinkirdit @Kalenjin101 @sani

mpigs ni vigeugeu, wao hununuliwa na pesa kidogo.

Arror msimamo wake ni imara, ii kenya yeye tu ndiye unaeza tegemea akisema kitu hataruka mwananchi last minute

Mbona mp wa Bahati atusi Uhuru na Mama Ngina kila siku, halafu dakika ya mwisho anasupport BBI? Si hiyo ni kukosa msimamo?

I have to dump this handle because now it is rendered obsolete.

BB will hurt them more than common mwananchi.

There will be too many of them na hakuna mtu atakuwa anakubali kuambiwa kitu na mtu. 5yrs later there will be another shiet that will be proposed.

Do your job, vote NO and leave the rest to God.

Toa fasta fasta. You trusted politicians mouths. They have no stand.

I have never voted in my life but the referendum day I will wake up to vote NO.

Your vote WONT count.

Villagers and slum noogles lazima zipitishe BBI. Your vote is irrelevant.

[MEDIA=twitter]1390557939027652608[/MEDIA]

Yes I know it wont.

BBI chieth si muhimu

All eyes are now on President Uhuru Kenyatta as senators on Tuesday joined their colleagues in the National Assembly in approving the Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

[ATTACH=full]363883[/ATTACH]

The move means that Speakers Justin Muturi (National Assembly) and Kenneth Lusaka (Senate) will submit the Bill to the President for assent as detailed in Article 257 of the Constitution, which details procedures of amending the Constitution through a popular initiative.
Having styled it as his legacy project, the President now holds the key on the date of the referendum.
Article 256 (5) provides that before assenting to the Bill, the President will have to request the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission to conduct a referendum within three months.
The time will start running the moment he receives the Bill and forwards it to the electoral commission.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhwaxwYSE0w:4

Western leaders laud passage of BBI Bill

Moving fast and transmitting the Bill to the commission as soon as he gets it will indicate the President’s support and could determine how soon the country will go to a referendum.
A total of 65 senators voted in all three stages – second reading, amendments stage (Committee of the Whole), and the third reading.
In the second reading, 52 senators voted in support of the Bill while 12 opposed and one - Mary Seneta - abstained in all three stages.
In the final two stages, 51 senators voted for, 11 against.
And for the umpteenth time, Deputy President William Ruto and his Hustler Movement were left leaking their wounds as they fell short of shooting down the Bill, as the umbilical cord of President Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga, proved too strong.

[ATTACH=full]363884[/ATTACH]

[SIZE=6]Tangatanga’s double tragedy[/SIZE]

It was a double tragedy for the Tangatanga senators as they soon found themselves on the back heel after the vote on the second reading.

Soon after the vote, it dawned on them that they had lost one of their own after the Speaker implemented the decision of the Political Parties Tribunal which upheld the expulsion of Nominated senator Isaac Mwaura as a member of Jubilee party.
More on this: Jubilee’s nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura loses seat
Senators Aaron Cheruiyot, Kipchumba Murkopmen, Susan Kihika, Irungu Kangata, Kithure Kindiki, all dyed-in-the-wool supporters of the DP railed at the Speaker, accusing him of taking the decision to remove Mr Mwaura even though the senator had a preexisting court order.
Mr Mwaura had attended the morning session and even voted in support of the Bill during the second reading. But tables were turned when at the resumption of the debate on the Bill during the afternoon session.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEw2QH2LTEA:3

Amos Wako on BBI

Tangatanga Mps raised questions on the validity of his vote because the notice in the Kenya Gazette indicated that the senator ceased being a lawmaker on May 7, four days earlier.
The Ruto group also claimed Mr Mwaura had a preexisting court order which stayed the findings of the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal. which upheld Jubilee’s decision to expel him.
The party, which is divided between the forces that support President Kenyatta and DP Ruto, has accused the senator of violating the party’s constitution and membership oath by describing it as a dead party and shifting loyalty to the United Democratic Alliance.
More on this: Tribunal upholds Isaac Mwaura’s expulsion from Jubilee Party

[SIZE=6]What happened[/SIZE]

Mr Mwaura’s troubles started in December last year, following his remarks against President Kenyatta in Kwale, during Msambweni MP Feisal Bader’s homecoming ceremony.

He was among the other six senators who had been kicked out by the party’s top organ NMC over indiscipline.
He honoured the summons by the party for disciplinary proceedings, which ended with an expulsion recommendation by the National Management Committee (NMC).
The Party’s national chair Nelson Dzuya complained he had the senator had been disloyal after he pledged allegiance United to Democratic Alliance, a party associated with Dr Ruto.’
Tharaka Nithi Senator Kithure Kindiki described the action as a travesty of justice and urged Mr Lusaka to reconsider the move.
Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen accused the Speaker of disregarding a court order and threatening democracy.
“I can confirm that I had not seen or disregarded any court order by the time I came here,” Mr Lusaka said in his defense amid further accusations of acting at the behest of powerful people outside the Senate.
“I will [present] all documents related to the notice in the Kenya Gazette on Tuesday next week.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXsrYVnhyVE:5

BBI Bill: Malala accuses Orengo of double standards

It took the experience of minority leader James Orengo and Bungoma Senator Moses Wetangula to save the Speaker’s blushes.
While defending Mr Mwaura, Mr Orengo reminded the House that the role of the Speaker ended with the publication of the notice in the Kenya Gazette and that he had no powers to overturn the decision.
“Your role has ended and there is nothing else you can do. You can’t recall your decision in this instance,” he said, while advising Mr Mwaura to seek redress at the High Court.

[email protected]

Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria has admitted to receiving a Ksh100,000 bribe adding that he was willing to refund it if given the chance.
Speaking in an interview on BBC, the outspoken legislator stated that together with other MPs, he received a bribe to vote out Garissa Township MP Aden Duale from the Majority leader position.
Following his removal from the powerful post, Duale was replaced by Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya in what was viewed as the Jubilee party purging leaders allied to DP William Ruto from the influential posts.

[ATTACH=full]364111[/ATTACH]

“When the new Majority Leader was appointed because they were not elected. We went to the majority leader’s office and received a $1000 (Ksh100,000) gift,” he disclosed to the international media house.
https://www.kenyans.co.ke/files/styles/article_inner_mobile/public/images/media/Garissa%20Town%20MP%20Aden%20Duale.jpg?itok=FcfgOi3Z
Garissa Town MP Aden Duale.

He further added that it was not unusual for MPs to have their palms greased in order to push the government’s agenda in the House.
Kuria also claimed that the legislators were bribed to pass a constitutional amendment bill known as the BBI.
[ATTACH=full]364112[/ATTACH]

Reacting to his statement, Elgeyo Marakwet MP Kipchumba Murkomen sided with the sentiments adding that bribery was a known practice in the halls of parliament.
“Why is Kuria being asked to substantiate the obvious? The art of feigning ignorance is the most perfected form of hypocrisy in Kenya,” he challenged.
In the interview, Kuria noted that he was willing to refund the money if given the chance adding that he did not know the source of the money.
"I’m not sure if the money belonged to Kenyan taxpayers, but I’ll be refunding the most recent that I can recall to the office of the leader of the majority,” he added.
He claimed that none of his colleagues would come out to admit any wrongdoing over fears of reprisal.
“These things don’t happen on camera, and I don’t expect them to admit it, but they do happen in the majority leader’s office,” Kuria added.