My cancer patient

Hello Villagers,

I been supporting a cervical cancer patient lady age 30 years old from Kariobangi North since her diagnosis of stage 3 cancer in 2017. My support has been in form of food, medicine, rent and other personal family issues such as siblings school fees. We have been through a long journey to say the least, but so far we have come and she’s reasonably well, thank heavens.

Obviously she still suffers from crazy chemo side effects, although some days she’s okay. Post chemo, I put her on a stringent raw vegetable diet and even through pain, her best painkillers have been drinking raw garlic, ginger, beetroot juice and such.

Long story short, we found an organization in the USA that holds programs for Cancer survivor victims. She applied and was lucky enough to get an admission (only candidate to be admitted in East Africa) for a one week partially paid trip to the USA to attend an advocacy program and get a thorough screening post chemo treatment. Well, the organization is funding for her flights, accommodation and meals, while I took care of the rest - passport and Visa costs.

Unfortunately her Visa got rejected this morning, citing no sufficient proof for her return. I am absolutely gutted as to how discriminating the US Embassy is, considering her medical case is legit and in my view deserves a Visa issuance. The fellas at the Embassy were not interested to look at her entire medical history, but more fixated on who’s sponsoring her and if proof of return.

Any advice on what to do? Could she appeal and be reconsidered based on her medical grounds? Does she need some sort of reinforcement from an renowned organization locally to represent her? I am not giving up on her yet, as she deserves this chance to have her health screened properly and get support abroad, other than myself.

yaaaaay do you want a cookie for that??

“The world is a very mean and dark place, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there if you let it” Rocky

Following

Hapa ndipo the red flag was seen.
What really can you learn within a week of your stay in the USA that might be beneficial to her recovery from cancer?

It’s a cancer survivor advocacy program, but they said they will use that chance to have screened properly and organize for further treatment/support if required but they need to meet her first through this program.

Very Harsh reality of the coloured man in USA

You are doing good, keep it up.
Trump has instructed to ensure that very very few africans are granted access to the states.

You can appeal but I dont think medical grounds only will do
Hapo kwa proof of coming back lazima uongezee
She has to show she is really willing to come back and that she has strong ties in kenya
e.g Family , business etc

@patco help a sister. Weka politics aside today. If possible talk to your president took help this woman. Thank you

It’s becoming hard for people to go there. Try see if she can go to Canada then apply for usa visa from there. I hear it’s easier that way than from embassy Yao hapa. Even though those people are too proud of their country.

She’s from the slums and has no family, business or whatever ties here. She doesn’t even know anyone in the USA, except for the organization that has invited her. All she needs is to get better treatment and beat cancer once and for all. She also wants to be an advocate for cancer patients living in the slums and are afraid of going for screening.

This is not remotely possible. Her only reason for trying to go to the USA is based on Cancer Survivor Global Organization that reached out to her amongst thousands of other applicants all over East Africa. Remember, she lives in the slums.

mimi tangu niambiwe everything mine is legit and shit but still hawawezi nipea visa niliwachia hapo hapo i think its the hardest thing place for an african to go

The invitation letter from them is the most powerful document in the entire process meaning it might not be possible for the embassy to reconsider her case - ferk them btw.
Is there no chance of that organisation paying for the post-chemo screening to be done here or even in India since the costs for upkeep and flights already will be around $2K?

@Abba amechokoza @patco . let me get some popcorn.

meanwhile, this is pretty noble of you. but once they see you have no proof of return, there is nothing you can do. unless you “give her a husband and some children” then that case is as good as closed.
can she find it in another country?

Baaas I know you …Sasa @Purple . Why did you change your handle babe?

The only way out is if the organisation petitions from the US side…

MTU mgonjwa if its only one week visa Iishe wacha tu akae Kenya

What i have learnt…never ever beg for a visa, ukifika hapo unawaangalia right in the eye na kuwaambia i want a visa for such and such reason. But never beg…all they want to see is that you have your shit together!