Multi-LNB set-ups.

[ATTACH=full]26944[/ATTACH]

I’m sure many who would like to venture in D-I-Y FTA satellite setups have often wondered how to achieve a multi-LNB set-up like the one above. Well, wonder no more. Below is the formula one would use to determine the spacing between any two LNBs. I’ll use a 240cm prime focus dish in this example but it works for any dish size.

[FONT=Tahoma]Step 1.[/FONT]

M = (H/2) + { (D * D)/ (8 * H)

where D = diameter, H = depth.

[ATTACH=full]26945[/ATTACH]

For a 240cm pf dish, D = 240cm, H = 39.344cm.

M = (39.344/2) + { (240 * 240) / (8 * 39.344) }

= [I]202.67322.[/I]

[ATTACH=full]26947[/ATTACH]

[FONT=Tahoma]Step 2.[/FONT]

Focal Length (F) = (D * D) / (16 * H)

= (240 * 240) / (16 * 39.344)

= [I]91.50061[/I].

Step 3.

Calculate the value of N.

N = M - F

= 202.67322 - 91.50061

= 111.17261.

[ATTACH=full]26948[/ATTACH]

Step 4.

Calculate the LNB gap between any two satellites e.g. between IntelSat 10-02 @1W and Eutelsat 10A @ 10E.

The gap in degrees between these two satellites is 11.

Tan of angle 11 degrees (T) = 0.1944

Gap between the two LNBs = N * T

= 111.17261 * 0.1944

= [I]21.6120 cm[/I]

= approx. 21.61cm. This gap is measured between the centre points of the two LNBs.

Happy hunting, satmates.

[ATTACH=full]26950[/ATTACH]

14 Likes

Wazi wazi daktari, Am waiting for the comments. Najua wengi watasema hii ni Ukrainian

Very good Infor daktari

Si unaelewa … hesabu ilikuwa adui ya wanafunzi wengi sana

@Luther12 ,for once in your klost now ktalk life ,unaweza post something not so serious, informative hivi, kama kahekaya ka mabebeini hivi, ( speaking on behalf of team anti-mathematics()

:smiley: i vote “YAAAASS”

speaking on behalf of the good doctor.
the last time he tried to post a hekaya klost boarded the malysian jet so wacha tu.
how come ulipitia south tetu na hukuwahi penda hesabu?

:smiley: :smiley: :smiley:

What if one uses motorized dish with one LNB instead of several fixed LNBs which are a bit clumsy according to me

They’re not clumsy if you know what you’re doing.

A motorized dish requires just 3 LNBs: one Ku-band, one C-band without teflon/dielectric plate, and one C-band with teflon inserted.

Hii wanyama mnanunua wapi? How much does one cost. I might decide to buy this shit just to see what the hell is in there. I like free to air. I am a disciple of DONTPAYFORINFORMATIONIFYOUCAN.

6’ dish 6k, 8’ 23k, C-band LNB 1.2k, Ku-band LNB 3k, cable @30/=. All these already discussed in other FTA threads.

Last Friday I had called someone to do the installation for me. He was to just install Nilesat, ABS 3 and SES 5. But he ended up installing the first two. Na bado sioni CNN!
Hiyo kazi niliona si kidogo especially since Satfinder yake aligundua imeharibika after kufika kwangu. He ended up sleeping around alafu akamaliza saturday at 6pm. The dish is 180cm prime focus shida ilikua obstacle coz kuna miti mingi where around my compound

Kuna boyz anauza bein decoder 40,000

beIN isn’t FTA lakini. To know if it’s a fair deal open their website and look at their costs.

Not as expensive as I thought. Thanks for the info.

Y z is this bein being sold kama mihadarati:)

Informative for once naona mahali tan inatumika nangoja sine na cosine

i have tried to get down with this thing but i think imenikataaaaaa…

Nangojea comment ya @Wakanyama ama @Jirani :smiley: