Msando Assassination - CCTV Footage Plus Phone Transcripts Minus Tangible Suspects?

The Msando case is baffling. We know Msando and Ngumbu were intercepted in the CBD. They got separated probably almost immediately to focus on Msando himself. Msando’s vehicle has been captured by the better part of perhaps over an hour worth of CCTV footage in different parts of the CBD. I am sure there are fairly verbose phone transcripts that correspond to the apparent struggle that appeared to be described by CCTV footage of Msando on the phone with some entity or entities. Of course there is ultimately the discovery of two bodies in Muguga Forest Kikuyu area about 400M apart of Msando and Ngumbu. Msando’s Vehicle is found in Roysambu corresponding to the abode of a Msando friend or mistress or whatever from witness accounts. A strong possibility that there was a connection between the person associated with Msando in Roysambu where his car was found, and the killers, to explain the how Msando’s car specifically ended up in that spot to be discovered early Sunday morning.
CCTV Footage Described To The Media:
There were approximately two mutually exclusive accounts broadly speaking, one of which is necessarily false.
Version 1:
This is the two occupant account in Msando’s car leading out of CBD via Uhuru Highway towards Mombasa Road with two occupants; a man and a woman. Ten minutes later Msando’s car is heading back towards CBD with only 1 occupant and caught joining Thika Highway at about 0247. The male occupant is of course Msando or one of the abductors. Neither version makes much sense. If Msando is the driver, what captivity is he in? If the driver is one of the abductors we have to accept the car merely went towards Belle Vue Area on the Mombasa road to drop off the fat lady in the middle of the abduction and that this specific adopter has certainly been to the Roysambu location where he parked the car, for h0w else would he get there absent of Msando?
Version 2:
This version has various sub-varieties but the gist of it is Msando at the wheel along with a fat lady in the front passenger seat with two younger men to the rear. This versi0n captures Msando driving in and out of the CBD as Msando is also busy appearing to be trying to resolve a situation on the phone with difficulty and ultimately Msando’s car disappears on Thika Highway presumably to Roysambu. This second narrative is much more plausible than the first account where there are 0nly two and subsequently only one occupant who proceeded to head to Roysambu to park the car there.
Totality of People and entities:
At minimum there were:
Msando’s Car
Killers Car
Abduction Team. Fat lady is presumptuously part of the abduction group to make any sense.
Msando and Ngumbu of course
From the various tales floating around it would appear that either Msando’s car headed to Thika Highway t0wards
Roysambu with the 4 occupants and supposedly followed to Roysambu by the abductors’ car or cars and off to the killing grounds, or else the transfer happened s0mewhere on Mombasa Road and off to the killing grounds.

Cause Of The Abductions:
There are generally roughly 3 broad possibilities:

1. Politically Motivated.

2. Love Triangle

3. Procurement/Tender/Business style disagreement. Essentially some kind of reap off.

4. Political: This particular motive to me based on the totality of events that transpired I find to be more unlikely. The activities described don’t appear consistent of a political liquidation. I doubt there would have been all that struggle on the phone by Msando etc,besides that I didn’t directly how so much useful it was to any one group . Mr. Msando was a manager and not a technician and the system wasn’t enslaved by Msando’s departures and in fact he was only an ICT Manager in the Interim.

5. Love Triangle:
    Found this to be an infinitesimally possible as for example I seriously doubt the assassination team had even projected Ngumbu and Msando would hang out unless this occurrence was habitual . So I rule that out but especially rule out anything to do with Ngumbu. She appeared more to be pure collateral. Besides that if the grudge was indeed rooted in a love triangle and the ambush had occurred Msando would very quickly have concluded that it is most probable it was the end of him, and we all know just how aggravating this type of thing is for men, and from coverage it appeared to be the case that Msando had ample opportunity to flee, and if his calculation was imminent death, his behavior would have been significantly different and he almost certainly would have sprinted like a madman to save his skin. It appeared more the case that Msando was feverishly working on the assumption that as soon he resolved his issue on the phone he would be okay. If a man has gone to the extent of getting you abducted coz you slept with his woman or whatever you damn sure are more likely than not to wind up in a fatality. So very low probability.

6. Tenders/Businesss/Reap Off:
    To me this is the most likely scenario and is more consistent with somebody trying to fix in the middle of the night. I don’t think you would be scrambling on that phone to try to sway things one way or another politically in such a setting as the abduction in the middle of the night. Political answer is usually getting rubbed out end of story if it gets to abduction stage. This might have been IEBC related or not. The perpetrators appeared to have done timing to stir political conspiracy fever to make it even harder to figure out the truth.
    Now the damning questions:
    With all that CCTV footage and all the phone transcripts that the best they have at this point is no direct suspects? They just released Msando’s ex landlord. It appeared Msando did something to piss him off and he sent a threat with not much further ado. What I am wondering is what they are doing with the footage. Through careful analysis they would have been almost to catch the killers own car from the CCTV footage analysis. Or from shots of some of the people…for example they could have cropped out the face of these parties in the car to protect the rest of the evidence and publish the faces on the media and I am sure at least one of the people caught in the footage would have been identified especially that fat lady.
    I am wondering to who the phone lines that were on the other side of the land with Msando were registered to. I believe its almost impossible to identify the parties that were party to the communication with Msando without soon thereafter flushing out the motive and suspects.
    I would have expected serious difficulties getting the story straight if this was indeed a politically motivated scenario evidence which I simply find scanty…or rather I find difficulty envisioning that political beneficiary scenario as applicable here…If mysteriously there is a good political rationale to it…then it is likely foggy clouds and the likes are and have been in effect…and if you are privy of such we are all ears…
    What is your take? I would be interesting in here other peoples’ insights for those who actually discuss and analyze issues opposed to the many who simply pepper the comment section because they simply must or trying to sound funny like primary kids…minus any insight…

Your reasons for ruling out a political angle to his killing do not convince me. The love triangle angle was immediately introduced after his disappearance which to me was intentionally to distract.

dimz fala

ulizeni Kuria

political move more likely. musando died to make a way

I. T managers for an election entity don’t just die two weeks to election from natural causes without a political motive… Use your medulla bratha

Hi @Mundu Mulosi . The love triangle facade I completely agree with and Ngumbu almost immediately I ruled pure collateral. Roysambu though there is a great significance. There has to be a Nexus between Msando, The Roysambu resident, and the killers for Msando’s car to end up where it did no matter how you look at it, even if that connection is incidental having been established through prior surveillance of Msando.
Political Motivation: My number 1 problem with this proposition is the very manner of execution. If the goal was simply to get Msando out of the way, then what theatrics were those fellas engaging in and out of the CBD? It looked fairly clear Msando was being pushed to do or reveal something. We know Msand0 wasn’t even the ICT director per se but an Interim one. Msando was not functioning in a Technical but rather a Managerial Capacity…to do the ultimate damage here would be to corrupt the Technical Brainpower…At the Managerial Level the attack would likely be procedural malfeasance…And upon Msando’s exeunt exactly what was facilitated here? If one can sufficiently account for the theatrics on CCTV and detail precisely how Msando’s exit facilitated whatever the ultimate goal I might buy it. And I get the strong sense that if indeed this was a political move to cripple the system chances are that upon the abduction and through the struggle Msando underwent…I suspect Msando would have a pretty good idea of whether his very absence or elimination was necessary to effect that goal in which case, his reaction would have been flight and he had good chance to do just that but didn’t.

:rolleyes: well done sherlock

If the memo that was leaked Jana is anything to go by, the motive could have been political.
However, I wonder why even with his position and all the resources at his disposal, he lived in a rented house and had issues with landlord, rather than go the mortgage way or even build a house. Was he heavily indebted, did he owe some Shylocks some money and refused to pay?

I could in retort request the very use of your own medulla. In the sphere of political conspiracy innuendo and gloom tend to be nearly presumptive precursors. There indeed is a dogmatic bias that oft time proves accurate in a place like Kenya if history serves as any kind of a yard stick, but it is not the case that reality necessarily matches the preponderant tendencies faithfully on every occasion. If you want a perfect example of where the foregoing falls flat on its face go and revisit the Ouko case and see how misled the whole country literally was, in the disambiguation of the proximate vs the ultimate cause of his demise, for the better part of perhaps beyond two decades.
To answer you more directly of course whoever planned the demise of Msando was fully aware of the electoral calendar and you forget that the ineluctable attribution to political malice could indeed very plausibly be seized as a perfect ruse by the masterminds? That very certainty that drove your conclusion that politics was a necessary cause to the Msando tragedy might be the very statement that potentially gets a masterful perpetrator chuckle at his brilliance. Politics may well be the driver of the events or the precisely intended conclusion while being in effect directly contrary to reality.

I would love the fat yellow ladies picture before I comment.

You know that singularly perhaps one of the most cardinal questions. That is why I am wondering with CCTV footage if perchance they caught their faces then publish the faces and wananchi ni wengi someone will know something.

Sema Boss. You must have admiration for my moniker.
And indeed it reads as it does purposively.

I have not disputed that fact I just find it implausible absent of a fully coherent explanation of the 5Ws.

@Electronics4u You made an interesting point that I was not aware of. Hiyo Memo ni gani from yesterday? In my mind the greatest odds are attribution to a political motive but if you read all the ugali and maziwa ya mala I have typed up and down this page, the political motive requires perhaps the greatest burden of proof to come full square…now unless the perpetrators were simply evil geniuses that they did all the seemingly capricious deeds just to throw people off , while their goal simply was get Msando out of the way…of course to invite the master plan’s finite state machine to execute.

Kuria is what you can better term as a loud mouthed fool, too foolish for fallibility, very big mouth but probably as dangerous as a “barking dog”.

It is highly likely that those who assassinated Msando were the ones behind the IEBC irregularities and illegalities.

1. Chebukati`s IEBC username and password was created in his name and used “without his knowledge and consent… to undertake over 9,934 transactions.

2. A “porous file server system” — rather than a secure one — was used to transmit constituency tally sheets, known as Forms 34B.

3. GPS coordinates of KIEMS kits were turned off

No doubt he is, however let me submit that he is not as foolish as he would want us to believe, his act is calculated, sometimes goes off the rails, but calculated

That could be the case. This time round though I think he just got extra coverage. The media is very effective at amplification…we might call it the “biological transistors”…

It is not political and by political I mean election.
Muhati was given a suspension and musando took over only as a manager after his death Muhati was back…muhati needed a job