Muosho MMOJA

Guys recently wa mama wa kuosha nguo wame adimika, so am contemplating buying a Washing machine … some reviews would go a long way, budget 35k…

with 35k you dont need reviews. just buy the available chinese brand.

whatever you decide make sure its a Samsung

Wait and save up to 50-60K. You’ll get a good machine that will last you many years and save on energy.

And oh, never buy a top load machine.

Shika machine ya Samsung… 97/100 durable, reliable and efficient. Do not cut corners on this. Kutoka experience weka cash kama around 50-65Gs like villager amesema, wait out for Samsung machines kama za carrefour au ata ur local Naivas proper, but carrefour sometimes unaeza get abit better bei… Front loading, kitu 7/8 kg WASH only (don’t bother with washer/drier kama uko msoto budget as I assume ndio uko), those things huspin nguo sawa sawa they should dry out kwa hanging lines in as little as 4 hours in the right conditions… Also invest in light beddings (duvet kadhaa kama mbili nyepesi kiasi that will be washable in the machine rather than a heavy one ambayo obviously won’t even fit kwa washer) to have clean beddings at least twice a month banae… Peace of mind. The most underrated home appliance second only to the mighty microwave

2 in 1 washing plus dryer inaanzia 80k load 6kg wash 3kg dryer
Do this but washing and dryer separately. Washing 8KG only von (Hotpoint) @40K
DRYER 40k (8kg)

Tangu nibuy LG automatic front load, i sit down and wonder how i used to survive without a washing machine. LG the best. Google reviews between LG and Samsung washing machines then decide.

how is consumption of electricity like?

Masin karibu zote ni between 1500- 2000 watts.

Very nice of you talkers.

Good thread but in the wrong sekshen

My ancient LG top loader used to spin so well, I never ever put my clothes out to dry. They used to come out almost dry.

My campus roommate had one of those top loading washers na although it saved time, man is it messy!

Unapata shack iko flooded na maji ya kufua. I wonder how you mitigate this in your house, am guessing you live in a flat… Unaeka bafu ama kwa uwanja huko nje

First rule out top loads. they will destroy your clothes, and are unable to clean properly so that your cleaned clothes will smell sweat let alone the many other disadvantages.
You need more money. say you want a decent 8kg or 9kg. If you want a washer/dryer is will be about 70k for VON, 80k for bosch, about 95k for samsung, about 110k for LG, and about 160k for premium german made brands. for a washer only , you need 50-80 for these brands.
For the brands I suppose you can afford with your money like haier, sayona etc, they have a motor separate from the drum. this motor uses a belt and pulley much like a ICE fan belt and this creates massive vibrations. the motor for the cheap brands is usually small and operates at high RPM like 8000-10000 rpm, which makes you house sound like a steel smelting plant. The more expensive brands are direct drive and quieter.
in my experience front load are economical with water, power, and dont leak at all.

Work with this example.
To have a duvet waged in a laundry mart you need to part with 300 - 400 shillings. A good front load machine (A+++ rating) will consume < 0.5 units of power. One unit is approx 15 - 17 Bob. Water consumption, wah & rinse 2.5 buckets and that’s on the higher side.
Another big benefit of a washing machine is that it frees you to do more interesting jobs. It also prevents the house help from unnecessary wasted of water.
Kama were in bachelor divide cost of washing machine with monthly mama nguo costs. You will be surprised how fast ROI is.

i meant to say “rule out top loads”

good thread. there are things I have never thought of buying. something to think about.
wenye wako in rented houses mnaiweka wapi? bathroom, balcony? I’m assuming most rentals hazina washing area/laundry room

0.45 units per 1hr 20minutes wash. Consumption totally negligible. With 1 unit i do 2 washes of over 2hrs.[ATTACH=full]297353[/ATTACH]

Lg spins them that you just iron and pack - no hanging in sun to dry